Customer Reviews for

Knife of Dreams (Wheel of Time Series #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 481 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(321)

4 Star

(105)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Memory of Light book 12, due out Fall '09

Yes, book 12, the final installment, is coming out. Robert Jordan had a large portion of the book written when he passed away, and before he died he dictated all the major events to his family. His wife is making this material available to fantasy writer Brandon Sanders...
Yes, book 12, the final installment, is coming out. Robert Jordan had a large portion of the book written when he passed away, and before he died he dictated all the major events to his family. His wife is making this material available to fantasy writer Brandon Sanderson 'Mythborn series', who will complete the novel using Jordan's partial manuscript, story notes, and what he narrated to his family.

posted by Anonymous on September 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

WHY

This prolauge is 250 pages long I mean wtf man.

posted by Anonymous on July 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2007

    Blaa

    10%Great, 90%Boring-Fluff. The first of the series where I actually had to skip pages and did considered throwing the book away. The only thing that saved it was the 'Toy's romance'..and I don't even like romance. I would feel bad letting this book get published with my name on it. I did love the first 10 though.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    it is time to call it quits. the first few were so good, i would swear by them. i have come to swear at the last few. i see no end in sight. why tell us of expected children so near what should be the end of a story. it seems that all we are getting (empty pages with lots of words). the series is turning into a bad version of harry potter. but then harry potter is a great childrens story. this story is better told in his childrens books. the writer has clearly lost his touch. at one time i thought this was the 'ALI' of the book world. maybe it still is, i hear 'ali' has lost his punch too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    A Disappointed Chief

    Like some other readers, I was disappointed in the last book. Normally I do not post criticism but for once in my life I find myself bored to tears. This entire series could have been written in three books. The sheer multitude of characters we are forced to keep track of and the horrendous number of side trips we must make is beyond belief. This is what happens when an author receives a deal for so many books and must struggle to meet the contractual needs. I suppose that I will have to buy the rest of this series just so I can have peace of mind. That way I can say I have not wasted the hundreds of dollars and countless hours thus far. I only hope I do not find myself skipping paragraphs, then pages and even chapters to find the serious reading and not the filler that I find so boring now but which was not present in the earlier books. I can honestly say that after this series is done, if I still have eyes strong enough to read and I am not 80 years old, I won't get tied up with another series by this author. I am sorry, but it is just how I feel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2006

    Do the characters ever do anything?

    I used to love this series and it was one of my favorites but this book is just so boring i stopped reading it in the middle and picked up The Song of Ice anf Fire READ THIS BOOK! it is chock full of action and drama and none of the sitting around that the characters like so much in the wheel of time. The characters are like were gonna do it were gonna do it 4 like nine tenths of the book and then they do watever they were gonna do and ur like wtf? thats not even that kool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2006

    Jordan Still Wasting Time

    I've read every book from begining to end and enjoyed the first 5, however since then Jordan has filled the middle pages of the book with senseless meandering with a hurried ending in the last chapters. Story telling is an art which I believe Jordan needs to re-learn. His latest book is merely more banter. Save your money and buy the paperback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2006

    I still not convinced this will end....

    When I started reading the Wheel of Time (almost a decade ago), I thought, after the first few books, that Jordan had created the greatest world since Middle Earth (Tolkien). However, by the end of the 6th book I began wondering if it will ever end. After the 10th book I became convinced that Jordan is simply filling his coffers with as much as possible before ending the series. Maybe he needs a little for the mansion in Malibu. I don't know, but I never expected I would go from loving this series so much, to not having the patience to finish the last book. Frankly, it is sad. Jordan could have written, in my opinion, one of the greatest Science Fiction epics of all time. Instead he makes us meander through several watered down, repetitive novels. My advice, buy the first six books, then create your own ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2006

    find a new series

    i started this series years ago with the rest of you. i loved the first short story and first volumes. i also suffered through too many of the previous volumes. I am happy that others have liked it BUT there is just no avoiding the conclusion that this series got away from the author. Fast paced? no-try George R. R. Martin. A too late, too little attempt to regroup the audience, not even attending to all main characters. if you must read-go to the public library- you've already paid for those books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2005

    pace better quicken

    I loved this series when it first started,couldn't wait to read the next book.Since book seven I have just wanted the series to end I can't take any more snail paced books, over half the books are just jordan rediscribing things he has allready described either in anouther book or just a couple of chapters ago. if this book isn't more action packed and quicker paced i quit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2005

    If ever a book needed a Reader' Digest treatment....

    ...this is the one. If you are a regular reader of this series, you already know what you are doing here. The first four books were brilliant, and Jordan has hooked us all with the world he invented. However as time wears on, his books are proving to be more the ramblings of a favorite, yet now quite senile, uncle. (Or, if book 12 is superior, perhaps just crazy like a fox-uncle). That being said, there are some gems of ideas located amongst the grand descriptions of dresses that break up the epic arguments that every member of the cast of characters seems to have with every other member of the cast (and often with themselves). Jordan's ability to detail combat is still as sharp and lethal as ever, just far, far, far too infrequent, and his apparent fondness for writing verse focused on corporal punishment could be one area of welcome reduction for all but the most black and true blue members of his fan club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2005

    Nothing but Brakes

    The Wheel of Time went from round to square. Jordan truely has reinvented the wheel - one so difficult to churn that is blows your mind (unless it rots first). Jordan's first book was action packed & fast paced: an excellent read. As his books progess, the amount of literary garbage a reader must wade through is astounding. Nothing ever happens in his books by book 10. Thinking himself clever, Jordan has revealed twist after twist in the plots but has yet to learn how to resolve anything & in avoidance of that ineptitude, choses instead to bore readers with more description than life itself presents. If you enjoy long, overly drawn-out reads that offer snippets of useful sentances which move a plot, Jordan might be for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1