Customer Reviews for

Kitty Rocks the House (Kitty Norville Series #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blo

~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

"KITTY ROCKS THE HOUSE goes back to what I originally liked about this series!" ~Under the Covers

As I've mentioned before, I've found it difficult to enjoy some of the previous books in this...
~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

"KITTY ROCKS THE HOUSE goes back to what I originally liked about this series!" ~Under the Covers

As I've mentioned before, I've found it difficult to enjoy some of the previous books in this series because of my fixation on what happened to Cormac and wanting and expecting his situation to be fixed. I have now, sort of, gotten over it. I'm not sure if it's because of that fact, or the plot of this book in general, but KITTY ROCKS THE HOUSE goes back to what I originally liked about this series!

Basically we have a new vampire in town, and a new wolf. The vampire is.... a priest, and he's looking to recruit Rick into their order. The new wolf wants to be part of the pack, or does he really? And in the meantime, they are all still waiting to deal with The Roman.

Kitty is not so much into her conspiracy theories this time around, and is also having to deal with the consequences of her lack of attention to her pack and to her family. She's still learning to be alpha and sometimes she gets it right, sometimes she makes mistakes. But in this book I believe she solidifies her connection to the pack. I have to also admit that Ben steps up a bit as her mate and as a strong alpha when needed, even though he's more beta than I like. But I've come to the conclusion that him being the way he is works perfect with Kitty, who is also not the take charge wolf either.

Cormac on the other hand was a big help and some of his old personaility came through just a bit. He does seem to be growing into his connection with Amelia and maybe this is something that can just help in the future.I am looking forward to seeing more of that and more of the old Cormac.

This was an extremely easy and fast read for me but had me gripped enough that I didn't put it down until I finished.

*ARC provided by publisher

posted by Under_The_Covers_BookBlog on March 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hated it

I've read all of this series. This is the last one for me. Every character in this book behaved irresponsibly and wrongly, all stemming from the simple nosiness of the very unconvincing alpha, Kitty.

I have never believed in Kitty and Ben as alphas. Both are physica...
I've read all of this series. This is the last one for me. Every character in this book behaved irresponsibly and wrongly, all stemming from the simple nosiness of the very unconvincing alpha, Kitty.

I have never believed in Kitty and Ben as alphas. Both are physically too weak. I realize that the writer's premise is that physical strength is not the most important aspect of an alpha. I could be sold on that, but Kitty doesn'have the moral chops to support this. And Ben is, as ever, Mr. Bland, a true mediocrity.

Kitty's irons are, as always, hauled out of the fire by the talents of others. But simply being manipulative and incredibly nosy doesn't make any kind of leader, just a journalist (which she is, very convincingly). Bit not a werewolf alpha.

I still hold her responsible for Cormac's jail stint - pulling her irons out of the fire again - but it never occurs to her to feel the least bit of guilt. A relationship with him would have been much more interesting than one with boring Ben. Ms Vaughn has just gone down so many wrong roads with this series now, that I think I've had enough. I'll stick to Patricia Briggs and Ilona Andrews for werewolves I can believe in (ridiculous as that sounds).

posted by sansmerci on April 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Yet another hit!

    Carrie Vaughn just never disappoints! This latest Kitty book still held all the magic of the previous novels!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book not only returned to its roots in Denver but to the ch

    This book not only returned to its roots in Denver but to the characterizations & humor that originally attracted me to this series. I don't want to give away any spoilers (unlike the first sentence of the blurb on Amazon for the *next* book in the series), but I was pleased to learn more about the psyche of Rick, the Master Vampire of Denver. And to see the way Kitty & Ben deal with a potential usurper to their Pack was quite interesting. Absolutely LOVED the various callers & guests on Kitty's radio talk show debating whether Shakespeare was truly the author of his works! I've got the next book pre-ordered & will definitely re-read this one! Vaughn has kept this series fresh yet each enough of a stand-alone to entrap a reader who joins the series in midstream.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Is Kitty in over her head? Fresh from her trip to London, still

    Is Kitty in over her head? Fresh from her trip to London, still coping with the vampire Roman's long game, Kitty is starting to have trouble dealing with all the daily demands for her attention. And then add in a new werewolf in her territory, asking to become part of her pack, and a new vampire looking to meet with Rick. Can she deal with everything and still remain a good pack leader or is it time for a reevaluation of her priorities.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Rather fine

    Good enough to make me pre-order the next book when I can.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    Great Series

    Love every book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    To Karina

    Yup, pretty much. Thanks! Ill look tommorw. Gtg to bed. Night!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

         This book is part of a series. The first book is Kitty and

         This book is part of a series. The first book is Kitty and the Midnight Hour. This is the type of series where it’s best to read the books in order.
         This is one of those books in a series where big changes come. There’s several big decisions made. Tests of sorts, allies and enemies coming into play. A twist involving the Long Game. Plus, a choice that could change everything.
         This was a typical, good read. Fast paced. A few twists, at points found it hard to put down. A great Kitty Norville installment.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    I move u to the bed

    Laying on top of u

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Chatroom

    ~Gamemaker Mac

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Carrie Vaughn's books make me FEEL. I feel for the characters an

    Carrie Vaughn's books make me FEEL. I feel for the characters and feel like I'm part of the story because what happens in them matters. There were several times I got upset while reading this book. I wasn't upset in the manner of being offended, but because of the story evoking the appropriate feeling in me. Now that's talented writing.

    Each book in this series has gotten better. The overarching story has gotten more complex and in this one Ms Vaughn upped the ante. The main female character, Kitty, tests everything: status quo, preconceived notions and beliefs, and what's socially acceptable in the supernatural world. She calls BS on anything and everything that deserves it. The essence of the Kitty character is independent critically thinking. I love that about her and it's what makes her such a strong and likable character. This book has important revelations about the Roman conspiracy and also about Denver's Master, Rick. In addition to the supernatural side is the human side struggling to balance friends and family that we can all identify with. I relish the fact that Kitty questions herself but is not whiny about it. Ben is her rock, but not her crutch. In one part she's berating herself for not being there and her mother tells her that she may not always be immediately available, when she's truly needed, she's there. That is so life and the compromises we need to make. Even though this series is about the supernatural, I think it's a great illustration of life and our everyday struggles; the supernatural aspect is just a representation of being different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    To a kit

    Ill take you go to ipod touch result one and ask for leafcloud thx heatherfur

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Unnamed she-kit

    A tiny black she-kit with white paws and one gray twisted paw lays there, dying. She wants a clan mommy. Once she openes her eyes, they will be purple.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Silvercloud

    Ok. I am at silver sea result two.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    To a tiny she kit and whole litter

    I want a whole litter and the tiny she kit. I am a patient and loving mother meet me at storm result 1 and i will name and descrive you there~•~GingerFur

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Blizzard

    A grey shecat walks in with turquise eyes that look friendly and beautiful, " Can I adopt a shekit." she asks politely.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    A kit

    Needs a mom NOT SUNLIGHTCLAW!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    To the unnamed shekit

    Sunlightclaw named the kit Lichenkit and carried her to renmus first result.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    A shekit

    Is brought in by a wolf. The wolf barks. "I found her n what you cats call a thunderpath. She was almost hurt but I saved her from a longpaw or you call them Twolegs." The small black and white she kit slept quietly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Flamewing to a kit

    I will take you. Go to freezing cold first result im there as deputy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Rainkit

    A blue/silver she with green eyes, and a white blaze on her chest. Adopt now!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2