Customer Reviews for

Known and Unknown: A Memoir

Average Rating 3
( 162 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(57)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Kala

A man who served his country with vigor and intelligence.

posted by 4311481 on January 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Change Your Policy B&N Or Lose Your Customers

Sadly I have no idea if Don Rumsfeld's book is great or garbage. All but one of 21 reviews is a complaint about the eBook price! As a veteran Nook owner, I TOTALLY agree with the other "reviewers" -- when the hard cover of a new release is less expensive than the eBook ...
Sadly I have no idea if Don Rumsfeld's book is great or garbage. All but one of 21 reviews is a complaint about the eBook price! As a veteran Nook owner, I TOTALLY agree with the other "reviewers" -- when the hard cover of a new release is less expensive than the eBook version, that's just assine. I'll wait for sanity to prevail to buy the electronic version, or I'll sign up on the library waiting list. I'm stopping my annual membership with B&N since no discounts ever apply to ebooks either; what's the point? Come on B&N, wise up. You insult the intelligence of your eCustomers. The unit cost for an eBook is miniscule, quit trying to gore the ox here!

posted by VoraciousPager on February 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 147 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    Change Your Policy B&N Or Lose Your Customers

    Sadly I have no idea if Don Rumsfeld's book is great or garbage. All but one of 21 reviews is a complaint about the eBook price! As a veteran Nook owner, I TOTALLY agree with the other "reviewers" -- when the hard cover of a new release is less expensive than the eBook version, that's just assine. I'll wait for sanity to prevail to buy the electronic version, or I'll sign up on the library waiting list. I'm stopping my annual membership with B&N since no discounts ever apply to ebooks either; what's the point? Come on B&N, wise up. You insult the intelligence of your eCustomers. The unit cost for an eBook is miniscule, quit trying to gore the ox here!

    23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Price of nookbooks

    I am sooooo disappointed with the price of nookbooks. I like using my nook but will go back to buying the hard copy at Amazon since they are usually less expensive than nookbooks.

    17 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Price

    I have complained several times about the NOOK Prices.

    Too high. They have less expense with Nook yet charge us more.

    Higher prices, less sales.

    DonCole

    15 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    Too Expensive for Nook!

    Want to buy - price is too high for Nook edition. No printing, paper, shipping, or profit to brick and mortar store. Why is the price so high? Makes me sorry I bought a Nook.

    13 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    Kala

    A man who served his country with vigor and intelligence.

    13 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    behind the scenes on the war on terror

    "known and unknown" is very hard to put down gives a great perspective on the war on terror. donald rumsfeld was at george w bushs side during 911 whean america faced its toughest challenges this intresting cabinate member gives intresting insights into some of the most historic figures who have shaped world history and world affairs I have found this to be a very intresting memoir rumsfeld has served with many presidents and world leaders lots of fasinating and intresting details. great gift idea for a friend or family member.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Why so high?

    Going to have to bring the price down before I buy it? Why do all your discounts exclude eBooks after selling us on how good Nook is?

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    Cost

    I agree with the other reviews in regard to cost. The eBook version by virtue that the product is electronic and requires no human effort to "ship" should be significantly less than the hardcover or paperback version. Can someone at B&N explain?

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    disheartened with my nook

    I agree with the others. When I bought my nook I was told that books were around $10.00 and it would be easy to download them. HA! I haven't been able to download any except to go into the store, so what's the point? I will not pay a higher price for a nook book no matter how badly I want to read it.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Bought at Costco

    I like Rummy, but I have a Nook and the Nook price should be cheaper than the hardcover.

    Hence I went to Costco for the hardcover, so B&N lost out on my purchase both ways.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    The Nook is Higher

    Are you kidding me. The cost to purchase the Nook version is higher than the hard cover. No Way! My wonderful Nook, may not be so wonderful afterall.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Pricing

    This might be a great read but I refused to buy it since it will cost me more on my Nook than the actural book. I am getting to the point that my Christmas gift was not such a great deal. I will wait till it comes out in paperback and buy it then.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Don,t buy

    Not going to buy it.....Nookbook costs more than buying online.

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    High Price

    I have had a Nook for some time. The prices of the NOOKbooks keep getting more expensive. If I did not have one, I would go back to buying hardcopy so that I could donate it to a school library when I finish reading it!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    good book

    I have a Nook-color and it has proven to be enjoyable , but I refuse to
    pay your prices for downloading books . other e-readers cost less to
    purchase & downloading books are less expensive also . I thought I had
    done enough research when my Nook was bought but I regret buying this
    e-reader because of your prices .

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    Agree with everyone- too expensive for Nook customers!!!

    I recently bought a Nook Color and unfortunately my excitement was checked by the reality that all these ebooks are just as expensive as a hardcover!!! That's a shame becaise now I just have a fancy device sitting there because the ebooks are too expensive!!!! What a rip off!!!

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    cost

    nook book more than hardcover - no way - I am changing to the Kindle

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    not a word about the Pat Tillman travesty

    I saw one review describing Rummy's book as "unflinching". It's unflinching in blaming everyone else in Bush's administration but himself (Rummy).So far, every Bushie who's written a book has done the same.A circular firing squad. So far the only one who i believe is Scott McClellen's book.Hey Rummy, what about Pat Tillman and that coverup??? That was as bad as it gets and you aren't man enough to even have one word in your trash piece about it.You've been making a lot of noise about trying to resign after Abu Ghraib hit the news.That really sounds phony. Well; the Pat Tillman debacle happened on your watch as Sec. of Defense.That's when you should have resigned.So far as I'm concerned you have absolutely no honor within yourself.How do i rate this book and the man lower than one star??

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    Too expensive

    Concur with a lot of the comments, and excuse me for really posting a comment about the price of the book versus the content.

    I won't be purchasing it from B&N, I'll go back to the old fashioned method and get from the library.

    I find it very hard to believe that a digital copy costs as much as a printed copy.

    shameful!!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    Highly recommended!

    It very hard to put down. It gives a great perspective on the war on terror. Donald Rumsfeld was at President George W Bushs side during 911 when America faced some really tough challenges. He tells us first hand what went on in the White House During these trying times. Great book...

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 147 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8