Customer Reviews for

Kosher Chinese: Living, Teaching, and Eating with China's Other Billion

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    Hilarious!

    I've read a couple of other China/ Peace Corps memoirs, but they all seemed a little stuffy. This one is hilarious, and Levy seems down-to-earth and self aware. I can't wait to see if they turn this into a movie! It makes me want to join the Peace Corps, though I would never eat half the things he ate.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    A Great Book for Potential Cross-Cultural Missionaries

    For those considering short-term cross cultural missions or service opportunities, or for those seeking a window into life in the other China, I recommend Kosher Chinese. It's engaging, walk-through-life style, rich descriptions of Chinese life, and personal reflections by the author will transport you to the streets of Guiyang and introduce you to a part of China not featured in the press. The author, who taught English in Guiyang as a Peace Corp volunteer, offers a humorous if at times irreverent look at life not only in Guiyang but among the personal lives of his students. For Christians it's an opportunity to gain an inside look at at the emptiness of both ideology and materialism in a society that sorely needs the anchor provided by the Gospel. Not only that, but it can be a mirror in which we see our own clutching materialism and our need for something to worship that transcends tradition, party, tribe, or money --- for a God who is the end of all our yearnings.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    A must read

    Entertaining and accurate, a necessary read for any former/future/current EFL teacher in a developing country

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This is a fabulous book for anyone who likes to learn about how cultures mesh. It is not a book simply about the Jewish culture in China but about how we compromise and learn from one another. In a world that is becoming smaller and smaller, it is a great read for everyone. I strongly recommend it for a book club -- especially one that has both men and women since it is not just a "chic book". I loved it. It made me laugh as well as made me think. Read it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    A glimpse into life in rural China

    I enjoyed this book--a glimpse into life in China outside the largest cities. The book was both funny and disturbing. Interesting insights into how we Americans view the Chinese and their way of life, and of their view of us--both of which are often inaccurate.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Oy! Vat a Story!

    For me, this was a great read. I enjoyed the writing style, and got a wonderful first-hand account of what people are like in China, how they live, and what they believe about Americans, based on what the government indoctrinates them with. The episodes within Michael Levy's 2 year Peace Corps stint are touching, funny, and sometimes upsetting. I was transported!
    Don't expect a primitive setting where the volunteer goes to help build infrastructure and such - Levy is an English teacher working at a college. Also, there is no heavy focus on all things Jewish, it's more a part of the mix than something that monopolizes too much of the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book

    Hilarious. I laughed out loud throughout this book. It was funny and at times sadly pathetic. Michael Levy is a great story teller. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    You gotta read this book!

    Michael Levy writes a great book about his experiences as a Peace Corps volunteer in China. I have spent eight summers teaching in China, and I have experienced the same things he experienced. Reading this book brought back many memories for me, and I recommend it to anyone who wants to know what it's like to live and work in China. Do yourself a favor and read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Been There-It's all true

    Loved this book, and as someone who briefly stayed in the heart of China, I have to say it was very accurate although my time there wasn't as funny, We did come home with a 3 yr old girl who needed major surgery and would not have had any future in China. I recommend this book to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Sphirekit

    Oh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Having just recently come back from two years in China as an ex-

    Having just recently come back from two years in China as an ex-pat, I found Mr. Levy's insights to be quite accurate. I was in a slightly (and I do mean slightly -- this was no Beijing I was living in...) less remote city in northeast China, but many of the customs and experiences sounded oh-so-familiar :)
    The book starts out with several humorous anecdotes. All true about China as a whole. The bathroom story at the beginning -- if you've read the book, you know the one ;-) -- was HYSTERICAL and I can totally sympathize. I laughed till profuse tears were flowing as I read that particular story.
    The book becomes slightly less funny as the story unfolds, but no less interesting. Overall, I would say that this is an excellent representation of "real" China (i.e. not big western cities like Beijing or Shanghai). I would definitely recommend this memoir to those wanting to know more about life in China. Just beware of the little bits of *ahem* language scattered throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Please be warned about this book. I am a veteran reader of trav

    Please be warned about this book. I am a veteran reader of travelogues from all over the world--I love the genre. Too, I know that China is a culture that enjoys eating dogs, and the notion of dog butchers and dog restaurants in Kosher Chinese did not surprise me. However, the horribly graphic description of a man gleefully abusing puppies to death was more than I could tolerate. Although the author did respond defensively (but not physically) to the abuse, and we do need to know about such abuse to combat it (even if only through prayer), Levy's account of the incident was just too awful for me to continue with the book, given the already numerous mentions of dog cuisine. I deleted it from my NOOK.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2