Customer Reviews for

Kushiel's Chosen (Kushiel's Legacy Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    take a chance it s worth it!

    This is one of my ALL TIME favorite series! Please don't get turned off by some of the more colorful subject matter. There is sooo much more. Look deeper, by the time you get to the 3rd book in the series you will see a much bigger picture and a deeper message. After i finished Kushiels Avatar i slapped myself on the head and said 'WOW'! I'm not the only one out there who has thought this. Maybe if some of the religeous zealots in the world read this they would realize they were missing the 'big picture' and how futile being a fanatic is. I work part time in a local book store and recommend these so often that we have to order extra copies

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Kushiel's Chosen

    In the second book of the Kushiel's Legacy series, Phedre and her Cassiline, Joscelin, journey to La Serenissima in search of Melisande. But, as always, there is more to the game than anyone suspects at first. Phedre must learn to navigate her way through a whole new politcal climate and use all her wits to try and decipher the clues she has which lead her on a not so merry journey across the seas, where she encounters pirates, gods, and ancient rituals. She is forced to look at herself in a new light time and time again, and make sacrifices she never thought she would have needed.

    I was happy to see so many of my favorite characters back for a second book. The change of scenery and introduction of the La Serenissiman characters was the perfect addition to her already fantastic mix. The people and the setting meshed in a way that improved the flow of the story. Throwing in the action, which never seems to stop for Phedre, you have the perfect combination for an amazing book.

    5/5

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2006

    Amazing Second Book

    This series justs keeps getting better! It's hard for a second book to top the first, but this one did! Can't put it down once you start!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2006

    Wonderful

    This is a very exciting and intruging book. it has aspects of medival history hidden in it and it is hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Fantastic series

    Fantastic series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    Inspired writing!

    Inspired writing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    engrossing

    Kushiel's Chosen follows closely on the heels of Kushiel's Dart. There is no agonizing ramp-up of events. Kushiel's Chosen all-but-immediately snatches the reader and sprints down the rabbit hole. The intrigue, character development and the relationships that they have with each other is painstakingly and realistically done.

    I am not a book worm of any class, and I found it hard to put the book down even though a 5am wakeup call was staring me in the face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Our best author delivers,again.

    The nine books that make up the Kushiel and the Naamah series are the greatest ever. No author comes close to delivering such climax in any genre and keep the reader completely captivated for the entire journey. Start with Kushiel's Dart and read right through to Naamah's Blessing. The wonder, mystery and intrigue will keep you on edge, peeling pages out to see what is next. Jacquline Carey is truely one of our generation's most skilled weaver of words. The world she has created will explode your literary senses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2011

    Such a well written series

    I can't say how much I loved this series. So full of mystery and intrigue, and yet the romance is often heartbreakingly real and tender. If you already read the first book, then you should be starting to keep up better with all the different houses, and who people are. I love how she is creative with her romantic ideas. I have yet to read a series that approached sex from this unique angle. Some might be offended, but I find that, that is the reason they call it fiction....because it isn't supposed to be real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    Like I say for all Ms Carey's work, GO FOR IT

    Be sure to pick up the rest of the series as well. The series itself has good plot lines, and just continually pulls you in. Its a great read, there are lagging parts but I feel its well worth the time. The world itself, rich in texture, history (though altered), and sensuality, is worth the time. Summer is coming up and I'd recommend adding this to your reading list! True literacy is hard to find in today's novels, it should be appreciated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Wonderful Read

    Kushiel's Dart is the first book in this series, and if you haven't you really should read that first. There is a lot of adult material in these books--of a kind frankly I'd ordinarily find off-putting. The heroine is an anguissette--a masochist for whom pain is not just an integral part of her sexuality but her profession--she's a prostitute. Despite that, I loved these first three books centered around Phedre among my favorite books in the fantasy genre, and this middle book in my opinion doesn't fall off from the first. It's a fast-paced read and Phedre's voice is so engaging and Carey's writing often so evocative and sensuous I just fell into the book and it didn't let go onto the end. The concluding book after this, Kushiel's Avatar, in my opinion is even stronger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    Unique

    Awesome trilogy. Cant wait to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2006

    Tragedy creates strength and endurance!!

    The whole series has kept me on the edge of suspense and erotic climax! It was depressing to find Delaunay's and Alcuin's end. The turmoils that Joscelin and Phedre go through are full of excitement. You never know what other treacherous plot will come in their path. Joscelin and Phedre's love is a bit ironic, but you decide in the end that it just endures. The pain of an anguissette seems so inviting Ms. Carey's use of Phedre's boundaries are astounding! There is a thin red line of what Phedre can handle humanly, then Ms. Carey just makes Phedre go a little over that line. Especially, with the Markhagir and his method of 'admiring' his 'favorites'! Exceptional literature, thrilling adventures, and an exotic anguissette spy with her dependable Cassiline!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2004

    best summer read in a long time..

    Gossip,intergue,religion,love,good story, couldn't put it down.Hadto run out to buy two and three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2004

    Not a typical Second Book

    This book is exceptional. Usually the second in the series lags a little. The first book sets up the charactors and scene. The last book of a trilogy brings it all to a climax and end. But this book is not a six-hundred-page lag. It's adventureous and exciting. If you even moderately enjoyed Kushiel's Dart, Kushiel's Chosen will keep you up nights. It's very origional, and exciting. Personally, I can say that it DOES get frustrating, as you read about the star-crossed relationship with Jocelin. Despite my momentary anger at both Jocelin and Pedre,they are still some of the most well-rounded charactors I've ever read. Anyone who tells you these books are terrible(they ARE very graphic, but that's what God made skimming for), obviously didn't read these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    Part 2

    This book full of adventure and fantasy. Just like the Kushiel's Dart you will not put this book down. I actually thought this book is better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2003

    Magnificiantly Written

    I loved this novel and am awaiting for the third to arrive on paperback, however I don't believe that I'll be able to make it till then. The novel keeps you compled in the world of Terr D'Ange and makes you feel as if your there with the magnificant way the descriptions are placed in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2003

    Just as wonderful as the first.

    I have read hundreds of books, and although I am generally a fantasy fan, this one was refreshing in its originality. I was pleasantly surprised that this book was as good as the first. Although it frustrates me on some level that Phedre can't get over Melisande, the writer is so good with her prose that it's almost understandable from Phedre's point of view and very nature. I loved this book, and I'm looking forward to the final installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2003

    Best Book Ever

    kushiel's dart was great but kushiel's chosen is even better.I love all the charaters in this book. There so alive that you can't help but fall in love with them. Phedre and Joscelin relationship is very intesting to read about. I would love to have a man like Joscelin strong and beautiful.By far this one of the better books that I've read in years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2003

    Exceptional

    I was so pleased with this second book about Jacqueline Carey's heroine, Phedre no Delaunay. This book brought all the elements from the previous story and created a new adventure that is both enthralling and unique. "Kushiel's Chosen" is terrific and readers will thoroughly enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6