Customer Reviews for

Knocked Up: Confessions of a Hip Mother-to-be

Average Rating 3.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Book

I literally laughed out loud almost the entire time I was reading this. Great book all around.

posted by 3113597 on December 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Terrible book

I rarely dislike a book so much that I am driven to write a negative review about it, but this book is AWFUL. Eckler sees herself as a Carrie Bradshaw type of person, but she is not, she is just a perpetually whiny immature person who cannot think of anyone besides her...
I rarely dislike a book so much that I am driven to write a negative review about it, but this book is AWFUL. Eckler sees herself as a Carrie Bradshaw type of person, but she is not, she is just a perpetually whiny immature person who cannot think of anyone besides herself. And the thing is, I really wanted to like this book. I am pregnant at the moment, and by chance, my due date is the same as hers in the book.

What really infuriates me is that at no point in this book does she ever ask the question, "what is best for my child"? She worries about gaining too much weight, goes to McDonalds every day, and when her doctor tells her that her smoking may lead to having an underweight baby, she muses if that means that she wouldn't get as fat. This is not a hip mother to be.

If at some point she grew into motherhood, put her baby before herself, if she had any redeeming qualities that I could sympathize with, I might not have put this book in the trash bin (I couldn't in good conscience pass this book on for anyone else to read). However, none of that happens and off to the landfill it goes.

posted by readerindc on April 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Awesome Book

    I literally laughed out loud almost the entire time I was reading this. Great book all around.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    A reviewer

    I ran across this book searching this site at the beginning of my pregnancy & although the title made me uncomfortable at first, I decided to go look at it in the store...I fell in LOVE!!! I couldn't put it down! I read it at home, at work, anywhere & anytime I had a free second. I could TOTALLY relate to everything she was thinking & everything she did. The author DEFINITELY knows a thing or two about crazy pregnant chicks! It had some odd turns in it, but I truly adored it. I gave it to my mother and she fell in love with it too. If you don't have friends who are pregnant with you and those medical books are freaking you out, BUY THIS BOOK! It's like having a pregnant best friend with you always!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2007

    If you are expecting a baby or know someone who is...buy this book!

    I found out I was pregnant and a good friend bought me this book. We (both prego) read it together and LOVED it! There are so many truths! How can I draw a visual without ruining the book? I would say this book is Sx in the City for the pregnant Chick! Loved it. Really bummed that I'm done reading it! It's that good. get it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2006

    AMAZING

    this was a fantastic book that made me literally laugh out loud. A friend recommended it to me and after I read the novel I was very sad that a. it was obver and b. Rebecca hasnt written any other books! Now I'm afraid i will never find another novel to live up to this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2006

    great read

    A great summer read, light, funny, and easy to read. i'm hope that there will be a book number two!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2006

    a great present...

    At a baby shower, I was given two copies of this book. I guess it's making it's way around the pre- mommy book clubs or something. Even though I was so far into my pregnancy, I decided to read it. It was great for me, because nearing the end of your pregnancy, you really need a laugh. Eckler is definitely a writer for pregnant busy people like me who are wondering how to keep their jobs, homes in orders, while taking care of a first time baby! I laughed out loud so many times and I have reccommended it to ALL my pregnant friends and even friends who jsut have baby on the brain. They'd enjoy it too! I really loved the book Knocked Up, you should all check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    Great Book

    I could totally relate to so much and I loved how certain people in the book never really had a name. I am that way too. Well for me is cause I foget peoples names but I turely loved this book and reccomend it to others

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2005

    Couldn't stop laughing!

    I haven't had a baby, but I've had friends who went through some of these situations! I thought this book was a nice,light,funny read...nothing too serious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2005

    great book, hilarious

    This book made me laugh out loud nemerous. I don't feel ready to have baby, and am constantly freaking out...over everything. Read this book. It will easy your worries a million times, it will make you laugh at yourself...and Rebecca Eckler truly knows how to tell you to turn a bad experience into a joyous one (I want to definitely read her follow up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    Fabulous book

    As a socially active, professional, pregnant woman, I can't tell you how many scenerios in this book rang true with me. I intended to read it month by month in parallel with my own pregnancy, but instead read the whole book over one weekend. A refreshing change to all other pregnancy books I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1