Customer Reviews for

Kitty Goes to Washington (Kitty Norville Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 168 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fabulous satirical tale that humorously spoofs the supernatural element in literature

Kitty Norville continues her late night radio talk show while traveling around the country as the out of the closet werewolf who no longer belongs to a pack (see KITTY AND THE MIDNIGHT HOUR to learn why). She is in Barstow, California when she learns that Congress is c...
Kitty Norville continues her late night radio talk show while traveling around the country as the out of the closet werewolf who no longer belongs to a pack (see KITTY AND THE MIDNIGHT HOUR to learn why). She is in Barstow, California when she learns that Congress is conducting hearings into the scientific work of the Center of Paranatural Biology, a little known government agency headed by Dr. Paul Flemming. Kitty is expected to testify.------------------ After arranging to meet her lawyer Ben in DC, Kitty turns her car around and heads east. In DC, Master Vampire Alette invites Kitty to stay at her mansion, which raises the radio star¿s hairs as vampires and werewolves are natural enemies. At a reception in which Leo the vampire escorts her, kitty meets were-jaguar Luis of the Brazilian embassy. They hit it off and soon become an entry. However, the fanatical Senator Duke awaits exposing Kitty as a demon even as Alette insists the real threat is Flemming who insists the para-humans suffer from diseases.---------------- The second Kitty the werewolf radio jock is a fabulous satirical tale that humorously spoofs the supernatural element in literature and the US Senate. The story line is fast-paced though the action is somewhat limited especially for those who read Kitty¿s first venture. Kitty is a ferocious lion with a chick lit personality as fans will enjoy her asides, for instance like feeling as if she is a teen and Alette her mom scolding her as only a maternal can. Carrie Vaughn provides a fun tale in which Kitty is beginning to understand what she has wrought as she tries to get equal rights under the law for vampires and the were-menagerie.--------------- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Politics = BORING

I just started reading the Kitty series and after reading the first book i was anxious to read more, however Kitty goes to Washington was not what i was hoping for. The entire book has to do with politics and it was like pulling teeth to get through this book. It ramble...
I just started reading the Kitty series and after reading the first book i was anxious to read more, however Kitty goes to Washington was not what i was hoping for. The entire book has to do with politics and it was like pulling teeth to get through this book. It rambled on and on about court hearings and the senate, i just couldn't get into it at all. The only chapter i did like was when she was dealing with the vampires otherwise this book was horrible. No humor, repetitious phrases, wimpy lead character...BORING

posted by ILgirl82 on September 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 18, 2014

    My Initial Reaction...  I've grown to really love Kitty with Kit

    My Initial Reaction... 
    I've grown to really love Kitty with Kitty Goes to Washington and I'm excited to be getting to know some secondary characters a bit better too! Some (Cormick!), though, remain too elusive!! 

    The Narration... 
    I feel about the same as I did with book 1 about Marguerite Gavin's reading of Kitty Goes to Washington - a solid B+. To reiterate what I said in that review - she's IS Kitty. Perfect. She has the voice you'd expect a radio talkshow host to have. And then she's ok with the other characters - the male voices inparticular sound like a woman doing a male voice, rather than a true male voice. But they're distinct and it's easy to get comfortable with her reading. I'll be continuing with an audio read of this series for sure. 

    The Characters... 
    When I first started book 1 I did not like Kitty, because she was just so submissive. But by the end of that book she had really grown and I'm happy to report that the new Kitty has MOSTLY stuck with Kitty Goes to Washington. I did feel like we saw a bit of her squeemishness rearing it's ugly head, but to be fair she spent four years as a submissive wolf and that's going to take some time to work out of your system. And she's not exactly in the best situation for building confidence. Kitty's been called to appear before the US Senate as a principal witness for their investigation into supernatural beings. So yeah, the girl's got every right to be a bit squeemish!

    One of my complaints in the previous book was that I just didn't get a good feeling for secondary characters and I have to say, Kitty Goes to Washington did much better on that front. It helped that we saw some repeat characters - like her lawyer, Ben - who, BTW, can I just say I ADORE!! He's everything a lawyer should be but never seems to be, plus funny and so fiercely loyal. I remain, however, extremely frustrated about Cormick. I know the plot is gradually taking us towards them hooking up - it has to be! - but I really want to know this guy better. He shows up just enough to keep me interested and curious but not enough to really know him. I do like that he seems to be on Kitty's side and there was one moment in particular where I really liked him and Ben for being there for her. 

    The Story... 
    The story for Kitty Goes to Washington kept me glued from beginning to end. Kitty's been called to Washington to testify before the US Senate as an expert on things that go bump in the night. The politics and uncertainty about everyone's agenda kept me anxious, particularly about Kitty's testimony. 

    But, thankfully, Kitty Goes to Washington wasn't all politics. It was also Kitty trying to navigate being a lone wolf. Not having a pack is rough, particularly on full moon runs. But on top of that, Kitty constantly has to enter unknown territories - in Kitty Goes to Washington this element is heightened by a warning she gets from the local vampire queen, Giselle, that it's dangerous for a lone shifter in Washington. So Kitty's staying with a Vampire - not that she really had a choice - dealing with government bigwigs, and trying to navigate the shifter community. I really enjoyed all the new characters we were introduced to though her time in Washington and found those interactions some of the most enjoyable. 

    I do have one BIG complaint though. My favorite part of the first book was that HUGE sections of the book were told through Kitty's radio show. I loved that. It was so unique and fun. And it was so missing in Kitty Goes to Washington We still had her show, but it was really such a backdrop to the book, rather than front and center like before. To be fair, Kitty Goes to Washington covers a much shorter time-span, meaning less radio shows and a lot happens that doesn't make sense for the show. So I can't say this made me not like the book - but I did miss it, a lot.

    Concluding Sentiments... 
    I'm loving Kitty and, like in book 1, Kitty Goes to Washington managed to grip my attention and pull my emotions all over the place. I'm looking forward to reading book 3!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    Good Shapeshifter Read

    This is a great addition to the Kitty Norville Series. The story is getting more interesting with the introduction of new characters such as Alette, Leo, Luis, and Ahmed. The references to the numerous Washington, DC locales made it much more enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    Here kitty kitty

    A radio talk show host, that every now and then needs an industrial strength razor. Another great foray into reality. And the way she has to deal with everyday life, congress, a mom calling, she pops out from the book as a real person, someone you would like to know. And i really enjoy a good werewolf story. I just finished this book, have the rest, and am proceeding full speed ahead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4