Customer Reviews for

Kushiel's Avatar (Kushiel's Legacy Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 196 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(161)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 196 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unforgettable and Moving Read

    Kushiel's Avatar is the concluding book in a trilogy that begins with Kushiel's Dart and continued in Kushiel's Chosen, so you should read those books first. Phedre is a very engaging heroine, and Carey writes this pseudo-Renaissance pagan world evocatively and sensually. I didn't think hearing about these books that they would become favorites. Phedre is an "anguissette" originally a prostitute by profession whose sexuality is entwined with pain. This is pushed to the limits in this book, which made me squirm at times. But it's worth reading. I rarely cry because of a book--I'm not easy. But this book was one of those rare ones. A truly moving read--this is one book I'll never forget. The overall series continues with other narrators after this book--I enjoyed those reads and I recommend them--but for me this was the emotional climax of the series so far.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2004

    Intricately Plotted, Hauntingly Beautiful

    This trilogy is not simply a story of politics or a quest--it is a story of a civilization, a culture built from history and the author's fertile imagination. Thought-provoking and surprising, Carey has created living, breathing men and women who are striking not only for their beauty, but for their humanity. They stumble, they fall, and they fail. They begin upon their quests with fear and trepidation, as well as excitement. It is difficult indeed to believe they never lived. Personally, I was enthralled with each volume. Kushiel's Avatar struck me the most; after reading through well over 3000 pages, from Dart to Avatar, I had laughed and smiled, wept and scowled through Phedre's adventures. The end of this trilogy is bittersweet; the gain of Imriel, the son of Phedre's nemesis and now her own adopted child...and the loss of Hyacinthe, her oldest and dearest friend, for whom she had risked madness and many types of death. But more than this, still, is the City of Elua and the world of Terre D'Ange, who live for love and beauty's sake, and this, truly, is the undercurrent through every volume: love, and beauty.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Kushiel's Avatar

    Ten years have passed for Phedre and Joscelin. Years of peace and happiness uninterrupted by intrigue. The only damper is the knowledge that her best friend, Hyacinthe, is stuck as master of the straights, fulfilling an age old curse. But one again the gods have a higher purpose for them, a message seen in dreams and in the form of a plea for help from the traitor, Melisande. her son, hidden away for the past ten years, has been kidnapped. Thus begins the most imporatant journey of Phedre's life. A journey to not only save an innocent boy, but finally a way to free Hyacinthe and thwart an evil that no one realizes even exists.

    A fantastic conclusion to the trilogy. Phedre takes Joscelin to hell and beyond and pushed both of their vows, to each other and to their gods, to the test. As they decend into near madness they realize how great sacrifice can lead to such amazing rewards. The journey takes to places few have heard of and brings them back home full of rewards, but scarred for life.

    This is my favorite book of the series by far. I keep wanting to say more about the story, but I don't want to give too much away for those that haven't read the first two yet. What I can say is that if you haven't read these yet, you must! There is a follow up series that I have all but the first one for, and I know that it has moved up to the top of my wish list for books to buy.

    5/5

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2014

    Totally worth the effort!!

    The third in the series and promises to keep you guessing, the author has a unique way of wrapping you into the story and just when you think you have it all figured out shwish here you go down the next rabbit hole. I love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Favorite Book!

    I love this trilogy and this is my favorite!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Avatar

    Avatar is awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Fantastic Series

    Fantastic Series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Toph

    Can i rp Toph?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Kiro

    (Sorry i was gone so long!) She walked up next to korra. "There is nothing to be afraid of."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Korra and Aang

    Aang, fading to a spirit, watched Avatar Korra proudly.<p>
    Korra was afraid. Today she had to open the Spirit Portal.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Ignis Tenhai

    "Is anyone there?" She blasts an uncontrolled burst of water in the general direction of the footsteps.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Kinjong

    Yeah now erase yourpost

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    To Rose from Katy the homeschooler you talked with

    Hi! Ill rp!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Kaitee

    Sorry every one! I was at my grand mother and she doesint have unlimitid data.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    When I thought this was the last book, I was just hoping against

    When I thought this was the last book, I was just hoping against hope that she would continue.  And Ms. Carey has, which I utterly adore. This series is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    To all who want to join me for conquest

    You can join no w use lightning to give aang a shock that he will never forget

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Aero

    OH THAT IS IT! IM LEAVING! GOOD BYE, GOOD RIDDANCE! YOU NEVER PAY ATTENTION TO ME! GOOD. BYE.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Luna

    Hello!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    TO AANG

    ITS KATARA RESULT SIX

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Korra

    Shoot. Gotta drop an rp again...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 196 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10