Customer Reviews for

Knitting Under the Influence

Average Rating 3.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

deep character study

Her fairly successful actress twin sisters allow Kathleen Winters to live off of them until she opened her mouth to a reporter while drinking. Angry at her, they toss her out for revealing family secrets that hurt their careers. --- Animal rights activists assault re...
Her fairly successful actress twin sisters allow Kathleen Winters to live off of them until she opened her mouth to a reporter while drinking. Angry at her, they toss her out for revealing family secrets that hurt their careers. --- Animal rights activists assault research scientist Lucy Cameron for her lab¿s practices. The protests lead to Lucy pondering whether she is doing the right thing at work and with her sanctimonious boyfriend. --- Sari Hill works at an autism clinic. She has doubts about helping a particular patient when the man who bullied her brother in high school arrives with autistic son. --- These three friends discuss right from wrong as each knits a special item of clothing knowing deep in their respective souls that life is the SAME AS IT NEVER WAS. --- This deep character study uses knitting as a powerful metaphor on life with the end products representing the personalities of the trio as well as the path one step (stitch) at a time to get there. The key to this strong tale is that the threesome seems genuine whether they knit, indulge in sex or cuddle a kitten as they discuss their relationships, their troubles, and their aspirations. KUI is the complete package thanks to the complex female membership and a story line that enables readers to hear the clicking of the needles. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It did get better at least

This starts off really slowly and I nearly gave up on it, but since I'd already purchased it, I gave it a shot. The story jumps back and forth between the three main characters, following the ups and downs in their various relationships. I wouldn't really suggest to any...
This starts off really slowly and I nearly gave up on it, but since I'd already purchased it, I gave it a shot. The story jumps back and forth between the three main characters, following the ups and downs in their various relationships. I wouldn't really suggest to anyone that they buy this book, but if you already have it, stick with it. It's not a complete waste of time.

posted by a_frequent_traveler on February 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    deep character study

    Her fairly successful actress twin sisters allow Kathleen Winters to live off of them until she opened her mouth to a reporter while drinking. Angry at her, they toss her out for revealing family secrets that hurt their careers. --- Animal rights activists assault research scientist Lucy Cameron for her lab¿s practices. The protests lead to Lucy pondering whether she is doing the right thing at work and with her sanctimonious boyfriend. --- Sari Hill works at an autism clinic. She has doubts about helping a particular patient when the man who bullied her brother in high school arrives with autistic son. --- These three friends discuss right from wrong as each knits a special item of clothing knowing deep in their respective souls that life is the SAME AS IT NEVER WAS. --- This deep character study uses knitting as a powerful metaphor on life with the end products representing the personalities of the trio as well as the path one step (stitch) at a time to get there. The key to this strong tale is that the threesome seems genuine whether they knit, indulge in sex or cuddle a kitten as they discuss their relationships, their troubles, and their aspirations. KUI is the complete package thanks to the complex female membership and a story line that enables readers to hear the clicking of the needles. --- Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Characters were very flat and predictable. Not impressed.

    Characters were very flat and predictable. Not impressed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    I re-read this one!

    I loved this book about some misfit girls and their crazy shenanigans... I laughed and cried, and I read it over and over.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    It did get better at least

    This starts off really slowly and I nearly gave up on it, but since I'd already purchased it, I gave it a shot. The story jumps back and forth between the three main characters, following the ups and downs in their various relationships. I wouldn't really suggest to anyone that they buy this book, but if you already have it, stick with it. It's not a complete waste of time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of My Absolute Favorites!

    I love this book. I love how the author can make you connect to three different heroines all at the same time. I was so anxious to get to the next part of the book that I stayed up all night reading it through in one sitting...then I read it again just to make sure that I didn't miss something. I LOVED IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    once i got into it, i loved it

    It took a while to get into the story. It flips between the perspective of each of the main characters, which at first was a bit of a drag and a little hard to follow. About a third of the way into it, I was hooked. I finished the rest of the book that same day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    Wish I had passed

    I bought this book thinking it would be a really easy, fun read. Yes, it was easy, but it was so predictable that it was completely boring and lost my interest quickly. I LOVE a great "girlfriends" book, but this was over the top and WAY too long for the story it told. I ended up skimming about the last 75 pages that didn't need to be there. I would not recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Unappealing characters

    I could get past the second chapter. The character kathleen was so obnoxious that i couldn't maintain enough interest to make it any further into the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    A nice, light read

    You would think that a book with 'knitting' in the title would have more knitting in the story line. Sadly, there was not a lot of knitting in this book, almost as if it were an afterthought during editing in hopes to draw in more potential readers.

    That being said, if you are looking for a light, fun, romantic chick book, then this would be a suitable choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Knitting Under the Influence

    This book has been on my to be read list for a while and I can't understand why, because Claire LaZebnik has never failed to deliver anything less than an amazing book. I love how cute the title of the book is. It is apt and applies to the women in the story, Kathleen, Sari, and Lucy are best friends and knitting buddies. Each has a different personality and traits, but are always there for each other. It's a great story of camaraderie, knitting, and finding love along with what you are truly looking for. You definitely will not regret picking this one up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Sex and the City knits

    There is a little more to this story than just a light romance, but it still stays on the lighter 'fun' side of knitlit. Sort of a Sex and the City for knitters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    Horrible do not waste your money

    I absolutely loved "If you lived here you would be home" and was excited to read another by this author. What a terrible waste of money. wish I could return it from my nook and get my money back.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Worth it

    I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    Enjoyable

    I really enjoyed this book -- good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    It's ok

    I enjoyed this book it's funny and sweet when you get past the few grammer errors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    fun chick lit

    this book was predictable, yet enjoyable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2007

    Can't wait for friends to read so we can discuss!

    I read this on a recent road trip and I loved it! It kept making me want to stop and knit but I couldn't I needed to read on! I really enjoyed this 'quick' read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2007

    Not about knitting

    Was looking forward to see how knitting influenced the characters lives but knitting wasn't the main topic. Having cocktails and whining was the topic. More like 'Sex and the City', less about knitting influences.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4