Customer Reviews for

The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 270 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(178)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Amazing.

This is what more young adult books should be like. This book has it all. It has a fast-paced and exhiliraring plot that keeps the reader on their toes. It has the complex characters that you will cry for, be scared for, and love.

But most importantly, this book is ...
This is what more young adult books should be like. This book has it all. It has a fast-paced and exhiliraring plot that keeps the reader on their toes. It has the complex characters that you will cry for, be scared for, and love.

But most importantly, this book is thought-provoking. This type of book is what our kids need. Not some shallow, cliche-ridden vampire book.

Read this book.

posted by MJ_Harrington on December 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Eh

I couldn't get past chapter one

posted by 5792594 on March 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 271 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    Not a great book

    Especially not for younger readers. A lot of swearing and violence. Surprised this is a young adult book. As an adult, I didn't like it either.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    This book was recommended to me by a friend, who told me that it

    This book was recommended to me by a friend, who told me that it would change the way I think. 

    To change one's thoughts by will is a daunting task. But to have one's thoughts changed by something outside one's own control is another matter entirely. 
    This book is out of control. It is a roller-coaster ride of bizarre and heart-wrenching happenings that constantly throw the reader until that reader is clinging to the edge of their seat with desperate fingertips. Among it all, moments of bittersweet innocence and triumph keep the reader cheering on the heroes until the very last gasp-eliciting word. Upon comprehension of that last word, thee reader finds that it is indeed a brilliant truth; somewhere among those pages, somewhere on that harrowing journey along the river, their thoughts were provoked. They were changed by the story, by the characters, by the moral dilemma that gives us all a knife to hold in this world.
    So, dear reader, let me assure you that this book will indeed change the way you think. If you pick it up, it is out of your control. It is chaos walking.
    And it is worth the risk. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Not sure what I've got myself into but I know it's something awe

    Not sure what I've got myself into but I know it's something awesome as I find myself completely captivated but Ness' story. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Great book!

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Beautiful

    WARNING: If you are looking for a light read, this is not your book. Keep looking and come back to this later. If you are looking for a book that will change your life forever, you have found it. This book is: Strong, Powerful, Dark, Beautiful, Thought Provoking In An Unbelievable Way, Delicate, And Lethal. Just imagine a world where there are no woman. There is only a tribe of about 100 men. The human race is dying. Let alone the fact that every single person on this alien planet can hear your every thought. Then you find a GIRL, and the universe changes. This book shows just how hard it is to kill. To love. To make a change. This book show just how hard it is to fight the hardest person in the world to beat. Yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Fantastic

    This book almost made me cry. It was a great inspirational and beautifully written. I liked that Patrick Ness wrote about a totally unique topic and blended it into a really good novel. Highly reccomened read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    This story is about a boy named Todd Hewitt in a town full of me

    This story is about a boy named Todd Hewitt in a town full of men. Everyone can hear each others thoughts which they call the noise. Before Todd can become a man he finds something dangerous and has to run away from the men in the town. With all he has as a guide is the directions of his parents, and the journal of his mother, he must travel many miles and endure the harsh wastes of the desert in unknown territory. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Interesting

    For a 300 page book it didn't take me that long to read. Towards the beginning it was a bit confusing. I didn't know what was happening. I would recommend this to someone a little bit older or someone with a higher reading level. Otherwise I really enjoyed this book . I read it every day until I finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    An all-time favorite

    Highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    >:(

    worst book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Weeeeeeeeeeee!

    Me gust eso libro!! Fue muy interesante y divertido y eso libro esta mi nuevo libro favorito!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Great

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    The best book ever

    This book is the best! Well written and is everything a book should be! Spolier~the dog dies and made ne cry! I was young when i first read it so the language was a little bad but aazing all ariund!!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Wonderful!

    I loved every second of reding this series. I would highly suggest it to anybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Saddest part

    When the dog manchee dies almost made me cry because i have a dog but this a greate book couldnt put this book down such agreat book you should really get it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Engaging story expertly written

    This is an intense and engaging story about settlers on a distamt planet and the secrets they keep. Could not put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    AMAZING!

    Most books I tend to get bored with and skim all of the dialog but this book is by far one of my favoirte books of all time. The plot line is amazing, the characters are deep and connectable. Needless to say there were moments when I cryed and moments when I laughed. It by far worth to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Grate

    Very intenss

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Best book ever

    Please explian hpw u could rate this lowwr than five i mean come on tell me a vwtter pne you camt judge a book by its title tje story os ontreuging and gets better a tje time read the maze runner if u have any sensw and have thos a five

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Want a Great Book?? Look no Further!! Patrick Ness captures the

    Want a Great Book?? Look no Further!!
    Patrick Ness captures the readers attention with the sentence, “The first thing you find out when yer dog learns to talk is that dogs don’t got nothing much to say. About anything.” This comical start to The Knife of Never Letting Go is nothing like the remainder of the book as the main character is faced with a great responsibility to “Warn Them”. Faced with many obstacles and pains along the way Todd will find out the true meaning of love. The Knife of Never Letting Go is unlike any book I have read before. A MUST READ!




    The plot of The Knife of Never Letting Go will drive you through the book! You are drawn into the feelings of the characters and are forced to read the next book after the cliffhanger ending. Using the scene of Todd (the main character), his talking dog Manchee, and another human on the cover running through the night really evokes your thoughts about what the book is truly about. For someone looking to find an addicting Sci-Fi series look no further! The Knife of Letting Go runs you right into the sequel The Ask and the Answer which is followed by the Monsters of Men in the Chaos Walking series. Great length, awesome covers, sci-fi genius, and a catching plot makes The Knife of Never Letting Go an awesome choice!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 271 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14