Customer Reviews for

Knit One, Kill Two (Knitting Mystery Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Knitters beware- good read

I loved the development of the characters; the home-town feeling to all the settings & the romance was even upbeat. The women characters are strong & interesting to read. I liked this book and couldn't put it down once I started reading it.

posted by Atreyu59 on July 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing cozy

As a big fan of cozy mysteries, as well as a knitter, I was excited to start this series. Overall the plot was very well developed, however, I could not get past the artificial, stilted dialog. The characters call each other by name in almost every sentence..."Hi Kell...
As a big fan of cozy mysteries, as well as a knitter, I was excited to start this series. Overall the plot was very well developed, however, I could not get past the artificial, stilted dialog. The characters call each other by name in almost every sentence..."Hi Kelly, how are you"? "I'm fine Mimi." "Nice dog, Kelly." "Thank you, Mimi." "You are welcome, Kelly." It drove me to distraction! I'll give the second book in the series a try in the hopes that the writing style improves. If not, I'm definitely done with this series.

posted by 798157 on September 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Cast On to Your Needles for a Fairly Interesting "Popcorn" Mystery

    "Knit One, Kill Two" is the lead book in one of several mystery series published by Berkley's "Prime Crime" mystery division. Knowing the popularity of series sleuths, I think that Berkeley has hired a clutch of writers to create series of books, each themed around a particular aspect of their world. You have Gardening Mysteries, Coffeehouse Mysteries, Tea Mysteries, Bewitching Mysteries (centered around Wiccan in Indiana), etc.<BR/><BR/>Here, remembering how popular mystery characters are often knitting (think Miss Marple), we are offered Kelly Flynn, a CPA from Washington, D. C. Kelly has moved back temporarily (she thinks) to her old childhood home in Fort Connor, Colo. to close out the house of her murdered grandmother; she also meets the central workers and customers of the House of Lambspun, a custom-lot knitting shop that was formerly her grandmother's first house. As for the murder, too many coincidences are appearing in the case; why did a vagrant just happen along, kill the grandmother, and grab $20,000 that she had cashed a check for that morning from a predatory mortgage company? Why is no trace of that money to be found now? Why did Grandma take out the loan in the first place? And why is the purple knitting Grandma was working on gone, along with a broken knitting needle? Why did the killer take the time to also grab a unique family heirloom quilt?<BR/><BR/>Fortunately, when it looks like the police are taking the bird in hand, Kelly finds help and support in the regulars of the House of Lambspun. They're sometimes quirky, but they also make a good team in helping to pin the crime on the true killer.<BR/><BR/>Some aspects of this book are excellent; the problem is that they're mainly the background, not the plot. The description of the store, with its tons of hand-spun and -dyed yarns, the trip to the Wool Fair, and the coaching of Kelly to become a knitter are wonderful. Do they advance the plot? Not really, though they add atmosphere. Of course, if you're building a series, you want a rich background to bring the reader back for more books. In this, Maggie Sefton succeeds. A mystery's core, however, is the plot -- how well does the writer lay out the story, keeping things just opaque enough to prevent you from guessing or deducing the criminal until the reveal, that keeps you turning pages in the book you have? Here, the author also succeeds -- just. The story is enough to keep you going to the end, but it's not anything truly special. <BR/><BR/>(Unless you're a knitter, of course; the description of the dream fabric-arts store with an attached coffeehouse, and the people inhabiting it, will make your mouth water. Non-knitters note: it really is as easy to learn how to knit as this book suggests. I've begun the hobby recently, and have started picking it up in just a handful of days with short practice bursts. More intense sessions, such as Kelly does here, will get you in faster. And yes, fingering all that Merino and cashmere and alpaca wool is just as delicious as it sounds! Keep in mind that this fictional store sells mostly hand-spun and -dyed yarns; there are less expensive yarns available to work with that will be just as satisfying.)<BR/><BR/>Is this book -- and its brother books in the several Berkley series -- any threat to Agatha Christie or Kathy Reichs? No. But if you're looking for a quick, fairly entertaining read, or a fan of knitting, you can do worse than give this a try.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Excellent!!!

    Excellent!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Coffee put me to sleep

    I fell in love with the human characters, the town, and the mountains but then the drug of choice raised its ugly head -- coffee. On every other page, it seemed anyway, someone was talking about coffee or drinking coffee and wishing for coffee. Coffee, itself became a main character. It drove me crazy. I barely managed to get through the first book in the series. I did try the second book but it was even worse. The coffee character was even bigger. So distracting was Coffee, I gave it up as a worthless read. Sorry I just can't recommend the series unless you drink a can of the dark stuff a day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just a so-so read for me.

    Just a so-so read for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2007

    Simplicity

    What I like about this book is the simplicity of it. The author's descriptions of the yarns, fibers, accomplishing a knitted piece, all strike accord with those of us who love to knit. The mystery aspect is also simple with no gore or overt horror. Just a nice read as this smart 20something learns about herself and makes new friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1