Customer Reviews for

Kitty and the Dead Man's Hand (Kitty Norville Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Kitty and the Dead Man's Hand

    Kitty and her fiance Ben go to Las Vegas, both to do those things that stay in Vegas and those that don't, since they're legally binding. (That's my oh-so-clever way of saying they plan to get hitched.) This also gives Kitty a chance to do a TV version of "The Midnight Hour" and plug her memoirs.
    The vacation turns out to be unrelaxing as both of them manage to get into trouble. For Kitty, it's the very odd local therianthrope community. I do admit she annoyed me a little with her pursuit of the animal troupe despite a number of people warning her that they were dangerous.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Carrie Does it again!!

    Carrie's story lines just get better and better. Kitty's witty remarks and constant involvement in trouble continue to keep me as a reader involved. It is not often that a character like Kitty runs into a cult that will stop at nothing to lure her into their lair. I mean a show that looks as intriguing as that of the cult is enough to pull in any radio show host. I cant wait to read about Kitty and Ben's next adventure.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome series

    Has just the right amount of romance with not going overboard. Very well written plot and mystery to keep you guessing who is the bad guy. this series has got me hooked. definately just as good as the others in the series just wish they were a little bit longer because i like to read alot. its a book you dont want to put down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Kitt6y and the Dead Man's Hand

    I couldn't put this book down. I just love the Kitty series. This one was just as good as the others. I love how Kitty just can't stay out of trouble. I did miss Cormac, who's still in prison. If you haven't read any of the Kitty books, this book can stand alone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Its about 273 pages but she writes so well that you feel it more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Nookville orpahnage

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Addition To The Kitty Norville Series!

    When I started to read this book I thought it was going to be a little bit boring, but then when they get to Vegas to do only one thing (not counting Kitty show that is going to be live on TV for the first time ever) but to get hitched the old fashioned way: to get married off by an Elvis Presley impersonator! Well one things lead to another and looky at that Kitty and Ben get themselves into trouble, big shocker there!! Now this book had it's pros and cons, what I liked most was that you see that Kitty is finally, but slowly, growing a back bone. She stands up for herself more then she didn't in the early books of the series. What did get on my nerves was how obsessed Kitty got with the lycanthropy filled vegas show (even though everyone told her to stay clear of the lycanthropy group), it got annoying really fast, but that didn't stop me from reading. I read it to the end and glad I did! If you haven't read this series before you should, go and pick up the first book, Kitty and The Midnight Hour and give it a try!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    Good series

    Kitty Vaughn continues to keep one interested in her latest adventures. There is some romance but it is minimal, which is good for those of us more interested in the supernatural stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I'm in, hook line and sinker

    I must say that Kitty has totaly grown on me. When I first started the series I wasn't sure if I would come to really like it. I felt that the first book was lacking a lot, but the second book was better and I decided to see them through. This is the fifth book and I am loving them. Kitty has spunk and flare and I like that when the main character is a chick. I have to say that this book made me like Ben more, especially as her mate. I was undecided and I would love for her to be with Cormac, but seeing how he is in jail, I guess that won't really work. I must say that Kitty has grown on me and I really like her, can't wait to read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Kitty does it again

    I have read all of the Kitty series by Carrie Vaughn. The only thing I find wrong with this author . . she does not write fast enough. Her stories are intriging and full of action. I view reading as entertainment . . and this story was very entertaining. At times hard to put down because I wanted to know what was going to happen next. I would recommend all of Carrie Vaugh's books in this story line. But you will need to start at the beginning and read your way forward so you see how this character evolves. *****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not my favorite, but still a must read

    Think I'll have to put this one on the low end of the series. It was an interesting idea, but I thought it was kindof tired. She focused a lot on places that got boring, and left out whole scenes I was like Huh what happened? I think the next book redeems this one a little. Because this is more just a prequel to Kitty Raises Hell. This one starts to get a little darker than her previous novels, but Kitty is still as quick witted and funny as she's ever been. She manages to squeeze in some romance to the trite Vegas Wedding stereotype, and I really liked what she did with Kitty and Ben in this book. Just some parts were snoozeworthy.

    But you cant skip it!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dead Man's hand

    I really enjoyed the book. Carrie Vaughn managed to do another great book. The caracters come alive and make you want to read more. You don't know what's going to happen next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kitty keeps getting better

    This series just keeps getting better and better. I'm finally looking forward to reading these books. Kitty has stepped into her role as a rightful Alpha with Ben as both her mate and fiance. In Kitty and The Dead Man's Hand, Kitty travels to Vegas for a quickie marriage, but as always trouble finds Kitty. Not only must she plan her marriage, host a televised episode of her show, deal with werewolf hunters, vampire politics, a sexy animal show host coming on strong, but Ben has gone missing under suspicious circumstances. What is a werewolf named Kitty suppose to do?

    OK, so the idea of being booked into a hotel with a convention of gun toting werewolf hunters is a little far fetched. Not to mention the dozen of other dangerous situations Kitty ends up in, all the while Ben is kidnapped. This plot is quit far fetched, but unlike earlier books in the Kitty series, at least it's not boring. I enjoyed the new characters brought into the book, and am hoping that a few of them will make appearances in future books. Odysseus Grant, Evan, and Brenda all have the potential for expanded roles. Readers beware, for the first time in this series Vaughn leaves us with a cliff hanger ending.

    Kitty and the Dead Man's Hand is a must read for fans of the series. First time readers will find the plot to far fetched and Kitty annoyingly paranoid and uptight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I like all the Kitty novels

    A fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What happens in Vegas may kill you.

    Kitty's latest misadventure has her ending up in Vegas and at the hands of werecats that want to sacrifice her to an ancient goddess... werewolves watch out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Humm

    I had really enjoyed the series until this book. This book seems has no discernible storyline nor does it let the reader know what direction the author is going with the series. The series had a solid storyline and with the last book had a logical ending conclusion that the 2 werewolves were married and that was the end of the series. While, I understand that the author needed to tidy up lose ends b/c of the cliffhanger at the end of the last book...I still feel that the book as a whole left me dissatisfied.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Witty, creative, very entertaining for those fascinated by shapeshifters

    I've been reading this series since book 1 and after each book, I find myself eagerly awaiting the next installment. Ms. Vaughn does a wonderful job maintaining Kitty's personality and evolving the characters as they experience life. While her take on the shapeshifter in general is not particularly original, the personality she gives her protagonists is. And it puts such a mortal spin on the supernatural that the reader can't help but empathize with the plights of the characters. This book, and indeed this entire series, is such a delight to read, I highly recommend it to fans of the shapeshifter genre. The prose is easy on the eyes and quick to get through. Action scenes are handled well and complemented nicely with downtime. Overall, the story is easily believeable (with the obligatory suspension of disbelief toward all things supernatural) and the characters seem all too human, whether they really are or not. I have already recommended this series to many others and will continue to do so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Good Book

    I really enjoyed this book,the other where better but still a very good read..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Carrie Vaughn hits it out of the park

    Kitty and the Dead Man's Hand was an entertaining and fitting addition to the Kitty series. Kitty is growing up a bit in this series and her and Ben have quite the adventure in Sin City. Highly recommended for fans of the Kitty series and just paranormal genre book readers in general.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Kitty gets married...and

    hopefully what happens in Vegas will stay there. Great book - I love teh Kitty series and enjoy Carrie Vaughn's work. If you like the first four books - get this one as well

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8