Customer Reviews for

The Koran

Average Rating 3
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Just a note....

When you write a review its supposed to be on the book itself. The Quran is a Holy text originally written in a native language which had to be translated. Therefore its original words are not always synonyms to the translated ones. While reading and studying a translat...
When you write a review its supposed to be on the book itself. The Quran is a Holy text originally written in a native language which had to be translated. Therefore its original words are not always synonyms to the translated ones. While reading and studying a translation, one must not take the lazy mans approach to research. Just simply reading this text like the bible wont work. If your going to read it and review it; buy an appendix. It is highly reccomended to purchase one. It is for a deeper understanding of the text. Thhe Quran is not filled with elaborate stories to arrive at the point, it simply states it. Therefore, if you feel it is redudant you may have missed the purpose of repetition. Be a Scholar, not just a student. Noone on this review tab even metioned the quality of this edition or the format. It seems that the reviews posted previously are venting about the ideas and Dichotomy of this text not the purpose, character or content. Once again be a scholar not a student!

posted by 6119687 on December 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Includes commentary

This version is very heavily commentated, making it difficult to read it by itself. Many pages have more commentary than scripture.

posted by 8816516 on June 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Just a note....

    When you write a review its supposed to be on the book itself. The Quran is a Holy text originally written in a native language which had to be translated. Therefore its original words are not always synonyms to the translated ones. While reading and studying a translation, one must not take the lazy mans approach to research. Just simply reading this text like the bible wont work. If your going to read it and review it; buy an appendix. It is highly reccomended to purchase one. It is for a deeper understanding of the text. Thhe Quran is not filled with elaborate stories to arrive at the point, it simply states it. Therefore, if you feel it is redudant you may have missed the purpose of repetition. Be a Scholar, not just a student. Noone on this review tab even metioned the quality of this edition or the format. It seems that the reviews posted previously are venting about the ideas and Dichotomy of this text not the purpose, character or content. Once again be a scholar not a student!

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Translation good

    Clear translation, well organized and easily readable for non Arabic readers.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    Includes commentary

    This version is very heavily commentated, making it difficult to read it by itself. Many pages have more commentary than scripture.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    Too many typos.

    You're better off getting the same item from the Gutenburg Project. The B&N offering is loaded with typos from uncorrected OCR scanning, while the Gutenburg Project version (so far) has been proofread and corrected, making a difficult book a bit more readable.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2010

    Bad investment if looking for spiritual insight!

    I have never in my life read a book so ill composed and without logical reasoning as this one! I don't recommend it to anyone. It doesn't provide real hope in spiritual insight (i.e. 72 virgins awaiting martyrdom? Get real!) and smacks of poorly designed, human engineered dogma by the dead prophet. It is written in a manner more like someone's personal agenda to suppress belief in something else that is more logical and realistic.

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    A disappointment.

    I expected to learn more about Islam through reading it's "bible". I found the organization scattered making it, at best, a difficult read, at most, giving faint glimpses of insight into both radical, as well as moderate, Islam. Overall, I came away with no greater understanding than when I had begun.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    diving into the Muslim religion

    I read this book to gain a philosophical insight as to what it really is that Muslims believe in. This book is such a self-contradictory, nonsensical, absolutely ridiculous "sacred text" that it was just hard to understand at times. It is a great read for those who want to learn more about Allah and what he instructed His followers to do, but it is very repetitive all the way through, in the sense of the infidels and the afterlife to come.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2005

    Wonderfull book and recamended

    This was a relly well done book. Good fo anyone studing Islam and there holy scriptures.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Cool. Nice.

    I want it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    The Koran, and a review.

    For the ignorants who just came here to rant about Muslims killing "infadels", take an unbiased religion course at a community college. I myself am not a Muslim, and I am American high school student. I however, have taken a comparitive religions course, and learned about Islam. The terrorists that participated in the attacks of 9/11 were NOT Islamic, by any means. They followed the teachings of Sayyid Al-Qutb (sorry for spelling mistakes, this is all in my memory.), who took advantage of the openess of the Koran's phrases. Also, as another review stated, the Koran is originally in the Arabic language. If you are the average American, you cannot read the Arabic language, so it has been translated for us. The translations are not always exact, giving us a skewed vision of the Islamic holy text. The chronological order of the Koran is "messed up" because it is not a book of history. The Koran is a book of stories of past prophets and nations. In Arabic, the Koran is almost literally a poem of intricate design, yet it is unseen to us because we have a skewed English version. So, to wrap up this rant I've gone on, don't always judge an entire religion and its followers by the actions of very, very, very few. To give an actual review of this version of the Koran, I found it quite useful in my studies, and gave me an underlying knowledge to the Islamic religion. Also, I found the author's insightful comments to be quite fascinating, and gave me a glimpse of a different view towards the Islamic holy texts.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Open your eyes

    Muslims are brainwashed from birth to kili lnfidels . Cant you see them for who they really are ? their books are filled with hatred and violence. Its time to open your eye woulda given this no stars if i could

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Well

    Muslims like every one else includig the jews who dont belive will burn in hell if you dont belive in jesus christ. Im sorry but its true. Plus the bible has gone unchanged for 3,000 years icant say that for the koran. They change its text frequently. So sad yet god must punish the sinner who is not cleansed by jesu's blood

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Some Respect Please

    I have a good friend who is muslem and even if I am not muslem myself, I still think they should be respected. Their koran is no more violent than the old testament. One example: Moses leading his people to the promice land, once they got there thay killed almost everyone so they would have the land to themselfs. Or when god purged the earth with the great flood? I think people of all religions deserve respect and kindness. Muslems share alot of the ideas and consepts they have with christions. Dont be so swift to persicute others.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3