Customer Reviews for

Knowing Your Value: Women, Money, and Getting What You're Worth

Average Rating 3.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Great Book For Women and Men

Before you read the customer reviews please just take a minute to remove yourself from politics.....This is not a "political" book and I kind of think that other reviewers are just against what Mika believes in personally and yes, her views are broadcast daily on Mornin...
Before you read the customer reviews please just take a minute to remove yourself from politics.....This is not a "political" book and I kind of think that other reviewers are just against what Mika believes in personally and yes, her views are broadcast daily on Morning Joe.

The book is great for men or women -- BUT -- I would say this book is a great read for any woman who finds herself constantly being paid less to do more, having more education than other co-workers but being paid less and how to go about getting what you want in a professional way. I know with the economy there are a great many unemployed persons out there and perhaps this is not the best time to use some of the guidelines and scenarios in the book to work for your advantage. However, when times are good again it is absolutely a tool to use to maintain your professionalism and integrity while getting the salary that you deserve. Again, I repeat, with today's economy and unemployment, maybe not the the best time to use this, but, when times are good again get what you deserve women! We pay more for insurance, many times put in more hours between home and office and have more education but are still paid less.
Again, please before reviewing the book, put politics aside. It again seems to me that people don't like the book and I question whether they even read it. They just don't like her political views and this is not what this book is about in any way, shape or form. Thank you Mika for writing this book!

posted by snoopygal1968 on May 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Dry

Somewhat pretentious. I wanted to like her but after this book I like her even less. As the only woman on the show she could be the shining star, instead her opinionated commemtary is just annoying.

posted by 1417623 on April 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    Great Book For Women and Men

    Before you read the customer reviews please just take a minute to remove yourself from politics.....This is not a "political" book and I kind of think that other reviewers are just against what Mika believes in personally and yes, her views are broadcast daily on Morning Joe.

    The book is great for men or women -- BUT -- I would say this book is a great read for any woman who finds herself constantly being paid less to do more, having more education than other co-workers but being paid less and how to go about getting what you want in a professional way. I know with the economy there are a great many unemployed persons out there and perhaps this is not the best time to use some of the guidelines and scenarios in the book to work for your advantage. However, when times are good again it is absolutely a tool to use to maintain your professionalism and integrity while getting the salary that you deserve. Again, I repeat, with today's economy and unemployment, maybe not the the best time to use this, but, when times are good again get what you deserve women! We pay more for insurance, many times put in more hours between home and office and have more education but are still paid less.
    Again, please before reviewing the book, put politics aside. It again seems to me that people don't like the book and I question whether they even read it. They just don't like her political views and this is not what this book is about in any way, shape or form. Thank you Mika for writing this book!

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    Dry

    Somewhat pretentious. I wanted to like her but after this book I like her even less. As the only woman on the show she could be the shining star, instead her opinionated commemtary is just annoying.

    5 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    All Executive Women Should Read This Book

    A cautionary tale of how even 'successful' women sabotage their chances in the workplace. Read it and then listen to yourself as you interact in your workplace.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    she writes like she talks,god alfull

    how anyone so shallow can write this dribble and feel good about it is amazing

    3 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    A book for all women! Especially young adults entering the workforce. As a retiree I loved it and wished I had it earlier. I recommended it to my daughter and it helped her make a change in her employment. Thank you, Mika.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    Knowing Your Value: by Mika Brzezinski is a self confession and

    Knowing Your Value: by Mika Brzezinski is a self confession and personal growth story about how a now prominent MSNBC morning show host discovered, demanded, and won compensation more inline with that of her peers. The story is complimented by the personal value stories and insights of over a dozen other leaders.

    Why You Should Not Buy This Book

    I dislike Knowing Your Value for several reasons. First, the book lacks sufficient method for actually determining your personal worth to an organization. Its premise is that an individual’s value contribution should be based on the compensation of others in similar positions. The shortfall with this argument is that each unique individual contributes differently to the organization and so offers his/her own value proposition. Additionally, there is an underlying assumption that the comparison employees have accurately identified and won their value – a premise that is often not true. Second, the book maintains a foundational assumption that the author was treated differently because she is a woman. While this may or may not be true, the comparison employees identified were noted as contributing significantly greater intellectual and creative works to their organization; suggesting that they were rightfully compensated more. Brzezinski discounts the fact that men, minorities, and other classes of people may also be undervalued, for the reasons she presents, and that everyone should methodically seek to identify and demand their value from employers.

    For its shortfalls in revealing how to calculate one’s personal value contribution and its faulted underlying logic and assumptions, I recommend you not purchase or invest time reading Knowing Your Value.

    Alternative Recommendation

    I believe it is highly important for an individual to know his/her value and to aggressively seek it. Identifying one’s worth is not a matter of simple comparison with others or a fight against perceived discrimination but rather a deliberate methodological evaluation of the value contribution of the individual to the organization followed by the positive assertion of that value to those who can correct any imbalance. Such a methodology is presented by Larry Myler, Chief Executive Officer of By Monday, in his book, Indispensable By Monday: Learn the Profit-Producing Behaviors that will Help Your Company and Yourself.

    All the Best,
    Nathan Ives
    StrategyDriven Principal

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Title misleading, but helpful tips for women seeking better pay in corporate America

    When I first saw this audiobook, I only saw the title Knowing Your Value in gigantic, capitalized, bold letters. I didn't see the small letters of the subtitle: Women, Money, and Getting What You're Worth. I was misled into thinking that the audiobook was about knowing your value in general. So I must warn readers that this audiobook is not about that, it's about how women can ask for higher pay in corporate America.

    Mika Brzezinski has done her homework. She's talked to major female players such as Tina Brown, Nora Ephron, Suze Orman and Arianna Huffington. She shares their advice along with her own. The main narrative is her own story of struggling for years in broadcast journalism until she landed her co-host position on the MSNBC hit show Morning Joe. Even after that milestone, she was still overworked and underpaid. As co-host she worked fulltime on the show, but the network still made her do other freelance assignments and nightly shifts, while knowing she was a working mother and paying the other male host fourteen times her salary.

    Brzezinski shares informative facts and figures. For instance, women tend to think they're lucky when they get a break, ask for less pay (they make 77 cents for every dollar a man makes) and generally operate on emotion and approval (one woman told Brzezinski how she received a pair of nice earrings and plenty of praise for her hard work instead of a raise or promotion). Women also tend to do most of the housework, take care of the family and elders even if they are the breadwinner, and shy away from demanding what they want or need. Besides giving the lay of the land on the gender wage gap issue, Brzezinski gives concrete tips and strategies for how to ask for more pay. For instance, before requesting a raise, hand your boss a single page of all your accomplishments and research what others in your position are earning.

    Though the audiobook is informative on a timely topic, it falls short on many fronts. Besides the misleading title, the writing is too simplistic and the same concepts are repeated as if the speaker had momentary amnesia and forgot what she just said. The biggest trouble I had with the audiobook was its reader, Coleen Marlo, who sounded robotic and contrived, similar to a voice on a commercial, nothing like the voice of the author. Ultimately, Marlo's voice didn't come across as sincere (perhaps because her voice and the author's are so different). Since this is Brzezinski's personal story, I found that glitch to be a serious problem. I'm not sure why the author didn't narrate her own book. Brzezinski qualifies as a professional speaker herself.

    Still, despite the audiobook's flaws, Brzezinski's cause of equal pay and the gender wage gap is of utmost importance, and one that working women should flag. Such women will find value in the author's words. Perhaps they should opt for her book instead.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    know your value or (how I learned to be assertive)

    The title, "know your value" is really not accurate; it should read how Mika Brzezinski learned to be assertive and not feel guitly about it. Being a catholic myself, if there is one thing that imbued into our subconscious is to feel guitly about anything and everything, especially when it comes to money. We are taught to be virtuous, and to see that we achieve virtuousness in our getting figuratively asses kicked and fat lips and other discolorations of our anatomy.
    Second, Mika Brzezinski did open my eyes as to some misconceptions I had: I thought wardrobe and makeup was provided to hosts. Even gameshow hosts get "wardrobe provided by"--even Dr. Phil gets a wardrobe provided. Third, I thought for sure that Ms. Brzezinski would get some credit for coming out of an ivy league college; apparently that at MSNBC does not get any credit or appreciation.
    Fourth, Ms. Brzezinski should get out of MSNBC; she is in an environment where she is trying so hard not be a diva, that MSNBC exploits her fear. Lastly, if the women at msnbc are the ones giving her the hardest time, then why not bring same sex suits against them?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    A must read for future female leaders

    Mika said everything that my friends and I have been thinking! Great read extremely thought provoking. Morning Joe has recruited a new viewer. Outstanding job Mika!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    This book was amazing. It really opened my eyes to what I am doing wring in the workplace

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Loved It

    Very interesting. She's a smart woman. Because of her, I kind of like Joe now. He's nice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Value??

    Why would I want to buy a book about a millionaire whining about a raise? No thank you. Your "value" is a lot lower with me.

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    An Arrogant Waste of Paper!

    This book proves how egotistical and arrogant she is, especially if you do not agree with her! I wonder who helped her write this? She is just as obnoxious on TV! Skip this one for sure!!!

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Loved this book! It helped me understand how to communicate my value

    Great message interwoven with interesting story-telling. I feel more empowered, confident, and prepared to enter into those tough conversations at work. Thanks for this tool - I enjoyed the read and feel passionate about growing in the work place (and helping other women to grow).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Quite enlightning

    My fiance bought this book for me as he was constantly telling me I didn't know my value. After reading this book I see myself exhibiting many of the traits that hold us back as women. And I only have myself to blame. I am grateful to Mika for writing this book for I feel truly inspired to better advocate for myself in the workplace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Relatable...

    This was an interesting read. Not in just the title but in getting inside of the mind of Mika. Watching her each day, I wouldn't have imagined that she, along with all the others that she interviewed for the book went through all that they did. I know the workplace is not perfect nor fair when it comes to women so it was a sort of sigh of relief to know that there are other women out there, at all levels who experience some of the same things I do on a daily basis.

    I found myself nodding in agreement with the things being said by the author and the interviewees. But I can't help but think that Mika was a bit 'complainy'. Her tone in relation to Joe and MSNBC seemed to blame them at some point. But she quickly realized that she was the issue, not them. I also found myself wondering how she went to work the next day after the publishing of this book? Something we women do, right? Worry about fallout.

    I commend Mika on this book and this effort. The message was clear. And although I at times in the past have passed judgement on her by watching the show, I have a new found respect for Mika... a new found respect.

    This is a good read aspecially if you are a woman in corporate America, making her way up that ladder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Great read for any females!

    Mika provides great insight on how to firm yet tender when dealing with any kind of business--from the board room to the lunch room. It really teaches women to realize their value is equally deserving to any man, be fearless but smart while remaining graceful and balanced--simply a lady who knows how to conduct business. MIKA, don't worry about the putz all the way in the back who is just pissed because no ones giving him attention. You have elevated to a higher echelon with your integrity and that is admirable. I would never watch Morning Joe without you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    I've recommended this book to all my girlfriends. I love that sh

    I've recommended this book to all my girlfriends. I love that she interviews women in business that I look up to and learn about some I've never heard of. There is a lot of insight to gain from women who have been there and gone through the struggles we ourselves face everyday at work and in our personal lives. There is a lot to learn from others mistakes and recognizing the ones you made yourself.

    As a side note: I don't know Mika from her TV show (I don't have cable) so the preconceived ideas about who she is haven't clouded my review about this book.

    The direct results after reading this book were life changing. I say this earnestly.
    I read this book before my last annual review. I knew I had a killer year and needed to know how to get what I wanted -- what I was worth. I needed to know how to go about it and needed the courage to speak up and not be afraid to hear "no". It was the first time I left the room with exactly what I wanted (and a little bit more). I think I threw off my boss with my new found strength but I think she was impressed all the same -- after all, she read this book, too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    I don't normally write reviews, but I have to say this book was

    I don't normally write reviews, but I have to say this book was a life changer for me! I saw in myself everything Ms. Brzeznski saw in herself and it spurred me to change my life! I've never been happier as a result. Women who feel they have missed their break should definitely give this book a read. It is quick to the point and eye-opening! You will see plainly and be ready to take action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    Great book.

    Very good book, fast read. I bought it for my daughters and neices and another young women. Then I read it myself and was shocked that she was telling my story. Every women in the work force should read this. Lots of insight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3