Customer Reviews for

Kneading to Die (Pawsitively Organic Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I thought this was a great story and I am looking forward to the

I thought this was a great story and I am looking forward to the next in the series. As a lover of cozy mysteries, cats, and homemade pet foods, there was a great deal to enjoy here. I have to admit I had an inkling of the murderer but I'm not sure why.
As much as I en...
I thought this was a great story and I am looking forward to the next in the series. As a lover of cozy mysteries, cats, and homemade pet foods, there was a great deal to enjoy here. I have to admit I had an inkling of the murderer but I'm not sure why.
As much as I enjoyed the mystery, I love that the author highlighted the issue of vaccination site sarcoma and lymphoma in cats. After watching my one of my treasured cats die from it, my vet and I agreed no more shots for my exclusively indoor cats. If this enjoyable mystery informs a few more cat lovers of the danger of vaccinations for indoor cats, I will be thrilled.

Great first read and looking forward to Stan's new business in the next book.

posted by Trompeur on July 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Clean Reading

Really liked the story. Made you think about who the true killer was and at the last a big twist that i did not see coming. Could be a bit slow starting off if you are like me, grabbing a few minutes every so often to read. Truely worth every penny spent in the book....
Really liked the story. Made you think about who the true killer was and at the last a big twist that i did not see coming. Could be a bit slow starting off if you are like me, grabbing a few minutes every so often to read. Truely worth every penny spent in the book. Cannot wait until the next in the series.

posted by 8145605 on August 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    I thought this was a great story and I am looking forward to the

    I thought this was a great story and I am looking forward to the next in the series. As a lover of cozy mysteries, cats, and homemade pet foods, there was a great deal to enjoy here. I have to admit I had an inkling of the murderer but I'm not sure why.
    As much as I enjoyed the mystery, I love that the author highlighted the issue of vaccination site sarcoma and lymphoma in cats. After watching my one of my treasured cats die from it, my vet and I agreed no more shots for my exclusively indoor cats. If this enjoyable mystery informs a few more cat lovers of the danger of vaccinations for indoor cats, I will be thrilled.

    Great first read and looking forward to Stan's new business in the next book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    "Canines, Felines and Murder Abound¿ Stan (short for Kris


    "Canines, Felines and Murder Abound”

    Stan (short for Kristan) Connor is the new girl in town. After her PR position with Warner Insurance has been eliminated, she decides to leave city life behind and move to the more laid-back, sleepy community of Frog Ledge, Connecticut. She gets a surprising impression
    of her new neighbors before her car engine is cold and the boxes had been carried in from her car. “Boyfriend” Richard is little to no help with the unpacking and settling in. He is still a hot shot with Stan’s former company and can’t understand why she wants to get away from the city he calls home. Stan tries to
    explain that she and adopted rescue Maine Coon cat, “Nutty” need a fresh start and knew they had found it when Stan saw, fell in love with, and hastily purchased the quaint green Victorian. Stan becomes acquainted with her community and its numerous quirky but likeable residents. She’s pleased to have Amara Leonard, an animal Homeopath living right next door. Stan makes many friends, human and animal with her homemade treats and meals, originally concocted because of Nutty’s stomach problems. She also learns early that there is tension and discord concerning the town Vet, snarky Carole Morganwick. The uncomfortable feelings escalate when Dr. Morganwick makes an impromptu visit and barges into Stan’s house, insisting she bring Nutty to the clinic as a new patient, for an examination, prior to office hours. Stan’s inner voice keeps casting doubt in keeping the appointment but, because of her love for her feline buddy and trying not to stir up troubles in the new town—she goes. When Stan and Nutty arrive, the door is unlocked, but the office is dark. Stan calls out.
    She hears a door close and figures it’s Dr. Morganwick and follows the sound to the examination room to let her know they had arrived—only to find Carole’s lifeless body with a needle stuck in her neck and covered in kibble. Stan calls 911 and, after answering a deluge of questions from the State Trooper, she is treated like the prime suspect. But she barely knew her! With small town gossip running rampant, quiet whispers ask the same question over and over. “Who could have done this dastardly deed?” “Who hated her that much?” Amara, due to jealousy? Stan’s friend and head of “Pet’s Last Chance” rescue mission Nikki Manning? Many unexpected twists and turns take place as she tries to clear her name and get on with her new life. And will that life include Richard? Will Stan and Nutty find room for a new canine friend? Or will it end in a battle of wills and flying fur in the cozy green Victorian? Kudos to Ms. Mugavero for a very enjoyable read and characters I’m looking forward to becoming better acquainted with in her next “Pawsitively Organic Mystery” of which she has graciously included a snippet to whet our appetite. There was only one thing missing in this book—some dog and cat treat recipes.
    Cozy lovers, be sure to add this one to your TBR list. You won’t be disappointed!
    Nancy Narma

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is a good mystery that keeps you turning pages. The protago

    This is a good mystery that keeps you turning pages. The protagonist is determined, and she also makes a number of mistakes while she adjusts to people in her new town, which is endearing.
    One thing that is a bit of a turn-off is that while promoting good dog and cat foods, and healthy pet care, etc., the protagonist disses animal vaccinations several times, without any evidence except for that of a particularly lazy, greedy veterinarian who is a character written into the book. I ignored that part of it and just enjoyed the breezy read.
    For those of you that like to guess the criminal as people often do with Agatha Christie novels, I don't believe that enough information is given to make it possible--evidence tends to show very late in the book. But, perhaps you're better at conjectures than I am!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2014

    Pets and the Murder of a Vet Kristan "Stan" Connor's

    Pets and the Murder of a Vet

    Kristan "Stan" Connor's life has taken a turn she never expected.  She's lost her PR job and is struggling to figure out what to do next.  Hoping a change of scenery will help, she buys a house in a small Connecticut town and moves there.

    Of course, with the move, she needs to find a new vet for her cat, Nutty.  After Carole, the town's only traditional vet, comes by and introducers herself, Stan takes an early morning appointment for her cat.  However, when she arrives, she finds the vet dead on the floor.  Between the police and the gossip in town, Stan suddenly feels herself under a cloud of suspicion.  Can she find the killer before her reputation in town is ruined?

    Stan is an interesting main character.  She reacts more realistically to what is happening around her than many of the main characters in books I read, and I actually found that refreshing.  The plot was a bit uneven, but I always enjoyed reading the book, and the climax was very suspenseful.  For pet lovers, there are tons of cute dogs and cats, even my heart warmed to them, and my allergies have kept me from truly coming to love most animals until I really get to know them.

    I don't read pet cozies often, but I'm glad I read this one.  I'm interested in seeing where Stan goes from here in her life and in solving mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    I loved the book and its charaters and will the next one

    I loved the book and its charaters and will the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    Good Read

    Good start for a new series. Keeps you on your toes, and hard to figure out the mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    R

    3.5 Stars. A good mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Good book. You must check it out

    I enjoyed this story. I was surprised about who culprit was. I would like to read more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Fun and easy read.

    This book is light-hearted and fun. Love the food recipes and references.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Told my reading friend about it.

    A good beginning to the series. It's a quick and fun read. It has characters you can care about, good personality development, vivid imagery, and a smooth pace. I look forward to the next release in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Cute book

    If you are looking for a good light read - this is it. It is has an interesting plot and if you like animals you will further enjoy it. I read it while going to the gym at lunch hour from work and it provided easy relief from the work day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    Great first entry in a promising new series! Losing your job is

    Great first entry in a promising new series!

    Losing your job is tough...but Stan deals with it by moving to a small town where she's bought a lovely Victorian house.  Her boyfriend doesn't understand it at all, but then he still has his job at Stan's old company.  Stan's charmed by the house and the town and finds herself quickly being welcomed by some, well, "colorful" characters!

    Stan settles in by doing what she knows, making treats and food for her cat Nutty, who has some health issues.  No crap from China or unpronounceable additives for Stan...nope, she buys organic meats, local honey and more to make treats for cats (and dogs).   Those treats help her make friends in her new community.

    Nutty hasn't seen  a traditional vet for some time, so Stan's happy to hear there's an animal homeopath in town.  Unfortunately, the local vet sees Stan talking to Amara, the homeopath, and shows up at Stan's door where she bullies Stan into bringing Nutty in for a visit with a "real" doctor.  Stan gives in and arrives the next morning only to find the vet dead on the floor of her clinic.  Stan soon finds herself in the  position of suspect since the appointment wasn't on the vet's calendar.

    What's a girl to do?  Start hunting for the killer herself, of course.  Stan soon finds that there were plenty of people who had problems with the deceased, including her dear friend Nikki who's deeply involved in animal rescue.

    It's an interesting cast of characters, enough twists and turns to keep you interested, and I finished the book knowing this is another series to add to my list!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1