Customer Reviews for

The Kommandant's Girl

Average Rating 4
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good read

It was a great story, but I didn't care for the ending.

posted by MandyMona on March 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

not that great...

firs of all sorry for my english - its not my native language. thats true - i couldnt put down that book... but it just made me angry to be honest. author made so much historical mastakes! for example - Poland was fighting with Germans for a month, not for two weeks (l...
firs of all sorry for my english - its not my native language. thats true - i couldnt put down that book... but it just made me angry to be honest. author made so much historical mastakes! for example - Poland was fighting with Germans for a month, not for two weeks (like France). Emma/Anna is buyng oranges or drinking orange juce all the time - dureing war in Poland it was almost impissible to buy bread - what about oranges!!! author is writening also about fridges - first fridge in Poland was made in 1956!so long after the war... next thing - the Resistance movement - the book says that there was only Jews fighting for freedom, what about the Poles? in the book ther is only one polish freedom fighter and many Jews. in reality it was just opposite. i understeand that its kind of historical fiction but its just sooo unreal that it hurts, especialy that Pam Jenoff was vice consul in Cracow - she should study some more history beafore writening that book. shame...

posted by Anonymous on April 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    not that great...

    firs of all sorry for my english - its not my native language. thats true - i couldnt put down that book... but it just made me angry to be honest. author made so much historical mastakes! for example - Poland was fighting with Germans for a month, not for two weeks (like France). Emma/Anna is buyng oranges or drinking orange juce all the time - dureing war in Poland it was almost impissible to buy bread - what about oranges!!! author is writening also about fridges - first fridge in Poland was made in 1956!so long after the war... next thing - the Resistance movement - the book says that there was only Jews fighting for freedom, what about the Poles? in the book ther is only one polish freedom fighter and many Jews. in reality it was just opposite. i understeand that its kind of historical fiction but its just sooo unreal that it hurts, especialy that Pam Jenoff was vice consul in Cracow - she should study some more history beafore writening that book. shame...

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    This book was recommended by one of the staff. Glad I took it.

    This book was a great read. I was able to read it and not worry about setting it down and not be able to pick up where i left off. I really enjoyed this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Read

    I really enjoyed this book. I love reading historical fiction and this book talked about something that I never have read about and that was the Resistance. I think the book moved with great speed even thought the ending did not do the ending justice I wanted to know more. I wanted to know what happened so I guess I hope she writes another book to put my mind at ease with the main character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    Good read

    It was a great story, but I didn't care for the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent!!!  Highly recommended.

    Excellent!!!  Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Good but could've been excellent

    This story had so much promise but came up a bit short in the end, in my opinion. I wonder what factors led to the author cutting it short. That said, the writer definitely has a knack for telling a story which, combined with such an interesting theme, made this book enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    An easy read that I finished very quickly, partly because of it'

    An easy read that I finished very quickly, partly because of it's lightness and partly due to my interest in how the story would resolve. I loved how the characters were believable, no one was perfect and the ending wasn't exactly a "happy ever after" for all involved (not to give away spoilers). However, I felt as if the author took advantage of such a dark time and place in history. I felt the author's attempt at acknowledging the horrors of the holocaust, but those details were brushed over too quickly. I couldn't help but to feel that the author used the holocaust in order to tell a good romance, and that really bothered me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Fabulous story.

    Though it is fictional it is quite believable given the circumstances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Another good story

    If you like this story, you've got to read My enemy's Cradle by Sara Young.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Love this book!

    I really love this book! I couldn't put it down. This book is very intense and made tears come to my eyes at the end. This book has my seal of approval!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    While a sad story, it was quite enjoyable. A nice novel based o

    While a sad story, it was quite enjoyable. A nice novel based on dreadful history. The book should have been edited more closely - perhaps by a Polish speaker. The mistakes in the few Polish words and names that were used would have been easily caught by someone who knows the language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    Ordered New--Came Used.

    I was excited to get this book. I ordered it new, but when it was delivered, I was disappointed to see that it was a very used copy. I returned it to my local store. The sales person thought I had ordered it used and started to challenge my return, but fortunately I saved my receipt and showed him it was ordered NEW. I have since re-ordered another new copy and will wait for that delivery. I have never had this problem before from B&N.....as I have ordered MANY books from them, and am well aware when I am buying a used book. Normally I wouldn't have a problem w/a used book, but I want what I paid for. My low rating on this purchase is solely based on how B&N handled my order and my return. It has nothing to do w/the book itself.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2012

    Could have been so much more

    I liked this book, but felt that it was too short. There were so many places where the author could have expanded on the plot and provided more character development. The interaction between the kommandant and his assistant could have progressed at a slower pace, adding more tension and excitement to the relationship. Having their relationship continue, would have provided much more for the plot. But instead the novel stopped rather abruptly leaving me wanting so much more. I read the follow up to the book - The Diplomat's Wife and it rarely touches on the main characters from this book. I still give the book 4 stars, because it kept my attention and it was interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    Wonderful!

    I really enjoyed this book. I found it at my library. I purchased The Diplomat's Wife a couple days ago (on my Nook) and I just finished it. Couldn't put it down. I'm happy I accidentally read them in that order because that's the order they are supposed to be read in. I wish it was more obvious in what order to read the other books. I guess I'll have to google it.

    All around great book. I also like that the love scenes aren't porno crap. Tastefully done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    The kommandanytd gitl Thhe kkommamndants girl

    Very jnteesteriing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Amazing book!

    This book is a must read! Make sure you follow up with The Diplomats Wife when your done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Could not put it down!

    This book was incredibly engaging, and a great story about life's twists and turns. I recommend it highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Held+my+interest+and+recommend.+Needed+to+keep+reading+to+see+what+happens+next.++++Loved+it%21%21

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted March 9, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    You got to read this book. It is very interesting and I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Excellent Book

    This is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4