Customer Reviews for

Knit, Purl, Die (Black Sheep Knitting Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable second in cozy series

    The Black Sheep Knitters were introduced in "While my pretty one knits", which I enjoyed enough to be willing to buy #2 new and not wait in the hopes of finding a copy in the used book store. These are not tense suspense thrillers that will make your heart pound, but they are cozy reads to enjoyably pass a rainy afternoon or to relax with before sleeping, or waiting in the doctor's office...
    The Knitters are joined by rich and dynamic Gloria Sterling, an old friend of Maggie's (owner of the Black Sheep Knitting Shop), who has just moved back into the area from Florida with a new and much younger husband. It is a shock to everyone when Gloria is found 2 days later floating face down in her swimming pool, with her knitting a soggy blob beside her, and the little group of knitting friends have to deal with personal shock before rallying behind the young widower to help him deal with his loss. But some little things don't make sense, and eventually the group of close friends unsnarl the tangle of clues and figure out who killed Gloria--and why.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2014

    Oh my goodness

    The "Seaside Mystery Series" is my favorite,but I thought I would try this series. Book #2 was even more disappointing than book #1. These police are more like keystone kops. If you want to murder someone this is the place. Without giving it away (which you will figure it out by chapter 3) remember Shakespeare's "Thou protesteth too much". And what a mindless, convoluted ending. Don't waste your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2014

    It's OK

    The book is ok, but it was too easy to figure out "who done it". I wish the characters were better developed. I enjoy knitting, but there was a bit too much picking up the knitting needles and not enough action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    Very fast reading

    Veryintense,can't put it down once you start reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    Great Read!!!

    In this second book of the series - Knit, Purl, Die - the personalities and idiosyncrasies of the characters introduced to us in While My Pretty One Knits have really come to life. In the quiet New England town of Snug Harbor, the death of one of the knitters - a dynamic, wealthy woman who seems to have it all - sets the town buzzing. Her much younger artist husband adds the necessary spice and sympathy to the mix. Although the police have deemed her death an accident, the knitters begin to voice their doubts. As the ladies chat and sip coffee together at Maggie's Black Sheep Knitting Shop - needles clicking away - they bounce theories off of one another, and like Miss Marple and others before her, prod the local constabulary to look deeper into the clues that they've uncovered. Maggie's knitting shop is as familiar as the one that I go to for yarn, knitting tips, and encouragement on my latest project. This comfy mystery is laced with witty dialog, as well as some surprising developments, which add suspense to the already imaginative plot. The tasty recipes and knitting patterns offered at the end of the book are just the icing on the cake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Distracted

    While the idea is charming, and I love the back material (recipes and tips given as if you were reading the Black Sheep Knitting Bulletin Board), I was so distracted by the poor writing (and/or editing) that I wouldn't recommend this series. The person who'd gotten this book out of the library before me was frustrated by the same thing and had written the correct spelling in (bear for bare, etc.).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    Fun for an Afternoon

    This is easy reading If you like knitting and mysteries, you will enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    Women's craft novel

    Bought it to read on a trip and it was entertaining enough for that purpose, but wouldn't keep it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Cozy Mystery Series

    Gloria Sterling has a fairy-tale life. Rich and beautiful, she has recently remarried. Known for her escapades, even her remarriage makes news--her new husband is gorgeous and twenty years younger. But when Gloria is found dead in her swimming pool, the fairy tale comes to an end.

    It turns out there are plenty of suspects. Inevitably, the husband is always the first suspect and he was the talk of the town by those who refused to believe the marriage had been a love match. Then there was the local attorney who had been Gloria's prior lover. Finally, all that money was left to her by her prior husband, and he made that money in real estate. There were many in Plum Harbor, where Gloria lived, who felt that his fortune was built on their misfortune.

    Gloria had recently joined a circle of five friends that called themselves The Black Sheep. The group was centered around all the participant's love of knitting. There was Maggie, who owned the local knitting shop. Suzanne was a real estate agent, while Dana is a psychologist. Lucy is a graphic designer while Phoebe is a college student who lives over the knitting shop and works there. When the police decide that the death is an accident, the group starts to put suspicious events together and decides that the death must have been a murder. They each use their unique talents to bring another piece to the puzzle of Gloria's death.

    Knit, Purl, Die is the second book in the Black Sheep mystery series, and would be considered to be on the cozy part of that genre. The characters are interesting and their interplay and demonstration of true female friendship is fascinating for the reader to follow. This book is recommended for mystery lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Solve a mystery with friends

    I received Knit, Purl, Die from Pocket Books for review purposes. It is the second book in the Black Sheep Knitting Mystery series. I have not read the first book in the series but it is now on my TBR list. When I read the title and the synopsis I was intrigued by the concept and wanted to give it a try. Often times either a title or the cover art for a book jumps out at me which I guess makes me very susceptible to advertising or marketing.

    I liked this close-knit group of women who are all friends and support one another. While the women see each other regularly during the week at Maggie's knitting store they meet formally once a week at one of their homes for dinner and knitting. They share a common interest and are very invested in each others lives. This mystery involved the death of one of their friends when she was home alone at night knitting by her pool. She was found dead in her pool with both alcohol and medicine in her system and the police deemed it an accident, due to the drugs it was even rumored to be a suicide. At times during the novel the mystery even seemed to just be in the women's heads, as if they didn't want to believe that their friend might have been so troubled and not shared it with them.

    The friends in this novel are Maggie, Phoebe, Dana, Lucy and Suzanne. Maggie owns a knitting shop in a small town by the beach, Phoebe lives above the store and works there, Lucy is a graphic designer who is recently divorces and works from her cottage, Dana is a counselor married to a lawyer, and Suzanne is a real estate agent married to a contractor. Most of the story is about the women and their meetings and lives, very little time is devoted to their husbands or boyfriend and outside interests. The main character of the five for this story was Lucy, but I wondered if the POV rotates between them in the stories because it seemed like with the first one Maggie might have been the central character.

    Knitting has often appealed to me, I even tried to pick it up one time but didn't really give it the effort that it deserved. I fully believe at some point I will try it again. Perhaps if I could find a way to knit and read at the same time I would be more inclined to learn it.

    I really liked how the book ended with letters to the readers from each of the main characters as well as recipes. It added a nice homey touch to the book and made it seem more like you as the reader was a friend rather than a reader. Also I liked how the novel focused on their friendship and their shared experiences and showed how women can really support and be there for one another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Knitting and murder.. what could be better??

    I had a blast meeting the women in the Black Sheep Knitting group and getting to know them. This is the second book in the series, but for the most part I didn't feel like I was missing out by not reading the first book. Even though I have no idea how to knit myself, I would have loved to visit Maggie's shop and hopefully learn how to knit. The characters are all engaging and I enjoyed getting to know them. They are also quite funny women as I found myself chuckling while reading.

    The mystery itself was a good read. I was a bit disappointed at the ending and the ultimate culprit. I thought it was fairly predictable as to who the blame should lay on but the ladies in the story did not seem to pick up on clues as well as I did. This is not really a problem per se as I enjoyed reading the entire book but there were times when I wanted to be like "Seriously? You guys don't notice this?!" Maybe they are too trusting as they all seem like really nice women.

    Cozies are great to read because they have clean story lines but still have all the fun and action of a good mystery. This book was great fun to read and I really liked the recipes that were featured. Suzanne's pasta sounds delicious and I would love to make that in the future. Overall, I really enjoyed this book. It was a great intro for me into the cozy genre and I'm eager to get the first book and catch up on the series. If you are a cozy mystery fan or like books about knitting, this book is perfect for you.


    Review copy courtesy of Sarah Reidy of Simon and Schuster.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Readers will enjoy this cozy also filled with knitting tip and web sites and recipes

    Wealthy widow Gloria Sterling has returned from Florida to Plum Harbor, Massachusetts with her third husband much younger Jamie Barnett. The artist is considered a boy toy by Gloria's friends at the Black Sheep Knitting Shop. Soon after her return, Gloria is found dead in her swimming pool; two empty wine glasses nearby.

    The Black Sheep Knitting club members are stunned as Gloria was a colorful larger than life person. The five female knitters led by the shop's owner Maggie Messina assume Jamie killed her as the motive is money although the cops declare her death an accident. They investigate seeking clues one stitch at time.

    The second Black Sheep knitting amateur sleuth (see While My Pretty One Knits) is an enjoyable regional romp starring five intrepid knitters. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Gloria returns home with numero three and never slows down as the club members follow the threads not worrying that a killer might be watching their progress. Readers will enjoy this cozy also filled with knitting tip and web sites and recipes.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2