Customer Reviews for

The Knowledge of Good & Evil

Average Rating 5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    Any Thriller Lover Will Love This Book

    Ian is a complicated guy: He is in love with the extraordinarily beautiful and smart Angela, is studying Near Death Experiences and trying to rescue his beloved parents from Hell after they saved his life when they were in a car accident together. Author Glenn Kleier has given people who enjoy tense thrillers a reason to celebrate... The Knowledge of Good And Evil is imaginative, taught, tense and enough narrow escapes just to keep it real.

    Angela is the type of heroine we all love: she is bright, smart, listens to her own, interior panic button and saves Ian more than once from heading into straight folly. I'm not sure a book exactly like this has ever been attempted before. For one thing, the reader gets about 30 prompts to a web page to show the readers a particular painting or a scientist in the world of certain esoteric sciences. The reader doesn't have to wonder why a special church in Europe is so distinct.... instead of wasting 2 pages on trying to describe it, Kleier just takes the reader to a special website that has all the photographs on it. This gave the book extraordinary depth.

    Even though I tend to gravitate to literary novels and have recently been on a tear reading very old novels, The Knowledge of Good And Evil was a fun break from the more formal books and go on an old-fashoined (dangerous) treasure hunt that takes us all over this world and into others.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Hellaciously Good!

    Having read Glenn Kleier's first novel THE LAST DAY and loved it, I've been impatiently anticipating THE KNOWLEDGE OF GOOD & EVIL. I was thrilled to get an advance readers' copy and read it almost nonstop over the weekend. It's an extraordinary book. I simply could not put it down. Like THE LAST DAY it explores the dark side of spirituality and religion and is bolstered by fascinating research (and some amazing photos). And like THE LAST DAY, the book appears to be causing a stink (see the Publisher's Weekly review above, and some of the angry reader reviews here--yes, religion is a polarizing subject!). It's the story of a man who is obsessed with learning the truth about "the other side." Does it really exist? And if so, what does it hold for us when we die? The man, an ex-priest, was traumatized as a boy watching his parents lose their lives to rescue him from a terrible accident. He is broken spiritually and psychologically, and seems beyond the help of the beautiful woman who is both his psychiatrist and lover. He has to know if he will ever see his parents again, as his religion has always told him. But his religion has also let him down badly and he no longer trusts its promises. He must find the truth for himself, and he discovers a diabolical way to do it. It does not lead him to the answers he expects. It takes him on a harrowing and thought-provoking journey you will not soon forget. I won't spoil the fun by revealing more. This is a terrific, fast-paced story, and at times the suspense is almost unbearable. It is one of the few books I've read where I could never second guess what was going to happen next, and I had no idea how it would end. The ending came as a complete surprise, and it totally worked. It left me reeling and with a lot to think about. If you read this, set aside some time, you will not want stop. I cannot say enough about how different and engrossing the book is. Get it, read it, enjoy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another excellent read by this author

    Another fast paced, though provoking, action packed thriller from this author!Back to the Bible, and of course the Vatican for source material, add a daring, and dashing young ex-priest with a pure heart and a crisis of faith and you have an idea about what this
    book in about. Ian Baringer made a name for himself when he was still a priest by performing an act of heroism, and saving lives.

    Despite the acclaim heaped upon him by the church, he still struggled. Having lost his parents in a tragedy that could well have taken his life as well, he longed to see them again. He left the church and began a quest to find a way into the afterlife. His research and personal experiences convinced him that only
    by experiencing a NDE, near death experience, could he find them. They had lost their lives protecting him, saving his life. He felt that it was impossible to go on with his own life, until he did all that he could to thank them, even traveling beyond death itself.

    Angela was not only a co-worker, but his fiancee. They made up a paranormal investigating team for a popular television show. This and his own personal wealth gave him the tools he needed on
    his quest to journey beyond physical death. He had an ingrained goodness and belief in miracles, and Angela was a skeptic. This gave balance to his mission, and to his life. Then things got even more interesting.

    Friends in high places were able to help him, even as others were trying to take his life away for good. Are there some secrets that should never be revealed?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If you love religious thriller...

    The first time I heard about this book is when author, Glenn Kleier e-mailed me about it. I read the synopsis and watch the very greatly made book trailer and I couldn't wait to read it. So I am really excited when I received this book for review. It has all the element that I am looking for in a book at the moment. Suspense, conspiracy, doubts/questions about religion, faith and after life, murder, adventure and photos for reference. The later part was not in the book the files are too large, so you have to go to Kleier's site to check them out.
    I was worried that it would be one of those Da Vinci code wanna be, sure same concept but I like this book much better.

    The seeker of the Ultimate Reality, Ian Baringer is quite scary and borderline insane for the methods that he used to have a glimpse of the other side. Do you watch Supernatural? Dean did the same insane procedure (sort of) so he can communicate with Death. But anyway, I was really excited to find out what is going to happen next, and if Angela will support this idea. I wanted to find out Ian's account about Near Death Experience (NDE), the afterlife itself and the consequences it would take to prove that God exist. I've always have my own questions and theories about the whole thing (God, religion, death, heaven and hell) and with the death of a friend 3 months ago, the thought of it got stronger, especially when my mother-in-law had a disturbing dream about where he is.

    All religious mystery, suspense thriller have a pre-requisite; aside from a world changing revelation and church secrets, a book like this must have a religious zealot. It is not right that they are not there to infuriate me with their twisted ideas and self righteousness while they try to kill the hero. The Knowledge of Good & Evil was wonderfully written and immensely entertaining. Action-packed and mysterious with a great ending. If you are a fan of Robert Langdon, Tom Harris, Paul Sullivan and other conspiracy, religious-thriller heroes, you should check out this book. It would be a great addition for your collection.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    HIGHLY recommended for anyone with a thoughtful mind and questioning brain - READ THIS BOOK!!

    I've sat down to write this review many times, but have never been able to find the words to describe how it affected me. Finally I just decided to go for it and say what's in my heart.

    I'm not a religious person - I'm more of a spiritual one - but this book was amazing! It questions dogma but at the same time shows how absolute faith, even when considered to be insanity by outsiders, can be its own reward. Ian Barringer and his fiance Angela Weber run a television show that explores supernatural mysteries and generally uncovers that they are fakes in some way. Angela is a skeptic, but Ian - a former priest - is a true believer and intensely (one could almost say obsessively) focused on uncovering the truth of what lies beyond death, what happens in the afterlife. He believes there is a way to see what is in the afterlife and come back from it. First he tries intense meditation, but when that doesn't work he goes one step farther, and has himself flat-lined under medical supervision. What he experiences is amazing.

    A major part of the plot is also his seeking for the missing journal of Father Lewis Merton, who claimed to have visited the afterlife and returned with knowledge that would change the world. However, he died before he could announce his discovery. Ian follows in the footsteps of Merton's last journey trying to discover the missing journal. However, this all threatens the structure of the Catholic church; if people knew what happened after death, there would be no more faith and no need for churches. A top-secret branch of the Vatican, containing deadly assassins, is after Ian in order to stop him before he finds Merton's truth.

    This is a fast-paced story, lots of action and suspense, and add the ideas contained in this novel on top and it's like the best icing on the best cake ever. PLEASE don't miss a chance to read this book - you will not regret it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    New suspense thriller from the author of THE LAST DAY

    Ian Baringer may have stumbled upon the greatest discovery of all time. Or possibly, the greatest curse . . .
    As a child, Ian lost his parents in a horrific accident, seeing them give their lives to save his. He never fully recovered, burying pangs of guilt, clinging to religion's promise that someday he'd see his parents again.
    But now years later his demons have resurfaced. Despite the help of Angela Weber, the brilliant psychologist who loves him, he's in the grips of an obsession. He no longer trusts in an afterlife, he must know for certain that the soul survives death.
    And incredibly, he may have found a way. A risky means to steal across death's threshold and, if all goes as planned, to return with Knowledge of a Great Beyond. Knowledge that can be verified by anyone willing to follow his footsteps.
    The implications are staggering. Proof of a hereafter! Perhaps of God, Himself! A Knowledge to halt wars, to end forever the ancient animosities between Faiths!
    Or perhaps a Knowledge to doom us all . . .
    There are some who believe the living are not meant to know such things. A brotherhood sworn to protect death's secrets all costs. It will pursue Ian and Angela to the ends of the earth to stop them. And if Ian and Angela can survive, they'll defy the gates of heaven and hell to bring back a Knowledge hidden from the world since the dawn of creation.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    MUST READ

    Kleier kept me on the edge of my seat to the last page of this book. One of the few thrillers that taught me so much as I went. The research is awesome, it fits smoothly into the story and gives reality to the fiction. Mindbending finale that is not to be missed. If you have strong religious sensitivities you may want to stay away. But if you have an open mind and enjoy a rivetting, totally unpredictable plot with frights and thirlls, you will love this story. A book that goes on my permanent shelf. I will read it again.
    P.S. Kleier's first book is The Last Day and it is equally exciting and worthwhile. Highly recommend both and can't wait for next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Another great book

    If you loved The Last Day, you'll love Knowledge of Good & Evil.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Excellent!

    EXCELLENT novel. I have waited for years for another book by Glenn Kleier. Well worth it!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Mesmerizing!

    I was caught up in the story from the first chapter to the last. It is the best thriller I've read in many a year and I will read it again. If you're looking for something that will capture your imagination and make you really think deep, this will do it. Give yourself three uninterrupted days because you wont put it down. Wonderful!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Thrilling

    This book is thrilling. That’s the best word I can find to describe it. From the moment it starts to the moment it ends, the reader is kept at the edge of his or her chair, breathless to see what happens next.
    There is an intelligence to the plot that is lacking from a lot of the books that share a similar style. It is tempting to think of Dan Brown when we think of a thriller with a plot immersed in spirituality, but this book far surpasses the clichéd storied we’ve come to expect in this genre. What surprised me the most was the character development. That is not something that I had expected from a book that seemed to be plot-driven more than character-driven. I was glad to find that I had assumed wrong. Ian is a rich, complex character, well-crafted, with an obsessive streak that is a great contrast to Angela’s cooler, more analytical personality.
    The writing itself is wonderful. The author does a great job with the pacing, which can sometimes ruin a book like this. It’s always either too fast, where the characters know everything, or molasses slow where nothing but dialogue happens for chapters on end. This book has a nice balance, which made it a pleasure to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    A great journey.

    All the other very positive reviews of this book says it as it is - so I won't repeat the sentiment, just fully agree with them. I will say this though - when I found myself deep in the story, I was taken on journey to those dark places only given respect by Dante - that was until The Knowledge of Good & Evil came along - well done Glenn Kleier, a masterful piece, and a modern book for modern fears and aspirations.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    Highly Recomended

    Tuesday, December 6, 2011"The Knowledge of Good & Evil" By Glenn Kleier
    WOW! What a great read this was. It was suspenseful, exciting, and spiritual. A man loses his parents in a horrible accident and he vows, with the help of his love interest, Angela, to try and solve one of life's mysteries...to see if the soul does survive death. Ian wants to see his parents again and the steps he takes to try and do this are riveting. There is alot of danger on the road that Ian and Angela take to accomplish this task, plus Angela has her doubts as well. There is a group called the Ordo Arda Christi, who want Ian stopped, because if he is successful, and word gets out, it could be devastating to the Church. By use of NDE ( near death experience), Ian plans on traveling and finding the " Final Reality". Find a comfortable chair and take the trip with Ian.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    RIVETING THRILLER!

    I simply can't say enough how amazing this book was! A faced paced thriller through and through, the action continues at an alarming clip until the big pay-off at the end. Sounds like a lot of the best books I've ever read, but this one had something different. It was not just stimulating as a fast read, but intellectually gripping. The Author doesn't preach, but calls into question a number of philosophical and theological questions cleverly meshed into the plot. So often you'll have to pry yourself from the book to address these questions from your own perspective. It makes you think! How often does a suspense thriller make you think? Furthermore, the entire story is interwoven with real history. From Nazi intrigue in Prague to Renaissance Art and Medieval Necromancy, this clever incorporation of actual history only serves to grip you more. i have to recommend this to any fan of thrillers, this must be the best one I've read in 15 years.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    thought provoking exhilarating thriller

    Survivor guilt though he was only a child when his parents' died in a tragic plane crash years ago, Ian Baringer has spent the next couple of decades trying to contact them. Currently the former priest skeptically believes in the afterlife though his hope is weakening with years of failure to achieve his obsession. He works on the talk show Probing the Paranormal as an investigator while his lover agnostic psychiatrist Dr. Angela Weber is the show's host.

    Finally reaching a breaking point where he needs to know either way, the OCD Ian decides to prove the soul survives the body dying by experiencing a near death incident. A shocked Angela who loves the troubled Ian pleads with him to no avail. Determined, he will prove the theory either way, but soon finds the secretive Ordo Arma Christi brothers want him dead before he conducts the experiment as this Order believe they must prevent Ian from biting the apple.

    This thought provoking exhilarating thriller asks many questions about religious dogma, but is not limited to the afterlife as Glenn Kleier questions contradictions for instance between free will and forbidden fruits of knowledge. Ian is the key to the plot, as he suffers from survivor induced obsessive compulsive behavior that has worsened in reaction to his beliefs shrinking. Angelia is a loyal wonderful person who refuses to give up on the man she loves although she fears he is losing his mind to his obsession. The story line is fast-paced as the lead pair abruptly finds themselves being hunted by a cell who rejects the concept that man has the right to know anything about the afterlife.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    I was really moved by this book. The action and storyline were f

    I was really moved by this book. The action and storyline were fast paced and engaging and the clever way the author weaved real life locations, people and works of art really brought it to life for me. This was a story that made me want to pause the rest of life to complete it. When I was accomplishing day-to-day tasks between chapters I was thinking about the book.

    The travel to different locations at such an incredible speed made my head spin, and I enjoyed when the author took the time to describe them (ie Ireland and the Alps) because that made them more real. Some of the religious connotations and rites were lost on me and I fear I could never argue theology with the author (plus that may land me in the third realm of hell, anyway ;) but the story moved well without having to stop and research these to understand it. The simplicity and tact the author used to unveil his story made it engaging without being confusing.

    I wholeheartedly agree with the Knowledge of Good and that made some of the more fantastical elements of this story believable. Some of the netherworld travel was hard to picture but I was properly impressed/horrified by the depictions. I felt elated at the end of the book and thought about it long after. Overall the sense of Hope and Faith came through well in the story.

    Some of the clever touches and nods to the author's personal feelings/questions about religion in general made me laugh out loud. As did a few of the lines of dialogue.

    The only critiques are the character development (they seemed, at times, like pawns to further the story) and I wish they were a little more fully delved into because I was interested in them. At times the two main characters really came to life and I wanted that sense the whole way through the book. But looking back now the only things I can recall about them are the instances in their life that formed them and not any specific picture of them (except that Angela was hot and svelte.) The secondary characters were even less formed. This didn't detract from the story because I was totally absorbed in it but would have added more, I think. Also, the coincidence of Angela just happening to know Karl Barth's granddaughter and some of the other little coincidences kind of made me go, wait, what?

    Overall I would definitely recommend this book to a serious reader. Especially one that is questioning religion and how it can fit into everyone's life when their are so many diversities separating and spawning hatred in the world. Entertaining, smart, not preachy despite its obvious religious tones, fast-paced and you will be thinking about parts of this story long after you put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    Incredible journey

    At the 75% mark I simply could not put this book down. It has the most gripping, harrowing climax I have ever read. I finished out of breath and dying for this man's next work. Ten stars!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Are NDEs real?

    The Knowledge of Good & Evil - Review by Martha A. Cheves, Author of Stir, Laugh, Repeat and Think With Your Taste Buds

    'He stared into his empty glass, unsure where to begin or how much to reveal. He didn't want to frighten them into paralysis, but he couldn't mislead them. The sad part was, despite his best efforts to
    hide and protect them, their odds of survival were next to none. Meeting their anxious eyes, he began, "I don't know if what you do is sinful or not, these experiments of yours with Death and Hell. I'm a
    soldier, not a theologian, I leave the moral calls to God. But there are some who see such things as grave violations of God's Will. And unfortunately, they take it upon themselves to intervene." Ian
    nodded. "The man with the tattoo was a religious extremist. Do you know who he was?" "Not who. What. I must ask your oath not to repeat what I tell you." They gave their words. "This tattoo, it's the
    symbol of a very old sect. A brotherhood of militants cast off from the Church centuries ago, known as Ordo Arma Christi." Ian translated, "The Order of the Weapon of Christ." "Yes. Christ's Weapon. Ordo Arma Christi dates to medieval times. There's virtually no history of it outside the Bibliotheca Secreta -" he clarified for Angela, "-the Vatican Secret Archives. And once you hear its checkered past, you'll see why the Church keeps silent."


    Dr. Angela Weber and former priest Ian Baringer make up the team for L.A.'s #1 Late-Nite Talk Show Probing the Paranormal. If there appears a mystery, they investigate and solve it. Angela and Ian have
    been lovers since he left the priesthood, but due to information acquired regarding the death of his parents, Ian has decided he must go back and set his mind and heart straight regarding his beliefs. He proposes to Angela and promises that when he returns he will be a completely new and level headed man. Nothing could make Angela happier, but her dreams are put on hold after receiving information as to what Ian is really doing. It appears that Ian has tracked information regarding Near Death Experiences (NDEs) which will allow him to step into the depths of hell to rescue his parents. Their sin? Ian can only surmise that when they wrapped themselves around his 9 year old body to prevent him from burning in the wreck that took their lives, God judged it suicide . . .


    Following Ian as he proceeds with his self-inflicted NDEs will bring a few questions to your mind, at least it did mine. Are these events real or is it the mind playing tricks on the mind? Science will give us one answer, but religion may have another. Is there one TRUE religion or do all of them hold truth? The answers to these questions and many more are answered with double answers. One answer is the way Ian sees it through his NDEs. The other answer is the way Angela sees it through science. You be the judge of what is true.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2