Customer Reviews for

Knit One, Kill Two (Knitting Mystery Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Knitters beware- good read

I loved the development of the characters; the home-town feeling to all the settings & the romance was even upbeat. The women characters are strong & interesting to read. I liked this book and couldn't put it down once I started reading it.

posted by Atreyu59 on July 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing cozy

As a big fan of cozy mysteries, as well as a knitter, I was excited to start this series. Overall the plot was very well developed, however, I could not get past the artificial, stilted dialog. The characters call each other by name in almost every sentence..."Hi Kell...
As a big fan of cozy mysteries, as well as a knitter, I was excited to start this series. Overall the plot was very well developed, however, I could not get past the artificial, stilted dialog. The characters call each other by name in almost every sentence..."Hi Kelly, how are you"? "I'm fine Mimi." "Nice dog, Kelly." "Thank you, Mimi." "You are welcome, Kelly." It drove me to distraction! I'll give the second book in the series a try in the hopes that the writing style improves. If not, I'm definitely done with this series.

posted by 798157 on September 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    Knitters beware- good read

    I loved the development of the characters; the home-town feeling to all the settings & the romance was even upbeat. The women characters are strong & interesting to read.
    I liked this book and couldn't put it down once I started reading it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    Knit What

    I love this book! Kept me on the edge of my seat and guessing - thought I had the murder all figured out several times, not until the last few pages did I figure it out. Great read!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    Quick and fun read

    This book was very fun to read. The characters were interesting and made me feel like I could drive to Colorado and meet them all. The writer's descriptions of the scenes, especially in the yarn store, made it very easy to visualize everything I read. I love to knit and the colorful descriptions made me want to pick up my knitting and continue reading the book. I hope this author has many more books up her sleeve. I have already read the next two installments!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fun and captivating read

    I liked this book and the cast of characters so much that I have ordered the entire series currently available. Not only that, the description of the cozy yarn shop inspired me to get my knitting out again after 35 years. The author drew me in and I felt like I was there and part of the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Title captures the type of book, grabs your attention

    This book is chocked full of quirky, funny, interesting characters. I could not put it down. I also loved the patterns and recipes at the back of the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great debit mystery

    CPA Kelly Flynn feels alone when she learns the stunning news that her beloved Aunt Helen, who raised her, was murdered in her home in what the police declared a ¿burglary gone bad. Kelly accompanied by her dog Carl heads home to Fort Connor, Colorado for the funeral and to deal with the estate. Her aunt¿s lawyer Mr. Chambers shocks her with the fact that frugal Helen borrowed $20,000 against her home, but has no idea what she did with the money or why she needed it since it never went to Kelly. The accountant also sees other discrepancies with the official books on the case as she knows her feisty aunt would have put up a fight if it was a robbery; since she did not she knew her killer................... In town, her aunt¿s friends adopt Kelly and make her feel at home. They needle her into joining their knitting circle, which meets at Mimi Shafer¿s shop, the former barn of Kelly¿s aunt. As the circle converts her into a dye-in-the-wool scarf knitter, she investigates what happened to her aunt because the bottom line fails to add up correctly................ This is first stitch in a new needlepoint amateur sleuth tale starring a likable accountant and a host of eccentric townsfolk. The story line neatly knits together a murder pattern that the police failed to see. Amateur sleuth fans who appreciate Monica Ferris¿s Betsy Devonshire tales will want to read this Rocky Mountains¿ cleverly crafted who-done-it............ Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Very good.

    I stumbled upon this series by accident. I enjoy knitting and so it caught my attention. The knitting is incidental to the story, but is kind of the thread that holds the plot together (pun intended). Well written plot - shorter (about 200 pages) than some stories but well put together with twist and turns along the way.

    I really enjoyed it and have already read the second in the series. Will soon be purchasing the next one to keep up with the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Coffee & Reading

    Great to curl up with a strong cup of coffee. Terriffic reading material. Makes me want to go back to Colorado.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Great read, light and cozy!

    I thoroughly enjoyed Maggie Sefton's first Knitting Mystery. It hosts a group of friends, new and old, and a yarn shop that I seriously wished exists in my hometown. This book actually got me knitting again, after a long absence. I enjoyed seeing Kelly go from new girl to dear friend. There were mornings I wished I had some of Eduardo's coffee, the descriptions were so vivid and delicious! If you are looking for a light, easy mystery - this is the book for you. Sefton does a wonderful job describing every detail and gives the reader a vivid picture of life around the yarn shop. You'll really love it. Now, I have to get back to the hat I'm knitting and the second book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I want to read more in this series.

    after reading this book I would now like to learn how to knit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful

    These books are a great series, make a lovely gift! I enjoyed them very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2009

    mystery , knitting

    I bought this book during the summer and enjoyed it so much I bought it as a gift for someone at Christmas in a knitting swap. The person was so happy she wanted to know who bought the books. I also lent it to my mom who also liked it and lent it to someone else.

    Good read- Can't wait til the next on in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Knitting for your brain..

    The author's familiarity with a LYS makes you want to run out and start another project, or just buy more yarn!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2008

    Awesome book!!!!!

    I love mysteries, and I love knitting, so this book was perfect for me ' and probably for a lot of others '. It was very interesting, and knitting is a big part, so that makes it all the better. I think you will enjoy it more if you knit, but if you don't, you'll still love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2005

    Fun and fast mystery

    This was a great book! The characters were well-drawn and engaging. I found myself laughing out loud a couple of times. Fun and fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2005

    Entertaining Read

    My husband and I greatly enjoyed this book and looking forward to her next book. The characters in this book are great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2