BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Kitty and the Dead Man's Hand (Kitty Norville Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 158 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Kitty and the Dead Man's Hand

    Kitty and her fiance Ben go to Las Vegas, both to do those things that stay in Vegas and those that don't, since they're legally binding. (That's my oh-so-clever way of saying they plan to get hitched.) This also gives Kitty a chance to do a TV version of "The Midnight Hour" and plug her memoirs.
    The vacation turns out to be unrelaxing as both of them manage to get into trouble. For Kitty, it's the very odd local therianthrope community. I do admit she annoyed me a little with her pursuit of the animal troupe despite a number of people warning her that they were dangerous.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Carrie Does it again!!

    Carrie's story lines just get better and better. Kitty's witty remarks and constant involvement in trouble continue to keep me as a reader involved. It is not often that a character like Kitty runs into a cult that will stop at nothing to lure her into their lair. I mean a show that looks as intriguing as that of the cult is enough to pull in any radio show host. I cant wait to read about Kitty and Ben's next adventure.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome series

    Has just the right amount of romance with not going overboard. Very well written plot and mystery to keep you guessing who is the bad guy. this series has got me hooked. definately just as good as the others in the series just wish they were a little bit longer because i like to read alot. its a book you dont want to put down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Nookville orpahnage

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Addition To The Kitty Norville Series!

    When I started to read this book I thought it was going to be a little bit boring, but then when they get to Vegas to do only one thing (not counting Kitty show that is going to be live on TV for the first time ever) but to get hitched the old fashioned way: to get married off by an Elvis Presley impersonator! Well one things lead to another and looky at that Kitty and Ben get themselves into trouble, big shocker there!! Now this book had it's pros and cons, what I liked most was that you see that Kitty is finally, but slowly, growing a back bone. She stands up for herself more then she didn't in the early books of the series. What did get on my nerves was how obsessed Kitty got with the lycanthropy filled vegas show (even though everyone told her to stay clear of the lycanthropy group), it got annoying really fast, but that didn't stop me from reading. I read it to the end and glad I did! If you haven't read this series before you should, go and pick up the first book, Kitty and The Midnight Hour and give it a try!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Kitty does it again

    I have read all of the Kitty series by Carrie Vaughn. The only thing I find wrong with this author . . she does not write fast enough. Her stories are intriging and full of action. I view reading as entertainment . . and this story was very entertaining. At times hard to put down because I wanted to know what was going to happen next. I would recommend all of Carrie Vaugh's books in this story line. But you will need to start at the beginning and read your way forward so you see how this character evolves. *****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Good Book

    I really enjoyed this book,the other where better but still a very good read..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Kitty Norville is a werewolf!

    I love these books. This is the fifth book in the series and each one builds on the others. You can read them as stand alones but you would lose much of the understanding of the story. Carrie Vaughn writes about Kitty and her marriage, with the requisite misunderstanding between mother and daughter, and the touch of the supernatural. Even more than the fact that she is a werewolf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best of Carrie Vaughn

    This series is one of the best i have ever read! Carrie Vaughn is one of the best authors in fantasy, she touches the readers emotions with her books. She has a great writing style that just helps you become Kitty Norville, you go through her adventures and see the things she sees, it is amazing! If you are just starting out with fantasy, then these books would be perfect for you. I hope you enjoy them they are great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kitty and the Dead Man's Hand by Carrie Vaughn

    I love Kitty. I want to be Kitty...er, without Kitty's problems anyway. If you don't know who Kitty is, then you haven't been reading Carrie Vaughn's series starring werewolf Kitty Norville; and shame on you! This series is hilarious, scary, exciting, and sexy all at the same time. In the four previous books, Kitty's been turned, exiled, outed, hunted, and mated. Now her life continues in book five, "Kitty and the Dead Man's Hand" where she 'tries' to get married.<BR/><BR/>When all the brouhaha and decision involved in a big wedding get to be a bit too much, Kitty and Ben decide to get married in Vegas. Once her boss finds out, hey...how cool would it be to do a live show in Vegas? Yeah, that's about how Kitty's life goes. So instead of frou frou drinks by the pool, Kitty's looking at work, delivering a message to the Vegas Master Vampire, and (yes, only Kitty's life could be so screwed up) dodging the gun-show expo supernatural-haters who also happen to be booked in the same hotel! And I shouldn't forget to mention the magician who seems to be more than a showman and the animal act at one Vegas hotel that may actually star shapeshifters! But if you want to know more, you'll have to pick up your own copy...mine's already sitting on my keeper shelf.<BR/><BR/>This series isn't really romance, and it isn't really urban fantasy, and it isn't really suspense, and it isn't really mystery. It's a bit of all of them rolled up in snarky dialogue and sharp plotting. I just wish Carrie Vaughn could write faster :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic..

    I love Carrie's Kitty novels. This was not quite the quality of the past and from the blurb about the next one out in March; it is probably 1/2 of a complete story. But, Carrie stays true to her characters and the characters were the same. The depth and plot was not as strong as before. More questions and less depth. However, this was still worth reading just to maintain a foothold in Kittyverse.<BR/><BR/>Good luck Carrie and thanks for the autograph.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    an exciting supernatural romantic suspense

    After being bitten by a werewolf, Kitty Norville became one too (see KITTY AND THE MIDNIGHT HOUR). When her lawyer Ben, who was also bitten, Kitty, saw him through the change, their wolves¿ side knew before their human half understood they belong together. As Denver¿s werewolf population recognizes them as the alpha couple of their pack, they also maintain their contacts with their human family and human friends. The pair decides to marry so Kitty¿s radio show producers arrange for her to do a Vegas TV show.<BR/><BR/>Kitty initially saw the Vegas trip as a working vacation, but reassess her belief as the hotel she is staying at hosts a gun show with bounty hunters of werewolves attending. She knows some of them will try to kill her because of her fame. Odysseus Grant performs an old fashioned magic act that many think is the real thing, but refuses an invitation to do his act on Kitty¿s show. He also warns her to stay away from the animal act made up of shapeshifters at the Hanging Guardians run by Balthasar the King of the Beasts. When Ben is kidnapped, Kitty has a whole group of suspects to pick from who committed the crime starting with the bounty hunters where she gets a shocking surprise.<BR/><BR/>KITTY AND THE DEAD MAN¿S HAND is an exciting supernatural romantic suspense. The protagonist and her mate have come a long way as they have adapted to being werewolves lifemates leading their pack while running their New Moon Restaurant, a paranormal neutral zone hang out. Though the abduction and related investigative mystery comes late, it is fun to follow as readers wonder whether Kitty will come out with a roll of a natural or craps as she tries to rescue her mate. Carrie Vaughn provides an enthralling and spellbinding urban fantasy as Kitty takes on Vegas.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4