Customer Reviews for

The Knight of Maison-Rouge: A Novel of Marie Antoinette

Average Rating 3.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Rouge Bios

    Bios here!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Fabulous, fun story

    Bravery, loyalty, chivalry - is there anything more a woman could want? Oh, yes - good looks. This is a terrifically entertaining story, and certainly not a complex as The Count of Monte Cristo. It may take some readers a chpater or two to settle into the language and style, but it's worth the initial awkwardness. Those more familiar with the writing style of older novels will truly treasure this long-lost gem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    oops

    I don't know if I can finish this one - the translation is poor - the sentences/phrases almost make you laugh - ridiculous. The quality of the digital image is poor - lots of little numbers (footnotes maybe) stuck all over the pages .. . distracting. The story looks like it could be entertaining if the translator had done a better job . .. there is no option to return an ebook so may just be deleted into cyber space . . . . . If I can plod through it, I'll update my review for "story quality" . ... . I wish I could read French - !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Knight of Maison-Rouge

    After reading the Count of Monte Cristo, I found myself hooked on Dumas' work. Not wanting to read the more commonplace Three Musketeers, I decided to read the Knight of Maison-Rouge. How was it? I honestly have no idea. It is rare that I give up on a book out of sheer frustration, but this was such a scenario. It was not the writing that bothered me so much as the poor translation. On virtually every page there was information that, unless you are extremely well versed in French history, required explanation. On most pages there were about four to six sentences or words that had subscripts next to them indicating there were explanatory notes. Where were these notes? In the back of the book. Ordinarily this wouldn't bother me, but when every few words I'm forced to turn to the back of the book just so I can understand what is going on, that tells me this version needs to be re-worked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2008

    Reviewer

    Amazing book! I think this is one of the underestimated works by Alexander Dumas. It is not much known but definitely deserves being read. I could not stop reading the book - very captivating: humor, love, intrigues, history - everything is in it. 100% recommended!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    Not the book . . .

    This rating reflects neither the skill of Dumas nor the quality of the book, but the translator. The best comparison, I think, is to call it the New Living Translation of 'The Knight of Maison Rouge.' It may take a talented bit of translation to dumb-down Dumas into more modern idioms and catch-phrases, but it takes mental gymnastics to imagine Dumas writing some of this stuff. I've read the Count of Monte Cristo and the Three Musketeers Trilogy unabridged and haven't come across such difficult reading in all those thousands of pages. The writing style is choppy, the diction distasteful and it affects the story significantly. I'm sure you will enjoy this book if you find another translation I'm half-tempted to buy a new copy rather than stomach the rest of this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2006

    If on ly i could rate it 15 stars

    This book was absolutely amazing!Dumas really emphasizes the power of true love and real friendship in a very unconventional way. This book is captivating

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1