Customer Reviews for

Kitty and the Midnight Hour (Kitty Norville Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 241 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Book!

I loved this book, I thought this was a great book to have on a rainy day. The characters were rather interesting, but Kitty Norville did grate on my nerve at times with all her whining and submissive nature. I had wished that she would have stood up for herself more an...
I loved this book, I thought this was a great book to have on a rainy day. The characters were rather interesting, but Kitty Norville did grate on my nerve at times with all her whining and submissive nature. I had wished that she would have stood up for herself more and jump into action when needed. Now don't get me wrong the book was really good, but it had it's pros and cons, the cons having already been said. The story was interesting and funny at times... I would recommend that you pick this book up and give it a chance, you never know you just might enjoy it!

posted by BookFiend10 on July 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

<eh

Kitty Norville is a werewolf, but she's not only submissive, she's whiny. She cowers, she whines, she cries, but she still goes against her alphas. Furthermore, she has a very flat personality and seems to be nothing outside of "being a werewolf" and running her late ni...
Kitty Norville is a werewolf, but she's not only submissive, she's whiny. She cowers, she whines, she cries, but she still goes against her alphas. Furthermore, she has a very flat personality and seems to be nothing outside of "being a werewolf" and running her late night call in show, The Midnight Hour.

The radio show bits are the only interesting parts of the book, but those aren't entirely realistic, when combined with Kitty's complete lack of experience and the reactions of the callers to Kitty. Callers seem to unquestioningly trust Kitty. This leads to a feeling that everyone who calls into The Midnight Hour is either an irrational hater/religious nut or blindly and adoringly trusts and obey Kitty. This, without a firm rational to explain it, directly sets off my Mary Sue alarm, because it leaves me, as a reader, feeling like the author is setting the character up to be loved and adored and sympathized with by other characters in the hopes readers will feel the same way (we don't).

I never liked Kitty, and never felt like I was given a reason to like Kitty other than "Poor Kitty was attacked by a werewolf and victimized and can't be herself except on this radio show, which everyone wants to take away from her". That simply isn't motivation enough for me. I need to see features in characters that I like and want to connect with.

And speaking of the werewolves, I've seen much praise for this book "showing the darker side of werewolf pack life that other books ignore" that I also don't understand. I've seen lots of stories about constant battles and co-dependency among werewolves. But this book slaps readers in the face with the message over and over with every pack scene.

Put simply, Kitty's whining is made worse by the fact that her alpha, Carl, commonly beats her and has
sex with her and when not doing either he emotionally manipulates her to be completely dependent on him. Kitty even says he wants her to be a child, helpless and useless without him, unable to protect herself, or make her own choices, but that doesn't matter because Carl will make the tough choices (in his favor) for her. Even Kitty's close friend, Carl's second in command T.J., assaults her and emotionally abuses her, always undermining her choices, especially the ones where Kitty starts to stand up for herself. "Oh I'm worried about you" and "What's wrong with you" he asks, when Kitty fights back against the man who attacked and infected her and who, in that scene, also tries to force her to have sex with him (again, apparently). With these not-so-subtle questions to her behavior T.J. implies that there is something wrong with Kitty defending herself from forced sex from someone who has proven to want to kill her.

Outside of the radio show and the pack

posted by MicheleLeesBookLove on July 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 241 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    <eh

    Kitty Norville is a werewolf, but she's not only submissive, she's whiny. She cowers, she whines, she cries, but she still goes against her alphas. Furthermore, she has a very flat personality and seems to be nothing outside of "being a werewolf" and running her late night call in show, The Midnight Hour.

    The radio show bits are the only interesting parts of the book, but those aren't entirely realistic, when combined with Kitty's complete lack of experience and the reactions of the callers to Kitty. Callers seem to unquestioningly trust Kitty. This leads to a feeling that everyone who calls into The Midnight Hour is either an irrational hater/religious nut or blindly and adoringly trusts and obey Kitty. This, without a firm rational to explain it, directly sets off my Mary Sue alarm, because it leaves me, as a reader, feeling like the author is setting the character up to be loved and adored and sympathized with by other characters in the hopes readers will feel the same way (we don't).

    I never liked Kitty, and never felt like I was given a reason to like Kitty other than "Poor Kitty was attacked by a werewolf and victimized and can't be herself except on this radio show, which everyone wants to take away from her". That simply isn't motivation enough for me. I need to see features in characters that I like and want to connect with.

    And speaking of the werewolves, I've seen much praise for this book "showing the darker side of werewolf pack life that other books ignore" that I also don't understand. I've seen lots of stories about constant battles and co-dependency among werewolves. But this book slaps readers in the face with the message over and over with every pack scene.

    Put simply, Kitty's whining is made worse by the fact that her alpha, Carl, commonly beats her and has
    sex with her and when not doing either he emotionally manipulates her to be completely dependent on him. Kitty even says he wants her to be a child, helpless and useless without him, unable to protect herself, or make her own choices, but that doesn't matter because Carl will make the tough choices (in his favor) for her. Even Kitty's close friend, Carl's second in command T.J., assaults her and emotionally abuses her, always undermining her choices, especially the ones where Kitty starts to stand up for herself. "Oh I'm worried about you" and "What's wrong with you" he asks, when Kitty fights back against the man who attacked and infected her and who, in that scene, also tries to force her to have sex with him (again, apparently). With these not-so-subtle questions to her behavior T.J. implies that there is something wrong with Kitty defending herself from forced sex from someone who has proven to want to kill her.

    Outside of the radio show and the pack

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!

    I loved this book, I thought this was a great book to have on a rainy day. The characters were rather interesting, but Kitty Norville did grate on my nerve at times with all her whining and submissive nature. I had wished that she would have stood up for herself more and jump into action when needed. Now don't get me wrong the book was really good, but it had it's pros and cons, the cons having already been said. The story was interesting and funny at times... I would recommend that you pick this book up and give it a chance, you never know you just might enjoy it!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it.

    great new series. anyone who enjoyed Patricia Briggs Mercy Thompson book needs to take a look at these.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Fun read

    I was on the line about purchasing because of some of the negitive remarks in reviews, but I'm glad I did! I loved the story! From amusing and whitty to nail biting and sad. I did not get the impression that Kitty was weak or overly whiney. She's been through a crap storm and is rebuilding herself, going from victim to survivor. Can't wait to see how she grows. I do hope there is more of a love connection in the second book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    tongue in cheek supernatural police procedural

    In Denver, Kitty Norville hosts the Midnight Hour show at KNOB radio. Tired of inane 90¿s retro music she asks her callers if they believe in vampires and werewolves. Shockingly she gets a bunch of callers with some providing profound comments or questions. Kitty responds sometimes tongue in cheek and others seriously quoting Milton. Two months later, Kitty¿s once a week show is a monster hit and about to go into syndication. Six months later the show is on 62 stations. ---- While on the air, Cormac the bounty hunter calls saying he has been hired to kill her. She stays on the air to persuade him to reconsider as they are being used by a mutual enemy and she admits to being a werewolf. When the police arrive too quickly, he offers Kitty a deal to let her live if she does not press charges. Detective Harden is irritated, but cannot do anything about it. Not long afterward Harden asks Kitty to look at a corpse, which she does. Kitty sniffs and realizes a rogue werewolf has killed a teenage prostitute. Further murders occur by this rogue with Kitty working with Cormac and Harden trying to solve the case. ---- Though everyone accepts Kitty is a werewolf without blinking once she comes out of the closet, the heroine is a terrific protagonist and holds the tongue in cheek supernatural police procedural together. Like the radio audience, readers will believe that vampires and werewolves reside amongst humans. The story line is action-packed (pun intended) yet Kitty and several other key players come across as fully dimensional whether they are shapeshifters, bloodsuckers, purebred humans, or hunters. Carrie Vaughn provides a terrific tale starring the adviser to the paranormal crowd. ---- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2014

    My Initial Reaction┬┐ Why did I wait so long to start this series

    My Initial Reaction…
    Why did I wait so long to start this series? Although I wasn’t a big fan of Kitty to start with, as Kitty and the Midnight Hour progressed, I got to know her better and love her. And using a radio show to tell big hunks of the story? Brilliant! But I’m ahead of myself…




    The Narration…
    I came across Marguerite Gavin in the Hollows Series and was iffy about her, but wondered if it was because I already had voices in my head for those characters (I was rereading in audio). Well, now I know that I like her a lot. I don’t love her narration, but it’s a solid B+ for me. Something about her voice for Kitty was absolutely perfect for me – it carried a radio personality perfectly. Her voices for other characters, although distinct, was a little less than perfect for me. Particularly some of the male characters, who came out sounding a bit too forced masculine for my taste. All in all, I loved her for Kitty and her voices for the men weren’t perfect, but good enough that I definitely plan to continue listening to this series.




    The Characters…
    Ok, so Kitty and I didn’t like each other at first. See, she had all this potential to be someone I could love and then I find out that she’s uber submissive. Like annoyingly, pathetically so. But as the story progressed a few things happened to change my opinion of Kitty. First of all, I learned her back story and that explained a lot. I won’t tell you what happened, because I like the way it’s revealed in Kitty and the Midnight Hour, but how she was changed and the person she was before her change to werewolf really explained why she acted the way she did. Second, and perhaps more importantly, I watched her grow as a character. Through her radio show, she gained an independence and self-worth that she so badly needed and with it she really started to transform. As a character driven reader, this kind of development makes a story shine for me. I loved seeing her transformation and so in the end, I not only love Kitty, but I’m really glad she started the book so annoyingly submissive. Clearly Carrie Vaughn knew what she was doing.




    As for the other characters, I have to say that like her radio show, this is really a one-woman act. There are a full cast of other characters and they’re developed just enough for you to have the desired response to them. There’s the best friend that you love, even when he frustrates the hell out of you; the alpha that you’re on the fence about, but think you hate; the stereotypical cop that you respect but wish would stay the hell out of this stuff. Cormac, the love-hate interest, was an interesting figure but sadly a bit forgettable for me. He went from enemy to trusted ally to quickly and easily for my liking, though I absolutely loved their dialogue. I think what I’m getting at with these characters is that, they do the job to move the story forward, but besides Kitty, they’re all a bit predictable and too easy.




    The Story…
    I loved the way this story was told perhaps even more than the story itself. Kitty is a late night radio host who inadvertently turns her show into a paranormal talk show. And it becomes a major hit. And a major problem. She’s getting syndicated and lots of attention; becoming a real hot shot, making serious money. At the same time, however, some supernaturals (particularly some vamps in her area) don’t like what she’s up to and she’s ordered to back down. That sets up the major plot tension, although a murder does happen that Kitty gets involved with investigating, but for me that was really a back drop. The real tension, for me, was Kitty’s fight to become and remain independent, through her radio show.




    Huge segments of the book take place while Kitty is actually doing the show. I loved this. It was so unique and Vaughn writes dialogue so brilliantly that it just works. I also think that listening to Kitty and the Midnight Hour rather than reading it only amplifies the brilliance of this storytelling move because I felt like I was listening to the actual show a lot of the time. Gavin does a great job of showing Kitty’s radio persona/voice as something just slightly different from her regular one, so that made this spectacular. The mystery was solid (surrounding the murder) and I didn’t figure it out until maybe seconds before Kitty, which is always a good sign. That last 15% was fairly shocking, including one heart-wrenching moment, and I gobbled it up.




    Concluding Sentiments…
    For me, this was a really positive start to a series. The world was pretty much your staple Urban Fantasy and I settled into it quickly. I’m ready to see what’s next for Kitty and I’m hopeful that some of the other characters will have better development as the series progresses.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    Not sure about this one....

    This book was a little strange. Maybe it was the authors writing style that made me pause, but overall the plot was interesting. I will read the second book just to see if Cormac makes an appearance!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    Good Start to the Series

    This is a good start to the Kitty Norville Series. Readers may also like books from Patricia Briggs and Ilona Andrews which have similar shapeshifter themes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome take on warewolves

    Definitely something new to the paranormal! This book is sharp and fast paced, and you'll love learning all about the creatures of the night again. This whole series is amazing. All the characters are very well thought out, and the drama can get nail biting. A definite must buy for anyone who loves comedy or warewolves.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun, Escapist Read

    Kitty and The Midnight Hour is a fast, fun read. The character is well-defined as the book progresses and actually really grows as a character as the series progresses. The whole series is well worth your time and money if you like this genre. I devoured the entire series in about a week.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A boring read

    Well, what can I say about Carrie Vaughn's Kitty and The Midnight Hour, it's.....boring. This is one of those books that you read when there isn't anything else to do. The main character Kitty, a werewolf radio DJ with a late night talk show, is just plain weak. I don't know how many times I just wanted to strangle her and tell her to grow a backbone. The plot was boring, the one possible love interest never comes about, and the supporting characters feel under-developed. To Vaughn's credit, this is nothing like other werewolf books I have read. Kitty has much potential and I am hoping she finds that Alpha laying inside her in future books of the series. It's a decent one day read on a rainy day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    great

    a little worried about the characters strength, both will strength and physical strength at first but as the story goes on she grows and knows that she can't let people push her around and rule her life forever. I recomment this for any girl needing to understand that they need to make their own way in the world and not let others trample them

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    Recommended

    The Kitty Norville Series is a fun, light and enjoyable read for anyone who likes paranormal/romance novels. I love the smart ass attitude of the main character Kitty who seems to always be getting herself into crazy situations..I enjoyed the entire series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Kitty Norville starts out as a whiny, super-submissive werewolf.

    Kitty Norville starts out as a whiny, super-submissive werewolf. However, this books sees her through gaining her independence and moving out on her own. It's a very good "start" to an exceptional series,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Great book!

    Give it a try. Its a good book, funny at times, especially, if it helps to relieve your dull days. Though, not much into the character being submissive; but I can see why the author made her like that, other wise, it wouldn't be called a story. Who knows? I recommend it. Give it a chance and read it. You might like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    To SOMEBODY

    Go to shakespeare bacon thirteenth result.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Link

    He nodds transfixed on the tv

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Nookville moving to village

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    New take on an old topic-check it out!

    I read this book in one day, something I haven't done in years. While the heroine is a werewolf, this supernatural story has some unique themes. I liked how the author created pack dynamics, and how Kitty was trying to find her place. The hotline for monsters take was also unique.

    This is the second Carrie Vaughn book I've read. I was introduced to her when I received "Discord's Apple" as a gift. After reading two of her books I would say that I will definitely check out more of her books, starting with the next Kitty Norville book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Delightful Stephanie Plum Paranormal Parallel

    Stumbled on this series and was more than pleasantly surprised..
    and have been telling other fans of the Stephanie Plums series they HAVE to read these..
    LOVE the characters, story lines and humor that causes frequent bursts of laughter out loud..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 241 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13