Customer Reviews for

The Kommandant's Girl

Average Rating 4
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good read

It was a great story, but I didn't care for the ending.

posted by MandyMona on March 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

not that great...

firs of all sorry for my english - its not my native language. thats true - i couldnt put down that book... but it just made me angry to be honest. author made so much historical mastakes! for example - Poland was fighting with Germans for a month, not for two weeks (l...
firs of all sorry for my english - its not my native language. thats true - i couldnt put down that book... but it just made me angry to be honest. author made so much historical mastakes! for example - Poland was fighting with Germans for a month, not for two weeks (like France). Emma/Anna is buyng oranges or drinking orange juce all the time - dureing war in Poland it was almost impissible to buy bread - what about oranges!!! author is writening also about fridges - first fridge in Poland was made in 1956!so long after the war... next thing - the Resistance movement - the book says that there was only Jews fighting for freedom, what about the Poles? in the book ther is only one polish freedom fighter and many Jews. in reality it was just opposite. i understeand that its kind of historical fiction but its just sooo unreal that it hurts, especialy that Pam Jenoff was vice consul in Cracow - she should study some more history beafore writening that book. shame...

posted by Anonymous on April 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    Good read

    It was a great story, but I didn't care for the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Fabulous story.

    Though it is fictional it is quite believable given the circumstances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Love this book!

    I really love this book! I couldn't put it down. This book is very intense and made tears come to my eyes at the end. This book has my seal of approval!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    Wonderful!

    I really enjoyed this book. I found it at my library. I purchased The Diplomat's Wife a couple days ago (on my Nook) and I just finished it. Couldn't put it down. I'm happy I accidentally read them in that order because that's the order they are supposed to be read in. I wish it was more obvious in what order to read the other books. I guess I'll have to google it.

    All around great book. I also like that the love scenes aren't porno crap. Tastefully done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Amazing book!

    This book is a must read! Make sure you follow up with The Diplomats Wife when your done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Could not put it down!

    This book was incredibly engaging, and a great story about life's twists and turns. I recommend it highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    You got to read this book. It is very interesting and I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Excellent Book

    This is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An amazing read!

    Jenoff first published book was amazing! Her ability to develop characters that one is immediate drawn to...I could not put the book down. I was also impressed by the amount of historical detail that was included in the novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2008

    A beautiful story.

    I absolutely loved this book. This author brilliantly portrayed a girl torn between two worlds. I honestly couldn't put it down! It's a book for anyone looking to get lost in a deep, intriguing story that not only makes you think, but helps you connect to the story on so many different levels. I'm extremely picky about reading books, and I never read a book twice but this one I would definitely read over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2008

    Couldn't put it down...

    I absolutely loved this book. I read this book three months ago, and I still think about it. This was an awesome book for a first time novelist. The author made the Nazi officer likable and you can find yourself very sympathetic to all of the characters. She finished the book with a very suprising ending. I couldn't put it down. I am not giving away my copy because I plan to read it again in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    Loved It!!!!!

    I loved this book, it is so well written!! And yes, my favorite character was the Kommandant. It was great how Ms. Jenoff described the Kommandant althoug he was a Nazi, so loving and charming, he was great!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    one of the best books i've read... ever

    this book is the perfect blend of romance and true life scenarios. it was very realistic as to what all in those dire times had to do to survive. it made me reflect on my own life and wonder if i could ever be brave enough to keep my morals and beliefs in tact under such circumstances. pam jenoff writes simply but her message has such a deep impact to the reader and makes you examine your life as it is and also how it could be changed in an instant and beyond your control. a phenomenal read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2007

    Great Book Pam

    I haven't read an entire book in years, but this book was hard to put down. I really enjoyed it. I was so nervous for Emma! great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2007

    A must read

    A wonderful book for a first time writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinating historical fiction

    In Warsaw, scholar Jacob and Emma Bau have been married three weeks when the blitzkrieg devastates Poland. The Nazi tanks quickly take over the Polish capital forcing Jacob into hiding amidst the underground resistance while leaving his nineteen years old spouse to survive in the rotting Jewish ghetto along with her parents. However, she is snuck out of the city and taken to the home of Jacob¿s Christian relatives in Krakow as the non-Jewish Anna Lipowski.---------------- Kommandant Richwalder meets Anna and demands she work for him as his personal assistant because he insists the former librarian can speak Polish and German fluently more important to him he is attracted to her. Though reticent, she reluctantly accepts reality that she has no choice she accepts the job. The Polish Resistance is euphoric as they plan to use Anna to obtain occupation information while the Kommandant wants to court her.-------------------- This is a deep look at WWII from the unique perspective of a young female Jew hiding as a Christian in Occupied Poland. Anna is a super lead protagonist whose struggles with her fear of being caught as a Jew or as a spy frightens her almost to the point of inactivity, but courageously tries to do the right thing for her people: the Poles. Her attraction to the Kommandant adds to her confusion. Readers who want a refreshing slant on the impact on individuals in occupied countries will want to follow the exploits of Anna as she struggles with loyalties involving religion and national origin as much as her personal desires knowing that a reckoning that could lead to the deaths of her loved ones seems imminent.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2