Customer Reviews for

Knowing God by Name: A Girlfriends in God Faith Adventure

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    I have spent many years researching the Names of God and Who He

    I have spent many years researching the Names of God and Who He is. This book has taken me to a whole new level of understanding; deeper and more personal and intimate. I'm learning Who God Is... and Who He Is... to me!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2014

    In reviewing this book ¿Knowing God By Name¿ , was such an ins



    In reviewing this book “Knowing God By Name” , was such an inspiration. This book provided details in scriptures, friend-to-friend experiences, and prayers; the time for reflection was a great idea for reviewing the week-by-week reading. Learning and reading about the names of God helps the reader to understand the value and the significance of the names and its meaning in our lives. What I love about this book is that I can relate to the stories that was shared, the experiences of knowing God as my “Yahweh Yireh (the Lord will provide) more and more each day. This book is perfect for women’s ministry, pastor’s wives, mothers, and study on the names of God. I do recommend this book with everyone. 
    “I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    To start out, I will tell you that I am not the biggest fan of d

    To start out, I will tell you that I am not the biggest fan of debotionals... I usually end up doing a day or two, or maybe a week if I'm lucky, and then forget about it.
    I find a lot of them - especially the ones aimed toward women -- rely too much on emotions and how the Bible can relate to them when
    they are feeling a certain way. While I do enjoy finding verses that make me feel better when I am emotional, I like to read the Bible to
    know the Bible, and to understand the history and the meaning behind it, in context.This particular devotional is called "Knowing God By Name, A Girlfriends in God Adventure". At first glance, I wanted nothing to do with it.
    But as I read the description, I realized that the authors, Sharon Jaynes, Gwen Smith, and Mary Southerland were on to something
    intriguing. The devotions are a very good mix of history and fact mixed with relevance and relation. Each day talks about a name given
     to God in the Bible. It tells what it means and where it comes from, and also how it relates to our lives today.if you want a good mix of fact and relation, I would suggest this devotional. I thoroughly enjoyed learning about all the names of God
    in the Bible and what they meant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Jesus freak 102

    I hope you are having a wonderful Christmas!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karen Pirnot for Readers' Favorite What a gem! Shar

    Reviewed by Karen Pirnot for Readers' Favorite

    What a gem! Sharon Jaynes, Gwen Smith and Mary Southerland have given the reader a provocative read in Knowing God By Name. The book is part of the Girlfriends in God Faith Adventures series and it will not disappoint. The book is divided into eight sections, each explaining the various names by which God is known. Then, there are personal stories to capture the heart and allow the reader to think about how God's various names can be applied to modern day beliefs and cultures. Stories are applied to daily life such that they are current and meaningful.

    One of my favorites was the Day 2 story in which one of the authors related how the movie "The Wizard of Oz" took on new meaning for her. While experiencing the initial enchantment of the story's characters, the author then became disillusioned to discover that the Wizard was simply a fake. The lessons of the Bible are then related as they apply to this common life experience.

    There are no weak stories in Knowing God By Name. Each of the authors speaks from the heart and her message comes through loud and clear. Some readers will feel a sensation of being back home in their belief systems while, at other times, there is a fresh look at how God's messages are relevant to the world today. The book is meant for women and it is a powerful reminder that no matter how defeated and discouraged one may become, there is always a way out. Once out, there is a feeling of empowerment which will carry you to the next challenge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2013

    We talk about God. We think we know Him. We belt out songs with

    We talk about God. We think we know Him. We belt out songs with titles like "El Shaddai" and "Adonai." We skim over writings that use names like Yahweh and Abba. We've seen and heard these names so many times we don't even notice them anymore…and the truth is, we may not even have a clue what they mean.

    And those are just the "familiar" ones.

    God has a multitude of names…each of them referencing yet another awesome aspect of His grace, mercy, love, healing, and power. All the things He does for His people every day, every hour, every moment.

    Do you know Him by name? How many? And do those names mean to you what they should? How can you glory in His holy name if you do not know that name?

    KNOWING GOD BY NAME, written by the "Girlfriends in God," (Sharon Jaynes, Gwen Smith and Mary Southerland) is an eye-opening, soul-refreshing, heart-stirring look at God's character—His multi-layered "personality" attributes…His astounding mercy and grace and love for us, His children. It's a down-to-earth, easy-to-understand study of those names and what they mean—not only by literary definition, but by their purpose in our lives. What a wonderful blessing these ladies have shared with the world! Don't miss your turn at the table. Knowing God by Name will change your world and take your relationship with your Father to a whole new level.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sharon Jaynes, Gwen Smith, and Mary Southerland  in their new bo

    Sharon Jaynes, Gwen Smith, and Mary Southerland  in their new book, “Knowing God By Name” published by Multnomah Books offers A Girlfriends in God Faith Adventure .




    From the Back cover:  Redeemer. Healer. Provider. How will you encounter God today?




    Throughout Scripture, God reveals His complex character by identifying Himself by different names—names that shed light on who He is and how we should relate to Him. In this engaging book, the popular Girlfriends in God devotional team introduces you to forty of those names, each of which invites you to glory in a different aspect of our amazing God.




    In each day’s reading you’ll encounter personal, inspiring stories and biblical truths that lead you to a deeper understanding of who God is and what He does on your behalf. You’ll be fed with Scripture that you can apply to your unique circumstances. And most important, as you come to know Him by name, you’ll draw closer to God and learn to trust Him more fully.




    Perfect for personal study and for discussing with girlfriends, prayer partners, or small groups, this eight-week daily devotional features:
    • a weekly guide to deeper study, reflection, and prayer
    • creative ideas to help you apply new insights
    • journaling pages
    • a pronunciation guide for God’s Hebrew and Greek names




    Begin today with Knowing God by Name—and grow closer to the One who knows you by name.




    God told Moses, ““I appeared to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob, as God Almighty, but by My name LORD I was not known to them.  God wants us to know Him and the only One who really knows God is God so He reveals Himself to us through the names He uses to call Himself.  ”Knowing God By Name” is a devotional broken down into eight weeks, with each week including five devotional entries and a sixth-day Bible study to process what we learned for the week.  The authors use forty different names of God to explore the various ways God reveals Himself.  I think each name and daily devotional is, not only an eye opener, but a way for us to draw closer to God.  Each day we learn something new about Him so that should enhance our relationship with Him.  This is not a book that you will throw upon a shelf when you have finished it.  This is a book that you will come back many times to refresh when you are feeling low.  I recommend reading this book and giving it as a gift to friends and family.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    "Infinitely holy. Intimately personal. Our God wants not on

    "Infinitely holy. Intimately personal. Our God wants not only to be worshipped but to be known."
    When thinking about the names of God, which ones come to your mind? Maybe it is the name Jesus as we remember His humble birth in Bethlehem to His death on the Cross at Calvary. Maybe it is the name Messiah as we think of the promised one and deliverer. Maybe it is the name Emmanuel, which is interpreted "God with us". Knowing God By Name is an 8-week Bible study that goes through forty different names of God. The unique style of this read is the authorship. It is written by three ladies who have individually studied these names of God. They expound upon God's love and mercy, as they challenge us to get to know God on a deeper level. Whether you are looking for a guide for your new Bible-study at church, or maybe it is just for you and three of your closest girlfirends--pick up a copy and jump right in. As we take a step back, why would we not want to get to know God in a deeper and more intimate way, after all He is our Savior, our Lord, our Messiah, our Friend, our Comforter, and so much more! While I do not necessarily agree with every idea stated, I would recommend this book to fellow readers.

    I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah’s blogging for books and have given my honest review of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    I bought this book for myself and my spiritual mom - we love it

    I bought this book for myself and my spiritual mom - we love it and we are going to do it with our Thursday am bible study in a couple weeks. I am so happy that I had the opportunity to get this and learn. My brain and heart thirst for him and I want to learn as much as I can. Buy it, you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    A wonderful blessing each day I read it. Read, learn, prayer, a

    A wonderful blessing each day I read it.
    Read, learn, prayer, a fabulous devotional to really get even closer to God.

    Recommend it to everyone...not just women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    I bought this as a NOOK book and am absolutely loving it.  I kne

    I bought this as a NOOK book and am absolutely loving it.  I knew God had many names in the bible but reading about each one and it's meaning has increased my desire to know God even more and deepen my relationship with Him.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    . I am absolutely loving this book! It is guiding me into a d

    .


    I am absolutely loving this book! It is guiding me into a deeper understanding of God's heart toward me. I'm a church girl and have heard the names of God mentioned in sermons, but I never really understood them -until now! Gwen, Mary, and Sharon make me feel like I'm sitting on the couch with them sharing a cup of coffee as I read the manageable devotions each day. Used the last book in the series with a Bible study at work and we LOVED it. Can't wait to use this one as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1