BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 272 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(179)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Completely original!

In an all-male world, Todd is the youngest member of settlers of an unnamed planet where the thoughts of all living creatures are broadcast 24/7. "The Noise," as it is referred to, contributes to the paranoia and mistrust of a disfunctional society. Todd sets off an a...
In an all-male world, Todd is the youngest member of settlers of an unnamed planet where the thoughts of all living creatures are broadcast 24/7. "The Noise," as it is referred to, contributes to the paranoia and mistrust of a disfunctional society. Todd sets off an adventure with a noise-less female companion and the action is non-stop. Comic relief is offered in the form of Todd's trusty canine companion. Truly one of the most original books I've read in years. Appropriate for boys and girls alike, recommended for mature readers, not because of any objectionable content, but because of some intellectually complex themes.

posted by kdporteus on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I am completely discusted at this book.

I don't want to sound mean or like uncool but it sucked a lot and I hated the main character by the end. I mean howsa' 'bout we watch our best friends die and do absolutely nothing about it when we could. I hated this book. Please folks don't waste your hard earned mone...
I don't want to sound mean or like uncool but it sucked a lot and I hated the main character by the end. I mean howsa' 'bout we watch our best friends die and do absolutely nothing about it when we could. I hated this book. Please folks don't waste your hard earned money on this crap. I think that the main idea may have turned out okay with a good author but sadly enough Patrick Ness had the idea and not a better author. :(

posted by 11211535 on July 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 273 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Amazing.

    This is what more young adult books should be like. This book has it all. It has a fast-paced and exhiliraring plot that keeps the reader on their toes. It has the complex characters that you will cry for, be scared for, and love.

    But most importantly, this book is thought-provoking. This type of book is what our kids need. Not some shallow, cliche-ridden vampire book.

    Read this book.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Completely original!

    In an all-male world, Todd is the youngest member of settlers of an unnamed planet where the thoughts of all living creatures are broadcast 24/7. "The Noise," as it is referred to, contributes to the paranoia and mistrust of a disfunctional society. Todd sets off an adventure with a noise-less female companion and the action is non-stop. Comic relief is offered in the form of Todd's trusty canine companion. Truly one of the most original books I've read in years. Appropriate for boys and girls alike, recommended for mature readers, not because of any objectionable content, but because of some intellectually complex themes.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    My Absolute Favorite book of all times!

    The Knife of Never Letting Go, was a book that pulled you in from the start, I stayed up way-to-late, cuddling with my sheets, trying to read through meal times just so I could finish the book, and trying to read through my tears! I was and still am inseperable from this book! I find it amazing when an authors words can get such a meaningful and emotional pull out of you.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Meow

    Todd sounds like a sexy beast

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It will break your heart

    This book is amazing. It challenges the YA genre, in my opinion, because of all its intense emotion and tragedy and OH this book just gave me so many feelings. It's hard to organize my thoughts after having finished it.

    There were some things that rubbed me the wrong way, as much as I loved and enjoyed this book. One was the voice, which I understand why it's written that way, but it's to such a great extent that it seems a bit gimmicky to me. Since they're his thoughts, and thoughts don't always mean words, why were words misspelled in his thoughts? I get the fact that he couldn't read, but it's easily understood without misspelled words in the descriptions. I'm being a bit nitpicky, sure, but it just made me cringe every time I saw the word "tho" instead of "though."

    And the fact that the baddies were ALWAYS there and always, ALWAYS, a step ahead just started to annoy me after a while. How many times can one man pop out at them and how many times before it becomes less shocking and more irksome?

    Okay, I'm done being critical because overall I loved this book. It was definitely a roller coaster of emotion. I cried and I smiled and laughed and shook my fists in frustration. Patrick Ness definitely is not afraid to censor violence and emotion but that didn't make the novel seem like one of those "violent without a clear reason as to why they're violent other than the fact that it's VIOLENCE and that's what's supposed to happen to make it seem mature, right?" Its violence was because of emotion. It seemed so gritty and real and everything was done for a reason and it all broke my heart about a thousand times.

    I immediately went to the library to check out the other two in the trilogy. I could not put this book down and I'm already starting into the second installment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    As good

    As hunger games

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Very original. The only part that is confusing is the beginning,

    Very original. The only part that is confusing is the beginning, but for good reason. They do not explain much of the terminology but as you read you grow to understand it without noticing. I found that when I was reading and another character popped up in the book who did not know much themselves I was thinking, "What do you mean you don't know what Noise is?". This itself is a very cool experience. I also found it didn't follow many of the chiches that make many books predictable. In fact, those chiches led me to many suprizes while reading. This book will keep the reader interested with well built characters, intrigueing concepts, and an adventure that will keep you guessing till the end. Definitely a book that deserves more attention and fans. To those interested in buying be aware it is in first person and tends to make you think by not explaining itself all the time. Thought provocative and fun, once you pick up The Knife of Never Letting Go you wont be able to let go.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Eh

    I couldn't get past chapter one

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Boring at first but the ending is creative

    Boring at first and it took me a LONG time to finish but the ending was unexpected. The beginning is slow.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    The third best book I have ever read, only surpassed by it's sequels

    A superb book with the best cast of characters I have ever seen. The plot is exciting and surprising and it keeps you guessing. I compare every book I have ever read against this series and Chaos Walking beats it every time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Readit!!

    This book starts on its own, but if you read the short story that preceeds it, the intensity is really increased. Tha characters are very well developed and I, who hates paying for a book, just had to get the next. And the next. To me it seems that there is even room for a following series,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't put it down one you start!

    4.5 stars. I had a hard getting started in this book or otherwise I would have given this a 5 star rating because once I got started I could not put it down. The grammar is hard to get used to and I think that is why I had problems in the beginning and once I got used to that I was hooked. I won't review the whole premise of the book as others seem to do that but survival of the main characters will keep you reading to the end of the book. The whole idea of another New World and where and why they survived are intriguing subjects to me and Patrick Ness does an excellent job pushing me forward in the book. Talking animals (yes, I know that sounds crazy) but Richard makes them such a realistic part of the story that they blend right in. I really enjoyed the cliff hangers at the end of each chapter. Great job Patrick!

    But really, how was a girl supposed to go to sleep after an ending like that? Huh?? Out to get Chaos Walking: Book 2 The Ask and the Answer

    Good quote: "I think maybe everybody falls.".....I think the asking is whether we get back up again."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    A must read!

    Every summer at school we have to read a book for English and write a review and do an assignment on it. Most of the time we don't have a choice of what book we have to read. But this summer we had a list to chose from, and on the list was Patrick Ness's The Knife of Never Letting Go. I chose to read this book without any knowledge of what it was about, or where it took place. But after reading it, i was so happy with myself for choosing an amazing book! Mr.Ness's style of writting is a breath of fresh air, with his true to life spelling of words. If anybody asked me for a recomondation for a book, i would plainly tell them that this book is the #1 book they should read. It teaches important leasons, shares emotions, and touches your emotions like you never thought would be possible. In simpler words, i love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great plot...

    I read this book because I found a review that said it was "what the hunger games could have been". While I wholeheartedly disagree, I found the plot and characters to be thoughtfully developed with a new spin on a genre that has recently been muddled with subpar trilogies. With that said I am excited to see where book two takes me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it.

    Very unique storyline.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Candace Cunard for TeensReadToo.com

    On a far-flung world newly settled by humanity, twelve-year-old Todd Hewitt of Prentisstown is a boy on the brink of becoming a man. <BR/><BR/>When settlers came to this world, they found it already inhabited by aliens known as the Spackle, and a war was waged against them to colonize the planet. Now, almost twenty years after the first settlers landed, the world is low-tech but free of the "spacks." However, they left behind them the "Noise germ," a chemical contaminant that causes all the men who come in contact with it to broadcast their thoughts for everyone's hearing--and kills all the infected women. <BR/><BR/>On the eve of his thirteenth birthday, Todd has never seen a woman. He was the last child born in the settlement before his mother succumbed to the Noise germ and died, and now he's the only boy left in the village of Prentisstown, all the others having turned thirteen and been proclaimed men. Now, with Todd's birthday approaching, the entire town is anxious, and Todd can hear it. <BR/><BR/>The men of the town are keeping something from him; although they can hear each other think, it's possible to learn techniques that allow one to control the information that others can hear. Ben and Cillian, his adoptive guardians and old friends of his parents, are both worried for him, though Todd doesn't know why. <BR/><BR/>And then, with less than a month to go until Todd's thirteenth birthday, he stumbles across a secret that no boy is meant to know and all men have been forced to forget, a secret about the history of his world and the lies he's been told. Todd has no choice but to escape from the town he's called his home and the people who have been his parents, on the run from something more terrible than the alien Spackle, and more familiar. <BR/><BR/>The sheer intensity of the story Ness tells kept me reading straight through this book, despite its length and occasionally hefty prose. Todd's first-person, present-tense narration has an inexorable pull that places the reader within the context of the story and keeps you turning the pages. The plot is full of twists and turns, the world is immaculately and innovatively crafted, and the characters' pain and longing seeps from the pages. <BR/><BR/>My largest complaint with this book was the way in which it ended, without resolving some major issues that had been significant throughout the story. It is the first book in a series, so this sense of incompleteness may be slightly forgiven, but I felt like I'd spent the entire book hurtling forward into empty space only to be slammed at the last minute against a brick wall. <BR/><BR/>That said, I'd recommend THE KNIFE OF NEVER LETTING GO to anyone who enjoys dystopia or slightly darker fiction, and I know I can't wait to see what happens next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2014

    I love this series!!

    These books are among my all time "reread every coupke of years" books- i started reading the first one after seeing it in my english teacher's room at the start of school, and have recently finished the last one. They are absolutely wonderful, and provided a welcome distraction from the constant stress of high school. I'd definitely recommend them, but the ending of the third made me cry. Read them; they're really good!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    A Must-Read

    Amazing writing, story, and fully developed characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Since there are a LOT of bad reviews below me

    I would like to say that this book was very entertaining. Yes, I admit that Todd left me frustrated at times, but that adds to the overrall plot to the story because you get to feel the characters emotions so deeply that it brings you through so many things. There is a lot of swearing in this book, but not something any teenager or adult couldn't handle. I do warn you that this book may not be for you; there are many scenes that can be at times confusing. You should so know that this is the first book in the trilogy so think wisely before you decide to buy/purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Read this

    Coundn't even make it through the summary

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 273 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14