Customer Reviews for

Knit Two

Average Rating 3.5
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A warm book about friends and family who stay united thorugh tragedy .

This book the second in the series was as wonderful as the first. All the characters seem so alive as if I personally know them. The characters have lost a loved one and their lives go on amid each of their own struggles.The book is written with warmth and understanding...
This book the second in the series was as wonderful as the first. All the characters seem so alive as if I personally know them. The characters have lost a loved one and their lives go on amid each of their own struggles.The book is written with warmth and understanding,it is a nice comfortable read. A book you don't want to end , just like the first.

posted by dawniedo on March 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Just OK

It was interesting to see what happened to the characters 5 years later, but it didn't compare to her first book.

posted by Love2ReadMW on March 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted March 12, 2009

    A warm book about friends and family who stay united thorugh tragedy .

    This book the second in the series was as wonderful as the first. All the characters seem so alive as if I personally know them. The characters have lost a loved one and their lives go on amid each of their own struggles.The book is written with warmth and understanding,it is a nice comfortable read. A book you don't want to end , just like the first.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2009

    Excellent sequel...ties up loose ends.

    I enjoyed this book almost as much at the original. The author does a wonderful job of staying consistant with the characters personalities. Not quite as much of a page-turner as the first, but still an excellent read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    Moving

    Dakota Walker is all grown up and in College, still learning how to deal with her mother's death even 5 years later. Dakota feels trapped: everyone expects Dakota will take over the Knitting Store and go to college for Business, but she has bigger dreams of becoming a baker.
    Peri has been running the Knitting Store for the past five years and has just finished remodeling it. She also has become quite successful designing her own line of purses and hand bags. Peri is also feeling trapped by the store, having a desire to increase her design line but feeling a responsibility to keep the store going.
    Anita has moved in with Stan, happy and thinking about a new marriage. However, her son is opposed to her "new lifestyle" as she is sadden by a secret that she searches to fix.
    Luci is a new single mother a very energetic and at times difficult daughter. Luci is also coming to the realization that her mother is getting older than what she once was.
    Cat, the long lost best first from Georgia's childhood, feels like an outsider in the Knitting Club. Cat also is moving from man to man, never finding a reason to settle down.
    Darwin is a new mother of Twins after years of trying. Unsure of her "motherhood" capabilities she looks to unlikely people.

    While Georgia Walker died in the first book of this series, her spirit and character is more present than ever. Each character has been affected by her death in their own way, and each character is learning how to live life and grow with the memories Georgia gave them. Furthermore, this book is about Sisterhood and Friendship, as corny as that sounds. Each woman is able to lean on the other, finding support and honesty.

    Beyond the messages that book conveyed I really loved how each character was treated as an equal in terms of development. Kate Jacobs did an amazing job at making sure that each character was given enough time and space to be described. I recommend this book to those who are looking for a heartwarming story, and one that is a quick read but affective just the same.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A good follow up to Friday Night Knitting club

    A second book or sequel is very hard to pull off. Knit two had the same lovable characters and was slow to start but if you get past the first two chapters you'll be hooked. I liked it very much and find Kate Jacobs easy and enjoyable to read. The relationships these women have and how they interwine with each other is very true and genuine. If you liked Friday Night Knitting Club then you will like this too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Just OK

    It was interesting to see what happened to the characters 5 years later, but it didn't compare to her first book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Wonderfully done!

    Sometimes sequels don't live up to their predecessors. This one certainly does it justice. I was worried when Georgia died how they would move on and keep it as riveting as the first, but it really is a touching tale that is worth the read to find out what happens to our characters!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    great

    Better than the Friday Nite Knitting Club. The characters really develop into their potential in this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Knit Two

    satisfying follow-up to the Friday Night Knitting Club. Funny and touching.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    MORE THAN I EXPECTED!

    I loved the first book, and expected to be slightly disppointed in the second. Surprise! Character development continued, plot had surprising turns, and although a sequel had originality, too. A great read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Another Touching Book from Kate Jacobs

    If you loved The Friday Night Knitting Club, you'll love this follow-up. ENJOY!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Disappointing follow up

    I really liked Friday Night Knitting Club, so was very excited for Knit Two. It was a major let down. Hokey premise and boring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2009

    not what I expected

    Author spent too much time explaining the characters - the story didn't get started until the last chapter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A breath of fresh air!

    Kate Jacobs' sequel to "A Friday Night Knitting Club" is as refreshing as a warm breeze on a Spring day and a welcomed mental holiday from the stresses of every day life. Her characters are memorable and endearing. She's a fine writer and I look forward to her next literary contribution.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Glad to catch up w/the girls again...

    I found the story entertaining. I really liked the first book, so to find out about what all the characters have been doing and how they have each grown in their own ways was fun!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Picks up where the first one left off

    This one does a really good job of tying up the loose ends of the first novel. It reads smoother than the first one too. Great for a book club or a rainy day read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    Not as good as the Knitting Club

    This book was disappointing as compared with the first Knitting Club. The characters were not as compelling, and the beginning of the book moved slowly. I did like the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Great Book

    Sequel to Friday Night Knitters which was also a great book. You were able to follow the same characters throughout both books. I would enjoy another one following the same characters in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Took awhile to finish. Did I enjoy this book: It was okay. I th

    Took awhile to finish.

    Did I enjoy this book: It was okay. I thought Knit Two was kind of boring. It took me a long time to finish this book. I just didn’t care if I picked it up and continued reading it.

    I found Knit Two to be confusing because of the changing of perspectives. There are a lot of characters and the transitions between whose story was being told was not always clear. Not all of the characters were that sympathetic. I just did not care about them. James was too overprotective and worried about appearances. He needed to let Dakota live and choose her own path in life. She seems like an exceptional baker, so why not allow her to go to culinary school? And what was the big deal with her being an au pair for her friend’s daughter? That was a chance of a lifetime…a summer in Italy! James was just too sensitive.

    I did like Darwin’s transformation. She seemed to take to motherhood fairly easily. I also liked that she finally asked for help and accepted it. And she really got into knitting. She was probably my favorite character.

    The book started to move for me once the story shifted to Italy. From that point on, I wanted to see how it ended. I cared about the characters a bit more at this point. It kept me interested. I did enjoy the ending. Some of the characters redeemed themselves and became a bit more likable in my eyes.

    Would I recommend it: Only if you read the first book, The Friday Night Knitting Club (see my review here), and you really want to know what happens to these ladies.

    Will I read it again: I will not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Wonderful

    As always her characters and their stories made me queston my beliefs and wonder what i want from life. The plot didnt always go where i thought it would in wonderful ways. I loved the first book and i love this one just as much. Challenging, touching, thoughtful, heartfelt. Woe
    Rth your time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    Good read

    I was looking forward to reading this book after having read "The Friday Night Knitting Club" and it was worth the wait. Now I'm anxious to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7