BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Krampus: The Yule Lord

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Beatifully Done but not for younger readers

This was my first book by Brom, and it will not be my last. This book was amazing, it pushed all the boundaries. Originally when I saw this book on the shelf with its large title, I pulled it off the shelf to see the original art on the cover. The cover jumps out at you...
This was my first book by Brom, and it will not be my last. This book was amazing, it pushed all the boundaries. Originally when I saw this book on the shelf with its large title, I pulled it off the shelf to see the original art on the cover. The cover jumps out at you, then you read the jacket and you are in. Brom has a startling way of revealing the darkness that lies within us all. His characters are fleshed out in disturbing ways and often have good intentions but terrible actions. Brom’s writing is fast paced intriguing, he has a knack for getting you involved. The physical book is 350 pages followed by an interesting afterword, in which Brom explains how he came to the legend of the Yule Lord. It takes place in the present but is packed with mythology and folk lore. The writing is beautiful and the characters are well developed. I should tell you that you will be on the side of Krampus by the time you finish, no matter what camp you are in to begin with. It will have you rethinking your ideas of who Santa Claus is. I suspect that some will be offended by the representation of god as a capricious female, even though I found the description highly amusing. The illustrations are an added bonus to this unique holiday tale. I highly recommend this book to adults and older teens. The violence is not appropriate for younger kids. And now, I'm off to fill some shoes with candies for the Yule Lord.

posted by Meli_Green on January 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Krampus

Do you know that krampus is from Germany? He is santas elf and if the kid is bad he'll even whip the kid with a long branch or take them away with the basket on his back. That is how they celebrate St Nicholas Day and then the have Christmas just celebrating the birth o...
Do you know that krampus is from Germany? He is santas elf and if the kid is bad he'll even whip the kid with a long branch or take them away with the basket on his back. That is how they celebrate St Nicholas Day and then the have Christmas just celebrating the birth of jesus

posted by Anonymous on January 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Beatifully Done but not for younger readers

    This was my first book by Brom, and it will not be my last. This book was amazing, it pushed all the boundaries. Originally when I saw this book on the shelf with its large title, I pulled it off the shelf to see the original art on the cover. The cover jumps out at you, then you read the jacket and you are in. Brom has a startling way of revealing the darkness that lies within us all. His characters are fleshed out in disturbing ways and often have good intentions but terrible actions. Brom’s writing is fast paced intriguing, he has a knack for getting you involved. The physical book is 350 pages followed by an interesting afterword, in which Brom explains how he came to the legend of the Yule Lord. It takes place in the present but is packed with mythology and folk lore. The writing is beautiful and the characters are well developed. I should tell you that you will be on the side of Krampus by the time you finish, no matter what camp you are in to begin with. It will have you rethinking your ideas of who Santa Claus is. I suspect that some will be offended by the representation of god as a capricious female, even though I found the description highly amusing. The illustrations are an added bonus to this unique holiday tale. I highly recommend this book to adults and older teens. The violence is not appropriate for younger kids. And now, I'm off to fill some shoes with candies for the Yule Lord.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    I am not an ardent reader of this genre, but I find the story fa

    I am not an ardent reader of this genre, but I find the story fascinating. It is well-crafted on an interesting premise. Great opening chapter and well-observed characterization. The story is smooth and very descriptive. Brings to mind the Ngoko's Folly story. Great creativity.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review From My Urban Fantasies

    Originally published on my blog, My Urban Fantasies.
    (myurbanfantasies.blogspot)

    Brom's art is simply amazing, although a little creepy. Krampus: The Yule Lord is a dark but surprisingly uplifting story. Bram has this amazing gift for showing the dark parts of humanity while still managing to give you a sense of hope. Krampus and Santa are rich and complex characters. I could not help falling in love with Krampus, he's definitely my favorite character. Krampus is endearing one moment and very naughty the next. I also loved the fact that Brom mixed the story of Krampus with Norse mythology.

    Yule is the rebirth of seasons and the true spirit of Mother Earth. Without Yuletide the earth cannot heal herself. If mankind stops believing, if the spirit of Yule fades, Mother Earth will wither and die. The power of mankind's belief, their love and devotion, is what heals the land. But mankind eventually had new gods, the old ways were being forgotten. Krampus the Yule Lord's shrines were being abandoned. By the early 1300s a new tradition named Christmas had begun. More and more people began celebrating Christmas, Yule and Winter Solstice were being forgotten. Krampus decided that he would remind them, rewarding children that remembered him with a gift from Loki's sack and punishing those who did not.

    Santa Clause is really Baldr, the son of Odin. Baldr was Odin's most beloved son and was virtually indestructible. The only thing that could harm Baldr was mistletoe. Loki, Krampus' grandfather, saw Baldr for the treacherous person he was. Loki tricked Hoor, Baldr's blind brother, into killing Baldr. Baldr was then imprisoned in Hel, where Krampus' mother ruled. There was a prophecy that Baldr would be reborn on earth after earth was cleansed of darkness by an all-consuming fire. Baldr was to be reborn a god of light and peace, a just god, to watch over the world of men. The fire never came and sometime between the 1300 and 1400s Krampus found Baldr stumbling around in the woods. Krampus pitied Baldr and brought Baldr back to his house. Krampus offered Baldr brotherhood and a place a his side, but Baldr had decided to embrace Saint Nicholas. Baldr told Krampus that the old ways were dead and the ancient's time on earth had passed. Baldr imprisoned Krampus and tries to learn the magic of Loki's sack. Baldr had betrayed his heritage, Krampus and the ancient ones.

    Baldr's obsession with Saint Nicholas grew. He started dressing like Saint Nicholas, growing his hair and beard long. Baldr started visiting homes on Christmas day, pretending he was Saint Nicholas, and handing out presents. In the 1400s Baldr started parading Krampus around in a cart pulled by goats. Krampus sat on a throne of rotting vegetables. Baldr preached Christian virtues and called Krampus nothing more than a wicked imp, an evil buffoon. Year after year this would continue unless Krampus revealed the secret of Loki's sack.

    That stopped in the early 1500s. Krampus thought Baldr had forgotten him until Baldr showed up in front of his cell door. Baldr introduced himself as Father Christmas and told Krampus he was no longer needed. Baldr had unlocked the secret of Loki's sack using blood magic, the very thing he preached against. Baldr claimed that it was time for Krampus to be utterly forgotten and flew them across the ocean to America and chained Krampus in a cave were no one would ever find him.

    That's were Krampus sat for 500 years, in a cave in Boone County,

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    Brilliant story line.  Interesting take on who Santa Clause real

    Brilliant story line.  Interesting take on who Santa Clause really is!  If you like a different kind of urban fantasy, you'll love this.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Read This To Enjoy Terrible

    I thought this would be a pretty straight forward fantasy/horror type story. The sample seemed well written and grabbed me, so I went for it and I'm glad I did.
    Krampus is full of nicely metered detail and graphic description, human horror and folktale terribleness. There's never any black and white division to tell the reader which character is the hero and which the villain and it didn't strike me as preachy either. I really appreciated that because I think that would be an easy pit to fall into.
    Clearly a well researched theme executed with skill both in word and art. I look forward to reading more from Brom.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Inspiring Terrifying

    This well crafted tale clarified much about Krampus that I dd not comprehend, and did so in a way that moved me to figure out how I might celebrate a little Krampus each winter from now on! I think Brom is a illustrative writer and a literary illustrater and if the traditions of consumer madness that has so degraded this beautiful season gets you down, then this tale is for you!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Excellent book

    A very well written, modern take on Krampus and his story. Anyone with an interest in mythology and adventure will enjoy the masterful and engaging tale Brom has created.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Great read

    A good twist on the christmas/Santa myths. Twisted.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    I absolutely loved this book. The author has a unique storytelli

    I absolutely loved this book. The author has a unique storytelling technique that kept me interested from the first time I read the dust jacket all the way to the very end. His interweaving of different cultural winter traditions and history is entertaining and thought-provoking.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Great story

    This story exceeded my expectations. It was a fascinating mixture of myth and modern times. I really enjoyed the Norse references which admittedly took a turn I didn't expect. The characters were believable and well written especially Krampus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Hail Krampus

    Better than I was expecting! As someone fond of the "folklore in modern day" genre, it can be hard to find ones that make you legitimately believe that the characters are reacting realistically to the strangeness that is going on. People see a devil-like creature, they get uncomfortable. Get a different view of Santa & one questions how good he can really be.

    As with Neil Gaiman's American Gods, the old ones are never completely gone..... just biding their time....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    Not a Christmas Book for Children or even Young Adults This is an adult read

    I just finished Krampus today. It is an interesting read with a modern mash-up of Nordic Yule mythology mixed with Christian themes set in a economically depressed Appalachia full of crime, violence, grisly death, some debachery, and alot of human character soul searching as compared to Krampus action. When Krampus, Balder, and other Nordic characters and beasts are on stage then things are interesting,When the interminable perils and miseries of the main character Jesse are at play I became bored with yet another tale of modern angst, torture, and redemption. There is a good short story in this novella. The ending provides opportunity for sequel and the follow up post story chapter on the real Krampus mythology was intersting. I was familair with Krampus,Belsnikels, Nordic, Germanic and Santa Claus legends and myths before reading the book, but I think this chapter would be useful to the unfamiliar reader.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Krampus

    Do you know that krampus is from Germany? He is santas elf and if the kid is bad he'll even whip the kid with a long branch or take them away with the basket on his back. That is how they celebrate St Nicholas Day and then the have Christmas just celebrating the birth of jesus

    1 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    Absolutely wonderful! I was expecting this to be a bit more ligh

    Absolutely wonderful! I was expecting this to be a bit more light hearted, however I was thrilled by Brom's careful attention to the mythology he sourced. I've always loved the Krampus mythos and it is a rare treat to read a novel so wonderfully written about my favorite yule creature.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    i loved t his book from the very beginning. there were times i w

    i loved t his book from the very beginning. there were times i would laugh out loud. the main character Jesse seems to have gone through alot as did isabel (earlier in her life). then theres  krampus ... the yule. what a character.  there are time in krampus is kind hearted (and funny) . jesse and isabel  hit it off as friends. Brom wrote a very good story that has myths and legends that i learned more about. its worth reading and am glad to have purchased it (i got my $2 worth).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2014

    Again nook picks the most inapproperate to feature pick or spotlight

    not only is it not seasonal its poorly plotted tripe page counter

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Good read!

    Good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Best book Ever

    Brom is as always amazing. This book made me lauh and cru. The characters are well thought out(like usual for Brom). The paintings/illustrations in this are beyond amazing. It's definately a must read.
    All hail the Yule Lord!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Hail to the Yule Lord!

    Great story told from a interesting new perspective. Totally worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    Interesting tradition!

    This holiday season was the first time I've ever heard of Krampus so I was glad to see this book. I enjoyed the reality/fantasy aspects throughout....and it gave an in-depth explanation about Santa as well as this other myth, the unusual, creepy Krampus!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3