Customer Reviews for

Knight of Passion (All the King's Men Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

WHAT A DELIGHTFUL MEDIEVAL HISTORICAL ROMANCE!

KNIGHT OF PASSION by Margaret Mallory is a wonderful, delightful historical romance set in 1420 Paris and 1425 London.This is the third in the All the King' s Men series but can be read as a stand alone. It is well written with detail and detail. It has wit, suspense, ...
KNIGHT OF PASSION by Margaret Mallory is a wonderful, delightful historical romance set in 1420 Paris and 1425 London.This is the third in the All the King' s Men series but can be read as a stand alone. It is well written with detail and detail. It has wit, suspense, romance, sensuality, devil worshipers,knights, a queen and her ladies waiting, sorcery,true love, revenge and forgiveness. The heroine in this story is determined to have her revenge against the people who wronged her family(her grandfather) and stolen everything from them. She in independent, strong, full of life, beautiful, smart and gets into trouble at every turn.She has been in love with the hero for years but let vengeance get in her way until... well you will have to read their story. The hero is handsome, strong, a knight, has been in love with the heroine for years, wants to have a wife, one who is obedient and calm unlike the heroine, but love has it's own plans. I would highly recommend this story. If you have not read the first in this series I would recommend you read them (#1 Knight of Desire and #2 Knight of Pleasure) this have been a delightful series. If you enjoy Knights, suspense, fast paced, page turning, romance and a great read you will so enjoy this one.
This book was received for review and details can be found at My Book Addiction and More and Forever Hachette Book Group.

posted by AAR on June 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Beautiful Addition to the Series

Regret. Pain. Hope. Passion. Love.

Those are the themes of KNIGHT OF PASSION by Margaret Mallory, although not necessarily in that order. Fans of Mallory will recognize our hero, Jamie Rayburn as the little boy from <i>Knight of Desire</i>. In the f...
Regret. Pain. Hope. Passion. Love.

Those are the themes of KNIGHT OF PASSION by Margaret Mallory, although not necessarily in that order. Fans of Mallory will recognize our hero, Jamie Rayburn as the little boy from <i>Knight of Desire</i>. In the first book of the series, Jamie was a cute and precocious boy. Now, in KNIGHT OF PASSION, Jamie has grown up and become quite the looker. He's returned to England, searching for a wife to build a home. Although his heart is drawn to Lady Linnet, his mind steers him away. He wants a nice stable wife - can Linnet play that role?

The Lady Linnet's heart is torn in two different directions. One side of her wants to reek vengeance on the people who left who her poor and homeless after the death of her grandfather. She marries and quickly becomes a widow, all in according to her plan of generating wealth in order to track her prey across England. The other side of her, the side filled with love and hope, cried at having left Jamie to fulfill her dark mission. When she befriends Queen Katherine and finds herself once more in the presence of Jamie, the spark is quickly rekindled. Will her love for him be enough to convince him that she can change or will her mistakes destine her to a life without him?

This book was a bit more intense for me than <i>Knight of Desire</i>. The first in the series with Lady Catherine Rayburn and William FitzAlan is still by far my favorite, but KNIGHT OF PASSION turned out to be pretty good competition. The relationship between Jamie and Linnet was one that kept you on the edge of your seat throughout most of the story. The passion was there, surely, but was the trust? Ms. Mallory teased us and then pushed us away, leaving us with the knowledge that both parties truly loved one another but wondering if a Happily Ever After was possible for these two. Unfortunately, I won't be able to answer this question for you. You'll just have to read and find out.

One thing that makes Ms. Mallory's books so fantastic is the attention to detail she puts into them. Her writing is just as beautiful and colorful as the covers on the books and it is easy to get lost in the story through her words. Sometimes we see good stories, good plots, but the writing bogs the book down. Ms. Mallory presents us with a work that flows easily and reads quite well despite the complexity of the story and relationships therein.

By far my favorite aspect of KNIGHT OF PASSION was Lady Linnet. Her backstory was painful and really tugged on the heartstrings. It was difficult reading about her at times because we knew what she was going through and what she needed, but the world always seemed to work against her and there wasn't a thing we could do about it. There were times that I wanted to shout at Jamie and tell him all about Linnet; tell him just to love her. Fortunately, I couldn't and watching the two learn about each other and themselves made for a fantastic story.

I would highly recommend this to any fans of historical romance. The book is well researched, paced quite well, full of passion, and beautifully written. Ms. Mallory is an expert and one that romance junkies just have to experience.

posted by AJourneyOfBooks on June 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    Fantastic Third Book!

    I enjoyed Margaret Mallory's other two books - Knight of Desire and Knight of Pleasure - but I have to say that with Knight of Passion, she has taken it to a whole new level. This is the one, in my opinion, that is going to separate her from the pack, which she was already edging out of to begin with. As a reader, I've always been interested to watch the progression of a writer's talent from book to book, it's exciting to see. It's hard to quantify Margaret's when the first two books were so good on their own, but this one is several leaps beyond, in every way - characterization, motivation, dialogue, pace, narrative, transitions, plot, setting, the depth of the novel as a whole, the intensity of the love scenes, everything. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and I'm totally in love with Jamie! I also really liked that Linnet was such a strong woman. She did not need or want a man doing for her, she took care of business herself. It made the scenes of her vulnerability that much more emotional. I'm very much looking forward to Margaret's next book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    WHAT A DELIGHTFUL MEDIEVAL HISTORICAL ROMANCE!

    KNIGHT OF PASSION by Margaret Mallory is a wonderful, delightful historical romance set in 1420 Paris and 1425 London.This is the third in the All the King' s Men series but can be read as a stand alone. It is well written with detail and detail. It has wit, suspense, romance, sensuality, devil worshipers,knights, a queen and her ladies waiting, sorcery,true love, revenge and forgiveness. The heroine in this story is determined to have her revenge against the people who wronged her family(her grandfather) and stolen everything from them. She in independent, strong, full of life, beautiful, smart and gets into trouble at every turn.She has been in love with the hero for years but let vengeance get in her way until... well you will have to read their story. The hero is handsome, strong, a knight, has been in love with the heroine for years, wants to have a wife, one who is obedient and calm unlike the heroine, but love has it's own plans. I would highly recommend this story. If you have not read the first in this series I would recommend you read them (#1 Knight of Desire and #2 Knight of Pleasure) this have been a delightful series. If you enjoy Knights, suspense, fast paced, page turning, romance and a great read you will so enjoy this one.
    This book was received for review and details can be found at My Book Addiction and More and Forever Hachette Book Group.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Was easy to escape into the story.

    Well first off, this was an entertaining book. I didn't get sick of reading it, yet it wasn't one of those books that I couldn't put down. I liked the story enough, and the characters were well developed but there was a bit of a disconnect for me.

    I think my biggest hurdle in this one was Linnet. I know she was looking for revenge, but she came off as being deceptive, and a bit of a brat. I just wasn't that thrilled with her as a main character. I liked Jamie quite a bit more. He was a scorned lover who was still in love, and that made me feel sympathy for him. I also liked him because he knew Linnet's game, and could (to an extent) beat her at it. He also was a great "Knight in Shinning Armor" so to speak.

    The story was pretty good. The undertones of magic, sorcery, and such made it more appealing to me, as I tend to be drawn to stories with mystical or spiritual undertones. The love between Linnet and Jamie was a good catalyst for the story. I wanted Jamie to get what he wanted, but my disdain for Linnet made it seem bittersweet. I kept wishing she were a better person...

    But despite Linnet I still think this was a decent read. I was able to escape into the story with little effort. The historical side of the story may not have been absolutely accurate, but I think it was accurate enough to make it believable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    WHAT A DELIGHTFUL MEDIEVAL HISTORICAL ROMANCE!

    KNIGHT OF PASSION by Margaret Mallory is a wonderful, delightful medieval historical romance set in 1420 Paris and 1425 London.This is the third in the All the King' s Men series but can be read as a stand alone. It is well written with detail and detail. It has wit, suspense, romance, sensuality, devil worshipers,knights, a queen and her ladies waiting, sorcery,true love, revenge and forgiveness. The heroine in this story is determined to have her revenge against the people who wronged her family(her grandfather) and stolen everything from them. She in independent, strong, full of life, beautiful, smart and gets into trouble at every turn.She has been in love with the hero for years but let vengeance get in her way until... well you will have to read their story. The hero is handsome, strong, a knight, has been in love with the heroine for years, wants to have a wife, one who is obedient and calm unlike the heroine, but love has it's own plans. I would highly recommend this story. If you have not read the first in this series I would recommend you read them (#1 Knight of Desire and #2 Knight of Pleasure) this have been a delightful series. If you enjoy Knights, suspense, fast paced, page turning, romance and a great read you will so enjoy this one.
    This book was received for review and details can be found at My Book Addiction and More and Forever Hachette Book Group.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Beautiful Addition to the Series

    Regret. Pain. Hope. Passion. Love.

    Those are the themes of KNIGHT OF PASSION by Margaret Mallory, although not necessarily in that order. Fans of Mallory will recognize our hero, Jamie Rayburn as the little boy from &lt;i&gt;Knight of Desire&lt;/i&gt;. In the first book of the series, Jamie was a cute and precocious boy. Now, in KNIGHT OF PASSION, Jamie has grown up and become quite the looker. He's returned to England, searching for a wife to build a home. Although his heart is drawn to Lady Linnet, his mind steers him away. He wants a nice stable wife - can Linnet play that role?

    The Lady Linnet's heart is torn in two different directions. One side of her wants to reek vengeance on the people who left who her poor and homeless after the death of her grandfather. She marries and quickly becomes a widow, all in according to her plan of generating wealth in order to track her prey across England. The other side of her, the side filled with love and hope, cried at having left Jamie to fulfill her dark mission. When she befriends Queen Katherine and finds herself once more in the presence of Jamie, the spark is quickly rekindled. Will her love for him be enough to convince him that she can change or will her mistakes destine her to a life without him?

    This book was a bit more intense for me than &lt;i&gt;Knight of Desire&lt;/i&gt;. The first in the series with Lady Catherine Rayburn and William FitzAlan is still by far my favorite, but KNIGHT OF PASSION turned out to be pretty good competition. The relationship between Jamie and Linnet was one that kept you on the edge of your seat throughout most of the story. The passion was there, surely, but was the trust? Ms. Mallory teased us and then pushed us away, leaving us with the knowledge that both parties truly loved one another but wondering if a Happily Ever After was possible for these two. Unfortunately, I won't be able to answer this question for you. You'll just have to read and find out.

    One thing that makes Ms. Mallory's books so fantastic is the attention to detail she puts into them. Her writing is just as beautiful and colorful as the covers on the books and it is easy to get lost in the story through her words. Sometimes we see good stories, good plots, but the writing bogs the book down. Ms. Mallory presents us with a work that flows easily and reads quite well despite the complexity of the story and relationships therein.

    By far my favorite aspect of KNIGHT OF PASSION was Lady Linnet. Her backstory was painful and really tugged on the heartstrings. It was difficult reading about her at times because we knew what she was going through and what she needed, but the world always seemed to work against her and there wasn't a thing we could do about it. There were times that I wanted to shout at Jamie and tell him all about Linnet; tell him just to love her. Fortunately, I couldn't and watching the two learn about each other and themselves made for a fantastic story.

    I would highly recommend this to any fans of historical romance. The book is well researched, paced quite well, full of passion, and beautifully written. Ms. Mallory is an expert and one that romance junkies just have to experience.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Impressed Once Again!

    Another exciting, adventurous, mysterious, steamy, love story from the wonderful mind of Margaret in the "All The Kings Men" series! Being in love when they were young, Jamie Rayburn finds himself leaving the beautiful Linnet when he feels betrayed by her when caught in bed together. Not waiting to listen to reason, he takes off without another word. 5 years later, they are reuntied by fate. And all those old feelings come charging back at both of them with a heat so passionate they can barely keep their hands off each other - so they don't! Linnet and Jamie both have life lessons to learn and overcome, only to find out that what they thought they wanted in life, wasn't as important as wanting each other. They come close to losing that though when their minds, instead of their hearts, convince them maybe they should be on different paths. Wrong! Luckily, Jamie has a strong family that shows him, sometimes men can be real hard headed (no pun intended). When he goes back to see Linnet, he finds that she is missing, and must find and rescue his true love, before she ends up dead...or is it Linnet that ends up saving him? There's only 1 way to find out - GET THIS BOOK! And the other two if you don't have them. You'll enjoy the action, you'll enjoy the wity banter of all the characters...and you'll enjoy the sex that starts from the beginning, and goes all the way to the end!!! I will warn you that their are some interesting parts that include witches, sourcery, and potions. But when you read the historical facts pages, Margaret says that those things happened back then. So take it with a grain of salt and allow yourself to get caught up in the love to two wonderful people!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2013

    Good read!

    The last story of the trilogy. I adored Jamie, but I found Linnet a shallow self-centered woman. As I read, I understood her character more, but still did not think she truly deserved the honorable Jamie. Margaret Mallory does an excellent job of researching the period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Loved the first two books in this series. This one ... not so m

    Loved the first two books in this series. This one ... not so much! It seemed really disjointed, and the characters just weren't as well developed. Almost seemed like it was written by someone else. Really disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Third book in a good series. The first two I liked better. This

    Third book in a good series. The first two I liked better. This one I put off reading for a while. Linnet was not a favorite, the way she treated Jamie at first was awful! As I got into the story, I understood her reasoning better. Jamie and Linnet had a hot,hot romance. There was a lot going on in this one. I found myself liking it more as I got into the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    I enjoyed this book very much. Great Hero!

    I enjoyed this book very much. Great Hero!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    slow read

    I just didn't find this book a page turner, it took me two weeks to get through this book, i almost deleted it, but since i had paid for it i decided to suffer through it, very disappointed .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Ffc70 - Disappointed

    Just could not get into the storyline. Have to pass on this one. Love all the other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Love it

    I have read all 3 books and love them. The story kept me very interested and I love the history! I liked the good solid characters and story lines. Not just another romance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    The best yet

    This entire series was a Must Read. But this is my favorite i love how he always loved her, with ust the right amount of passion without it being offensive A wonderful new author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    good book :)

    I love it good read :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Wow this series is great!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted July 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    HOW CAN THIS PASSIONATE KNIGHT... Renowned beauty Lady Linnet is torn between two desires: revenge on those who destroyed her family or marriage to her childhood sweetheart Sir James Rayburn.

    One fateful night, she makes a misguided choice: she sacrifices Jamie's love for a chance at vengeance.

    TRUST A BEAUTY WITH A PAST?
    Jamie Rayburn returns to England in search of a virtuous wife-only to find the lovely Linnet as bewitching as ever. Their reckless affair ignites anew, even hotter than before, although Jamie vows to never again trust her with his heart. Then just as Linnet begins to make amends, she's tempted by one last opportunity to settle old scores. But a final retribution could cost her Jamie's love - this time forever.(excerpt from back cover).

    My Review:

    Knight of Passion by Margaret Mallory are a throwback to the old Harlequin Romance books from my high school days. This book really appealed to me because of my love for castles, magic and sorcery with a true romance story involved. Kinda like Lord of the Rings in a way with more romance added to the details. Linnet's character is strong for a woman of that time period and she doesn't want a man to do anything for her, yet you still sense her vulnerability as well. Jaime is portrayed as the "Knight in Shining Armor" who had been previously scorned by her but thinks he can also win her heart back.

    This book is available in paperback and eBook formats. For more information on this book, the author and where to purchase your copy, simply click on the link below:

    http://www.hachettebookgroup.com/books_9780446559867.htm

    I received Knight of Passion by Margaret Mallory, compliments of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    good read but.....

    This is a story of how revenge can destroy. I enjoyed the main male character but the female 'Linnet' is a selfish self-centered shrew and because of her it really degrades the whole book. I much preferred the first two books in this trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3