BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Knitter's Life List: To Do, To Know, To Explore, To Make

Average Rating 4
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

I get so mad when I see reviews written here from someone who di

I get so mad when I see reviews written here from someone who didn't like the Free Book Friday selection!!! This rating is not to rate B & N but the book itself. Why are you giving a book you know nothing about a poor rating just because you don't like the select...
I get so mad when I see reviews written here from someone who didn't like the Free Book Friday selection!!! This rating is not to rate B & N but the book itself. Why are you giving a book you know nothing about a poor rating just because you don't like the selection that was provided for Free Book Friday! You won't like everything offered every week! Just get over it and move on. If it makes you so mad, stop looking for free books! It's nice that they offer a book for free every week. THEY DON'T HAVE TO!!!!

posted by MovieGirlSS on November 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

and just when i thought "free fridays" couldn't sink a

and just when i thought "free fridays" couldn't sink any lower. yet another shove toward kindle

posted by 4785996 on November 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    I get so mad when I see reviews written here from someone who di

    I get so mad when I see reviews written here from someone who didn't like the Free Book Friday selection!!! This rating is not to rate B & N but the book itself. Why are you giving a book you know nothing about a poor rating just because you don't like the selection that was provided for Free Book Friday! You won't like everything offered every week! Just get over it and move on. If it makes you so mad, stop looking for free books! It's nice that they offer a book for free every week. THEY DON'T HAVE TO!!!!

    43 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    What a find!

    I bought this as a gift for an avid knitter in my family and thought it was a great combination of patterns, resources, experiences and inspiration! She was delighted with it! I just wish I could find a similar book for people who sew!!

    29 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    I am giving this book a 5 star rating to offset the IDIOTS who g

    I am giving this book a 5 star rating to offset the IDIOTS who gave it one star just because they don't like it as a free friday selection. GROW UP people! The world does NOT revolve around YOU and YOUR interests. AND the author of this book does NOT deserve a bad rating for her book just because you are a spoiled brat throwing a temper tantrum! Please complain on the NOOK facebook page or somewhere else that doesn't mess with the book's rating if you have to complain about not getting your own way.

    25 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    It is a FREE book

    But no one guaranteed you were going to love all 52 books. If that were possible they would be using that talent on something a lot bigger than giving away a book once a week. Look, I didn't throw a hissy fit when they gave away that ESPN book or that silly book about baseball or what ever other book that wasn't my particular niche. My loving advise to you is shake it off and go one. But if you want to complain, take it to customer service. Send them an email or take advantage of their toll free number. No one is monitoring these posts. No one here on these pages can do anything about your justified concerns, you are just shouting to the wind. If you really want to make a change take it to customer service where it can be directed to the people who can make a change. Thanks :-)

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Free friday knitting book

    You cannot have your books soley on free Friday. I am a crocheter but I like this book. Thank you. As for the whiners here rating a book for free Friday , that's why I gave it a five star review. Fyi , knitting books can be very very expensive, but the whiners won't know that as they want a kissy harlquin romance. Grow up and just ACT like you know something. Please.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Thank you!!!

    Thank you B&N for this book on knitting! This is such a refreshing choice. Pooh on the reviewers who only want fiction, life and reading involve more than just fiction! THANKS AGAIN!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Full of interesting information on yarn and knitting, with lots

    Full of interesting information on yarn and knitting, with lots of new ideas and things to try. Not a pattern book, but a wonderful resource book for many crafts. I noticed that this book was not marked down to free at other book sites, so I think this is a real deal.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Great book

    Great book.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Good read

    I enjoyed this book. A refreshing read! I crochet much more than i knit. Even so i enjoyed this. As a side note to negative reviewers: everyone has different interests. While you might want to read a romance, someone else wants a mystery novel, and someone else enjoys fantasy. So please understand that barnes and noble is just trying to include everybody's interests.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Good choice!

    Good choice!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2013

    Great book

    Loved this book. I have been knitting for over 40 years & I learned a lot of new tricks & picked up a lot of fun ideas for future projects. I would highly recommend this book to anyone that has any interest in knitting, weaving, spinning, crocheting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2013

    Great book for any level knitter. MUST HAVE BOOK!

    Great Resourse and foundational book for all levels of knitting. Mega knitting information, all explained in an easy, sensible format. Love the basic explainations for all different types of yarns.... Extensive review on wools and all natural fibers, what the are, where thy come from and why you might choose one fiber over another for your knitting. Excellent "how to" for an experienced knitter as well as for a beginner. Thank you for such a valuable knitting guide.
    Jean- Lake Ontario shore.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    WOW!!!

    Wow! Just Wow. Great book. What a great find on the free friday blog. Delicious reading for a fiber junky. Think I'll get a few hard copies for gifts.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    I enjoy the variety of "Free Fridays"books that you of

    I enjoy the variety of "Free Fridays"books that you offer to us nook owners, and nook app users.
    Today's knitting book was great fun.  I even shared the book info with another knitter too.  
    For books like his one, I prefer to look at them on my iPad.  For just plain reading, I prefer to use my original 3G/wifi nook.
    Kudos B&N!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Love it

    If you are a knitter this book gives so much inspiration it's unasuming from the outside but stuffed to the edges with ideas. This is not a knit by pattern book though it does teach you some knitting. But for the most part his is a dream with it book when you are between projects or your ufo's are haunting you or you just want an excuse for buying a bit of yarn you fell in love with, this book will helpyou find one. I open it up many times you can just read anywhere no need to go from front to back . It also gives a huge amount of resources, websites, books magazines and fellow knitters that have new and old tricks to teach us. I learmed to knit when I was 7 that was 50 years ago and I know a lot about knitting and this book is a real joy for me ! There are some tips and tricks in it and it will encourage you to try new things and gives you a ton of reasons to buy new yarn or to bust through you stash! The ebook has links that take you straight to the talked about sites!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Great resource

    I did not think I would like this book after I put it on my nook. But it turned out to be a well written informational read about authors, products, fibers and with great resources.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2013

    Best Overview of the World of Knitting

    I love and appreciate this book, so much so that I upgraded from the B&W Nook to the Nook HD so I could see everything in color. After being away from knitting for decades, Steege refreshed me on the stitches, local shops, and festivals as well as the tremendous variety of yarns that are available today!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Very inspirational

    The Knitter's Life List has a lot of suggestions for new knitting skills and tips for using them. It also has lists of references, books, and websites to start you on your way to improving your knitting and trying new ideas. I highly recommend it to any level knitter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    I happened to be thrilled with this selection and am glad to see

    I happened to be thrilled with this selection and am glad to see that I am not alone. I really think it is funny how people can complain about something they get for free.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    To "what a load of crap"

    Your review cracked me up...exactly what business are you taking to Amazon? You do realize your complaint is about a free book,right?!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3