Customer Reviews for

Knowing Your Value: Women, Money, and Getting What You're Worth

Average Rating 3.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Great Book For Women and Men

Before you read the customer reviews please just take a minute to remove yourself from politics.....This is not a "political" book and I kind of think that other reviewers are just against what Mika believes in personally and yes, her views are broadcast daily on Mornin...
Before you read the customer reviews please just take a minute to remove yourself from politics.....This is not a "political" book and I kind of think that other reviewers are just against what Mika believes in personally and yes, her views are broadcast daily on Morning Joe.

The book is great for men or women -- BUT -- I would say this book is a great read for any woman who finds herself constantly being paid less to do more, having more education than other co-workers but being paid less and how to go about getting what you want in a professional way. I know with the economy there are a great many unemployed persons out there and perhaps this is not the best time to use some of the guidelines and scenarios in the book to work for your advantage. However, when times are good again it is absolutely a tool to use to maintain your professionalism and integrity while getting the salary that you deserve. Again, I repeat, with today's economy and unemployment, maybe not the the best time to use this, but, when times are good again get what you deserve women! We pay more for insurance, many times put in more hours between home and office and have more education but are still paid less.
Again, please before reviewing the book, put politics aside. It again seems to me that people don't like the book and I question whether they even read it. They just don't like her political views and this is not what this book is about in any way, shape or form. Thank you Mika for writing this book!

posted by snoopygal1968 on May 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Dry

Somewhat pretentious. I wanted to like her but after this book I like her even less. As the only woman on the show she could be the shining star, instead her opinionated commemtary is just annoying.

posted by 1417623 on April 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    Great Book For Women and Men

    Before you read the customer reviews please just take a minute to remove yourself from politics.....This is not a "political" book and I kind of think that other reviewers are just against what Mika believes in personally and yes, her views are broadcast daily on Morning Joe.

    The book is great for men or women -- BUT -- I would say this book is a great read for any woman who finds herself constantly being paid less to do more, having more education than other co-workers but being paid less and how to go about getting what you want in a professional way. I know with the economy there are a great many unemployed persons out there and perhaps this is not the best time to use some of the guidelines and scenarios in the book to work for your advantage. However, when times are good again it is absolutely a tool to use to maintain your professionalism and integrity while getting the salary that you deserve. Again, I repeat, with today's economy and unemployment, maybe not the the best time to use this, but, when times are good again get what you deserve women! We pay more for insurance, many times put in more hours between home and office and have more education but are still paid less.
    Again, please before reviewing the book, put politics aside. It again seems to me that people don't like the book and I question whether they even read it. They just don't like her political views and this is not what this book is about in any way, shape or form. Thank you Mika for writing this book!

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    A book for all women! Especially young adults entering the workforce. As a retiree I loved it and wished I had it earlier. I recommended it to my daughter and it helped her make a change in her employment. Thank you, Mika.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    This book was amazing. It really opened my eyes to what I am doing wring in the workplace

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Loved It

    Very interesting. She's a smart woman. Because of her, I kind of like Joe now. He's nice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Loved this book! It helped me understand how to communicate my value

    Great message interwoven with interesting story-telling. I feel more empowered, confident, and prepared to enter into those tough conversations at work. Thanks for this tool - I enjoyed the read and feel passionate about growing in the work place (and helping other women to grow).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Great read for any females!

    Mika provides great insight on how to firm yet tender when dealing with any kind of business--from the board room to the lunch room. It really teaches women to realize their value is equally deserving to any man, be fearless but smart while remaining graceful and balanced--simply a lady who knows how to conduct business. MIKA, don't worry about the putz all the way in the back who is just pissed because no ones giving him attention. You have elevated to a higher echelon with your integrity and that is admirable. I would never watch Morning Joe without you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    I've recommended this book to all my girlfriends. I love that sh

    I've recommended this book to all my girlfriends. I love that she interviews women in business that I look up to and learn about some I've never heard of. There is a lot of insight to gain from women who have been there and gone through the struggles we ourselves face everyday at work and in our personal lives. There is a lot to learn from others mistakes and recognizing the ones you made yourself.

    As a side note: I don't know Mika from her TV show (I don't have cable) so the preconceived ideas about who she is haven't clouded my review about this book.

    The direct results after reading this book were life changing. I say this earnestly.
    I read this book before my last annual review. I knew I had a killer year and needed to know how to get what I wanted -- what I was worth. I needed to know how to go about it and needed the courage to speak up and not be afraid to hear "no". It was the first time I left the room with exactly what I wanted (and a little bit more). I think I threw off my boss with my new found strength but I think she was impressed all the same -- after all, she read this book, too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    Great book.

    Very good book, fast read. I bought it for my daughters and neices and another young women. Then I read it myself and was shocked that she was telling my story. Every women in the work force should read this. Lots of insight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    A working mother encouraged to press on

    Encouraging & inspiring. I could relate to many situations mentioned in the book. I gained knowledge to help me out in the future with my own struggles in the workplace. Read this in two day & im still thinking about the issues that face women today here in the US. It is sad to think of these same issues in other countries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1