Customer Reviews for

Kon-Tiki: Across the Pacific by Raft

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Adventure Story with Lives on the Line

A tale of bold explorers risking life and liberty for an adventure and to prove an historical hypothesis. This is a great story that reflects 'freedom of spirit' in the world. Refreshing in this day of lazy, arm-chair, Monday morning quarterbacks.

posted by Anonymous on December 7, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Decent adventure book

The premise of the book is very interesting (how the Pacific Islands were settled) but the book itself grew a little repetitive. I lost count of how many times a large fish came to investigate the raft, or a fish jumped or swam up onto the raft and became a meal. I wo...
The premise of the book is very interesting (how the Pacific Islands were settled) but the book itself grew a little repetitive. I lost count of how many times a large fish came to investigate the raft, or a fish jumped or swam up onto the raft and became a meal. I would have liked the book more if it offered some insight into what the men on board were thinking. This was really not touched upon, instead I felt I was reading the same chapter over and over again.

posted by Anonymous on June 23, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2004

    Adventure Story with Lives on the Line

    A tale of bold explorers risking life and liberty for an adventure and to prove an historical hypothesis. This is a great story that reflects 'freedom of spirit' in the world. Refreshing in this day of lazy, arm-chair, Monday morning quarterbacks.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2002

    Adventure, Adventure, Adventure!!!

    You want adventure? You want risk? You want thrills? You want a mind-out-of-body experience while reading? Then, by all means, read KON-TIKI! No one believed he could do it. They all said he was crazy. He didn't even know how to swim! But he sailed across the pacific and proved his controversial theory. I've read it 4 times and will undoubtedly read it 4 times more - at least. It's an amazing, thrilling read. Please don't miss this book. It's one of those books you never forget.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2007

    Difficult Voyage by Brave Men

    This is a piece of history well told. Everyone said they would die in the attempt, but they arrived where they set out to go and proved what they wanted to prove.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 1999

    It's not just for guys!

    After a somewhat slow beginning, Kon Tiki is hard to put down. The book takes almost a documentary approach with Heyerdahl spending almost no time developing characters or leading the reader to extract a theme or moral. Just as well! The action is sustaining with ample discussions of storms, sea creatures, and challenges with the raft. Read the book and then remind yourself that it is a true story that took place during the Truman presidency. No sonar and accompanying yachts here--just pure adventure! Get a copy with photographs; they're terrific.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Kon Tiki is the tale of how Heyerdahl and five other courageous

    Kon Tiki is the tale of how Heyerdahl and five other courageous men set out to prove the origins of the Polynesian people, conquering the Pacific Ocean using only a raft. It is full of experiences and exploits that make one believe that the ocean in the Life of Pi is realistic. Heyerdahl expertly recounts the true ingeniousness of the primitive people's construction of the balsa raft with their own replica, and its astounding sea-worthiness. Kon Tiki is a whale of a tale that does not disappoint. I recommend this book to anyone who is in need of an excellent non-fiction read,  and I especially recommend this book to those with interests in anthropological studies. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Kon Tiki is an excellent book describing the adventure of six me

    Kon Tiki is an excellent book describing the adventure of six men crossing  the pacific in a raft.   I had to read a non-fiction book for 12th grade English, and Kon Tiki was no disappointment. It was a bit slow at times, but I recommend it to anyone who loves a good adventure. I highly recommend this book to people interested in anthropological studies, as Thor presents a solid case for his argument regarding the origins of the Polynesian peoples.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Highly recommended

    I read this many years ago and could hardly wait to get back to it. It is one of the best true adventure tales of the ages and I have given a copy to one of my grandchildren for Xmas along with another of Thor Heyerdahl's books. He is the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Fabulous!!!

    I am in the middle of the book and am so excited even though I know the outcome. It is beautifullly written. So uplifting. I highly recommend it to anyone eho has an adventurous heart. I recently saw the new movie of the same name and enjoyed it so much that I had to read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Angel

    *sits on the ground staring at the sky emotionless*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    AWESOME!

    THIS IS AN AWESOME ADVENTURE TAKING PLACE ON THE SURFACE OF THE PACIFIC.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    a great book

    this book proves that the indians were able to go all throegh the pacific without tech

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2004

    great read

    after a couple of chapters you wont be able to put it down, its a great read and will certainly make you want to head for the nearest island. to anyone who dreams of the palms and silky sand of the south pacific this will be your book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1