Customer Reviews for

Knits for Nerds: 30 Projects: Science Fiction, Comic Books, Fantasy

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Fun for any nerd!

    I belong to a family of nerds, so we really enjoyed all the nerdy ideas in Knits for Nerds! It is split in four sections of knitted suggestions to make any nerd very happy. The first section is “Fantasy” with fun ideas like Dragon Rider gloves and Hobbit Feet Slippers. The “Sci Fi” area has knitted ideas from Star Wars, Star Trek and more, and includes crafts like making your own Tribble, which the author decided to recreate herself when she couldn’t find a toy one on the market! Cute and fluffy!

    In the “Comics and Manga” chapter, fans can find a cat woman hat or a tiny fascinator top hat, “accented with a veil and feathers”, made popular by the Death in the Sandman comic series. The final section has other nerdy stuff, for example, a knitted e-book reader bag, designed in Gryffindor colors. Or how about an “infinite loop” Mobius scarf for your mathlete friends? For those new to knitting, Knits for Nerds also has an index of the basic knitting techniques, along with photos to help you along!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Knitting Is Not For Grammas Anymore

    I love this book. I actually showed it to friends the other night (we were trying to prove to each other who the biggest nerd is) and all my non knitting friends wants me to make them something from the book! Penny's gloves for my daughter have to be first though. Right after I finish her weighted companion cube sweater. I cant wait to make a browncoat for myself. I have my own version of the Dragon Riders gloves, but may have totry these as well. Thank you for this book, I think I will be working out of it for the next year almost exclusively.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Knits for Nerds 30 Projects: Science Fiction, Comic Books, Fanta

    Knits for Nerds 30 Projects: Science Fiction, Comic Books, Fantasy by Joan of Dark a.k.a Toni Carr
    ISBN: 9781449407919
    Even though there are categories: Science Fiction, Comic Books, Fantasy, if you change the colors to something mild the patterns can be adapted for everyday use.
    There are some very easy patterns to knit, some are charted.
    Cute: baby elf hat with horns is adorable and could be used on a daily basis.
    Hand coverings in different varying lengths and patterns make it so the easy to advanced knitter wouldn't be lost making these.
    Head coverings and cape/wraps are also a high priority.
    Great for make believe or a child dressing up or for a Halloween costume.
    Let your imagination go wild and use the patterns in the book to make a whole new world.
    Glossary with pictures of how to do some techniques is at the end, very helpful and knowledgeable info there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    Awesome book. Great patterns. Useful tool in the arsenal of all

    Awesome book. Great patterns. Useful tool in the arsenal of all nerdy knitters out there. And fun, too. Which is really the whole point of the thing, isn’t it? The "hobbit foot" slippers really freak me out, though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    I am 100% a nerd

    I LOVE THIS BOOK! Also, life's biggest question: Who shot first???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    lot of SCI-fi variety

    I've alread made 4 pair of the Hobbit Slippers for gifts. They made Christmas fun for some his & her Hobbit fans. I've got my moneys worth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    So fun.

    Even if u dont make these yrself, i bet u know someone who would make these for you. Great book to talk about, amazing projects to do for you and your teenager.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    How could I resist a book called Knits For Nerds? I couldn&rsquo

    How could I resist a book called Knits For Nerds? I couldn’t really. As a knitter and a lover of many things considered “nerdy,” I was excited to pick this one up. Knits for Nerds is by Joan of Dark (aka Tori Carr) whose last book, Knockdown Knits, was inspired by roller derby. This time she tackles the nerd community with patterns inspired by things considered geeky, including television shows, books, comics and video games.

    The book consists of 30 patterns divided into the categories of Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Comics & Manga, and Other Stuff. The patterns range from easy to intermediate with the Browncoat sweater or lace shrug probably being the most complicated projects. The patterns range from small accessories such as fingerless gloves, hats and scarves to larger items like shawls and sweaters. There are quite a few toys to knit in the book as well as a pair of socks. There is a brief Tips & Techniques section at the back of the book but it’s more of a refresher than a how to knit section. I’d suggest getting a book dedicated to learning to knit if don’t already know how before starting.

    I had a lot of fun going through this book. The projects are inspired by things near and dear to my heart. The photos were even shot in Neil Gaiman’s house, which made me do a fangirl squee when I read it. My favorite projects were the most wearable ones, such as the Vampire Academy inspired Alchemy Scarf and the Firefly Browncoat Sweater. There’s a really beautiful cable shawl inspired by Melissa Marr’s Wicked Lovely series. Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog is represented by a pair of really cute, striped arm warmers. There are a pair of vests for men and woman from The Big Bang Theory that look quite cute and wearable. The Space Princess Hat and Cape (seen on the cover) are really cool but are items that I, personally, would not wear and therefore I would not make. I was kind of disappointed in the Dr. Who inspired Time Traveler Scarf. The colors are more pastel than the Dr. Who scarf I am used to and I would not have made the connection if not for the project title. There are also some fun, little projects like a checkerboard and a Gryffindor bag that would make good gifts.

    While not all of the projects in this book are the most practical (do I want my feet to look like hairy hobbit feet?), it was certainly fun to go through this book and see projects that were inspired by some of my favorite movies, games and comics. For me, this gets a little bit of a lower rating because I can’t see myself, personally, wearing too many of these knits. However, I can see a lot of these projects appealing to others. Fans of cosplay will find lots of cool, inspiring things to make in this book.

    Filled with a wide variety of patterns, Knits for Nerds is a great gift for the fanboy, fangirl or crafty person in your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1