Customer Reviews for

The Knight (Wizard Knight Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

really good!

thought that this book was really really good! i loved the plot: a kid gets kiddnapped by aelf into a world called myrthgar. he meets an aelf queen who is of the land aelfrice and she turns him into a man so in reality hes a grown man but at heart hes a boy. he also tak...
thought that this book was really really good! i loved the plot: a kid gets kiddnapped by aelf into a world called myrthgar. he meets an aelf queen who is of the land aelfrice and she turns him into a man so in reality hes a grown man but at heart hes a boy. he also takes on a new name: sir able of the high heart. he soon become a reknown knight, hence the title the knight.

posted by Eli_Hayden on October 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Boring

Bought both books in this series at the same time because I read nice reviews on this site. I now believe someone was paid to write them. This has been a struggle to get through. I'm half way through the Wizard and it still hasn't delivered. The story is very choppy a...
Bought both books in this series at the same time because I read nice reviews on this site. I now believe someone was paid to write them. This has been a struggle to get through. I'm half way through the Wizard and it still hasn't delivered. The story is very choppy and hard to follow, there's even one character you can barely understand his poor speech. The story line has very little action or suspense. There is way to much meaningless conversation. These books could be half as long. I paid for the books so I will finish, but the frustration made me right this review.

posted by Anonymous on May 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    Boring

    Bought both books in this series at the same time because I read nice reviews on this site. I now believe someone was paid to write them. This has been a struggle to get through. I'm half way through the Wizard and it still hasn't delivered. The story is very choppy and hard to follow, there's even one character you can barely understand his poor speech. The story line has very little action or suspense. There is way to much meaningless conversation. These books could be half as long. I paid for the books so I will finish, but the frustration made me right this review.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    really good!

    thought that this book was really really good! i loved the plot: a kid gets kiddnapped by aelf into a world called myrthgar. he meets an aelf queen who is of the land aelfrice and she turns him into a man so in reality hes a grown man but at heart hes a boy. he also takes on a new name: sir able of the high heart. he soon become a reknown knight, hence the title the knight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    Legendary

    Truly a classic and intriguing tale that will capture your interests and have you racing to the store to find the second half of The Wizard Knight collection!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Not well organized not for everyone

    Although the imagery was beautiful, I did not enjoy this book. Among other challenges, I found it frustrating trying to keep track of when the character was moving from one world to the next. Obviously, this type of book appeals to some, but it's not for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    superb coming of age fantasy

    In the United States, his brother Ben needed suddenly to leave, but there was no reason for the young teen to depart also; so he stayed behind to fish, but instead hiked a trail. He was not lost when he slightly went off the path to cut a staff.--- He steps into Mythgarthr where he meets the elf Queen of the Wood Disiri, who looks into his soul finding honor and loyalty. She magically changes the lad into an adult knight dubbed Able of the High Heart and provides him with a quest to obtain the mythical sword possessed guarded by a ferocious dragon. If he is to achieve his heroic destiny. However, to sprinkle someone with power and skill and change them into something else does not impact what is inside. The American expatriate struggles with his new environment filled with magic and magical beings and his lack of his experience beyond those of a young teen, not a fighting knight. Though doubts ring his every step, he is still young at heart and so begins his adventures as a stranger in a strange body in a strange land where everybody is strange.--- This is a terrific tales because of the realistic transformation of the hero who wonders what he has gotten into while on the trek. The support cast insures readers believe in ogres, giants, elves, griffins, etc. Interestingly is how Sir Able cleverly narrates the novel via a letter to Ben; cleverly providing a glossary of terms and names. Fantasy great, Gene Wolf provides a superb coming of age with a twist story that will have the audience anticipating the conclusion to the Wizard Knight twosome.--- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    This book was puzzling and distressing. I cannot recommend it t

    This book was puzzling and distressing. I cannot recommend it to anyone. Wolfe is a fantastic writer, and while his prose and style are, as always, up to snuff, with this book it feels as if pieces were snipped out during the editing process, without any effort to bridge the gaps left by the snipping. The character is portrayed as being a child in the body of a grown man, but I never got that impression... the character is unpleasant and unlikable, with a bizarre sense of entitlement that could never be born out of the "boy-in-a-man's-body" premise. Wolfe begins with one idea, a boy wandering by unknown means into a medieval world, where he then begins to question whether he had come from another world at all. This should be existential, yet it only manages to be annoying.

    The holes in the plot also tend to annoy. You don't feel any pathos for the character... at one point I started wishing ACTUAL suffering on him, and not the artificial suffering her foists upon himself. Wolfe goes for a mythical feel, yet all I get from this story is contempt. Towards his audience, towards the genre. I have a feeling he put this together very fast, and that saddens me, because I usually adore his work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    I've never read anything by this author, other than this particu

    I've never read anything by this author, other than this particular series.  I liked this series very much and recommend it strongly, but it is WEIRD,  It is not a typical fantasy book.  You'll have to puzzle this one out a bit.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2005

    Amazing

    The first in a two book series; in some ways the last. The only time I've ever re-read the first book after finishing the second. And finding that the story only got better the second time through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2005

    Fantasy the way it was meant to be written

    Wolfe, as usual, exceeds the boundaries of the fantasy genre while using all of the cliches of the genre itself. Only in his hands can knights, giants, talking cats, and elves take on new and interesting depths. Simply put, you will be unable to enjoy any cookie cutter fantasy novels after allowing yourself to slip into Wolfe's Mythgartr.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2005

    An amazingly good book

    At first the writing in first person took a bit to get used to. However, Wolfe has the ability to captivate you in ways most authors will never know. An extrodinary tale that will keep you thirsting for more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2004

    A great read!

    A very entertaining and engaging novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2