Customer Reviews for

Kushiel's Dart

Average Rating 4.5
( 286 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(214)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Kushiel's Legacy

Amazing book! There were times, in the first half, that I found it moving a bit slow, but it made up for it and then some! I think much of it had to do with being the first book of a series...often they begin fairly slow. She made up for it with beautifully written lang...
Amazing book! There were times, in the first half, that I found it moving a bit slow, but it made up for it and then some! I think much of it had to do with being the first book of a series...often they begin fairly slow. She made up for it with beautifully written language. Great mythology and well-chosen names. Loosely based on Europe, France being the main area of the story. I can't even describe how brilliant the formation of the mythology is! She uses established mythology but builds on it. Lots of action, especially throughout the second half, and lovable characters. Interesting society with a large group of religious courtesans. I definitely will have to read more of these books!

posted by Oneira on October 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Some things which bugged me¿

Carey glosses over some of the more difficult parts of the book (i.e. battles or combat of any kind for that matter) which is interesting given a storyline that revolves in large part around war. I also got tired of thinking- hmmm it¿s a good thing this (insert evil cha...
Carey glosses over some of the more difficult parts of the book (i.e. battles or combat of any kind for that matter) which is interesting given a storyline that revolves in large part around war. I also got tired of thinking- hmmm it¿s a good thing this (insert evil characters name here) is totally undone by their lust for Phedre or she might not get out of this one. That happened over and over again, which leads me to the second thing that bugged me. Over the course of the novel Phedre somehow manages to screw virtually every character of any importance inside the storyline with the exception of those unfortunate enough to die early on. Does it ever even explain how she keeps from getting pregnant? Or how she keeps from catching a single disease? I also disliked the enormous lack of detail in parts of the novel where Carey was hurrying things to get to the next major event, usually Phedre having sexual relations or being physically abused with/by one of the other main characters. Anyways¿ As many of the other reviewers have pointed out the novel has quite a few strong suites as well. The storyline is original if predictable and Carey is obviously a talented writer. I wish Tor Books agreed with me that 90%Romance-10%Fantasy is not a Fantasy-Romance novel. It¿s a Romance with a few fantasy elements thrown in.

posted by Anonymous on October 5, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 287 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kushiel's Legacy

    Amazing book! There were times, in the first half, that I found it moving a bit slow, but it made up for it and then some! I think much of it had to do with being the first book of a series...often they begin fairly slow. She made up for it with beautifully written language. Great mythology and well-chosen names. Loosely based on Europe, France being the main area of the story. I can't even describe how brilliant the formation of the mythology is! She uses established mythology but builds on it. Lots of action, especially throughout the second half, and lovable characters. Interesting society with a large group of religious courtesans. I definitely will have to read more of these books!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW

    I decided to go on a whim and read this book. I am a 30 year old male, So, I had a little trouble at first, thinking I was reading a romance novel. Boy, I was wrong. My whole being was captured right off bat. I was enthralled in the entire story. I could not put it down. The characters are beautifuly written. The plots and betrayals are masterfull. Carey also does a excellent job with descriptions. I loved how she mentioned the coach looking like a trap(lol). I can't wait to read all the others, Im too excited about the treasure I have found in Jacqueline Careys books.
    Please read and enjoy, I highly reccomend it...

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Kushiel: Another Great Series for Fiction Lovers

    I am always looking for a "fix" in the form of good fiction and Kushiel's Dart was unexpected pay-dirt. It would be easy to dismiss this gem by presuming it is lacks more than the charachter of Phedre'. Huge mistake!

    Not only do we deeply relate to the main character, we see a richly detailed adventure and highly developed charachters as intimately related by Phedre.

    A very good book. Pick it up and you will find yourself transported to an adventure rife with intrigue, passion, treachery, and good old fashion kinky lust. I liked it so much I bought the next two in the series. I have read the second and it is just as good as the first.

    You owe it to yourself. Escape into Phedre's world. Trust me. You'll like it.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2004

    Some things which bugged me¿

    Carey glosses over some of the more difficult parts of the book (i.e. battles or combat of any kind for that matter) which is interesting given a storyline that revolves in large part around war. I also got tired of thinking- hmmm it¿s a good thing this (insert evil characters name here) is totally undone by their lust for Phedre or she might not get out of this one. That happened over and over again, which leads me to the second thing that bugged me. Over the course of the novel Phedre somehow manages to screw virtually every character of any importance inside the storyline with the exception of those unfortunate enough to die early on. Does it ever even explain how she keeps from getting pregnant? Or how she keeps from catching a single disease? I also disliked the enormous lack of detail in parts of the novel where Carey was hurrying things to get to the next major event, usually Phedre having sexual relations or being physically abused with/by one of the other main characters. Anyways¿ As many of the other reviewers have pointed out the novel has quite a few strong suites as well. The storyline is original if predictable and Carey is obviously a talented writer. I wish Tor Books agreed with me that 90%Romance-10%Fantasy is not a Fantasy-Romance novel. It¿s a Romance with a few fantasy elements thrown in.

    6 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of My Favorite Books in the Fantasy Genre

    Despite fitting into the coming of age genre often seen in young adult fiction, this is a very adult book--in every way. I avoided this book at first although a friend raved about it. Prostitution in fiction is generally a deal breaker with me. I didn't expect to be entranced and sucked into a world where it's an honored profession and the heroine a celebrated practitioner--and one with a very wide masochistic streak--it's literally her selling point. Yet ultimately this book and the trilogy of the first three Kushiel books became among my top favorites in the fantasy genre. Carey creates such an engaging voice for Phedre, from the first line I was hooked, the world she creates is unique and the plot bubbles along nicely and delivers a great blend of fantasy, adventure and romance. I'd add that the trilogy as a whole is wonderful and if you love this book I don't think you'll be disappointed with Kushiel's Chosen and Kushiel's Avatar. I found the Kushiel books after the first trilogy not as moving, but still good reads.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    50 shades of what?

    I'm halfway through 50 Shades and i've just got to say that Phedre would eat "Mr. Grey" alive, steal all his business secrets, get two or three free cars, some lovely jewels, and be back in Joscelin's arms before he knew what hit him. I don't know why I'm even reading this stupid book. Please, mrs. Carey, when's your next book going to drop so i can stop reading this crap?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Litany of One a'Cursed; potent, beautiful, and defiant writing for a modern reader

    I found Kushiel's Dart in B&N on a doldrums evening. I hadn't read a good book in some time and needed something refreshing, mentally stimulating, and gently challenging to excite my thoughts into refined pictures and imaginings. <BR/>Though I wasn't sure I would like reading a book I knew almost nothing about, I was pleasantly surprised when I began to read Kushiel's Dart, as it instantly drew me into the beautiful and estranged land of Terre D'Ange. The characters bloom into fascinating spectacles of ferocity, longing, beauty, and emotion. Every written person, be they of importance or no, weaves into the overall tapestry with a master's perfection. <BR/>Though the plot is sometimes difficult to decipher from the interceding emotions of supporting characters and livid sexual dialogues of Phedre--the storyteller--and her devious clients, one can still spot the underlying story, if given to such attentions, weaving between the pages.<BR/>I would not recommend this book to anyone who is easily discouraged by sexuality in reading. This is an "R"-rated story for a sophisticated reader who is not easily bored with a lack of bloodshed and easily deciphered characters.<BR/>If you find fancy in complex plotlines and advanced character development, this is the book for you.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2001

    Darkly erotic epic fantasy

    Great epic fantasy is successful when it takes you to places you have never entered before.Authors like George Martin,China Mieville, Robin Hobb, Steven Erikson and Goodkind are examples now add Jacqueline Carey name to this esteem list. 'When Love cast me out,it was Cruelty who took pity upon me.' These words help start up this dark erotic epic fantasy that will take you to the kingdom of Terre d'Ange, a country born of angels where prostitution is a holy act and court intrigue is most lethal.You will see this through the eyes of unforgettable heroine,Phedre who is sold to the engimatic Delaunay to be trained as a courtesan and schooled in foreign languages and is to become Delaunay's spy.She will learn her nation's darkest secrets and deadiliest conspiracies.Phedre's adventures will take her to the beds of her country's most powerful men, to be sold to slavery to a barbarian king and savior of her homeland from a brutal invasion! This lavish epic fantasy is filled with scenes of disturbing sexuality as Phedre who gets sexual pleasure through use of pain, court intrigue as she uncovers a treasonous plots to overthrow the king.This novel also boasts casts of characters like the warrior priest,Joscelin who vows to protect Phedre as he loses his heart toward her.The Noble Anafiel Delaunay, Phedre's owner who teaches her to become a master spy for his agendas.Hyacinthe,Phedre's kind-hearted friend who is the prince of travelers and to save his homeland will make a heartbreaking sacrifice and the power hungry Skaldian warlord, Waldemar who seeks to conquer Terre d'ange and the brilliant but utterly ruthless villianess, Melisandre who use machivellian manuvers in quest for ultimate power.Carey has the ability to tell scenes of disturbing sensuality and sweeping battle scenes.Carey's world-building abilities are excellent.So pick up this book and enter Phedre's world of dark desire and darker intrigue.You will never forget the journey!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2008

    A fantastic adventure!

    This book had everything: love, adventure, conspiracy, sex, politics, frienship, war... I've never read fantasy before & it was difficult to follow at first but once I got going it all started making sense. I couldn't put it down! I'll read the rest in the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2003

    Not What I Expected

    I have read the Kushiel trilogy, and it was very interesting in the beginning. However, one starts to lose interest when there are so many confusing character names and nationalities, and there is more intrigue than I cared for. The main characters are interesting, and that is the only thing that kept me from putting the books down. Kushiel's Dart is the best of the three.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    No words can give justice to this brilliant novel

    The fantasy world that Carey creates with the land of Terre d'Ange, bears no equal. It is beautiful and dangerous, coveted and unyielding, a place of beauty and grace. Carey constructs an entire mythos of god and angels, among them Blessed Elua, whom created the D’Angelines. Under their religion, they follow a single rule: Love as thou wilt.
    Phèdre nó Delaunay was born with a scarlet mote in her left eye. To her parents, she was flawed, and at a young age was sold into indentured servitude to the Night Court of Blooming Flowers. Her bond is purchased by Anafiel Delaunay, a nobleman and banned poet, who not only gives Phèdre a home and family, but also a purpose. Recognizing the scarlet mote in her eye as more than a flaw, he explains to her that she was pricked by Kushiel's Dart, a rare anguissette and Kushiel’s Chosen; chosen to forever experience pain and pleasure as one.
    Phèdre is trained from a young age in the art of sexual pleasure to be a courtesan, but under the tutelage of Anafiel Delaunay, she is also equally adept at espionage, able to observe, remember, and analyze.¬¬¬ Her diversified skill set, from her orthodox education, her knack for languages, and her desirable bedroom skills, makes her a prized possession. But soon, Phèdre becomes a pawn in a game that Delaunay is playing, and stumbles upon a plot that threatens her homeland.
    In Carey’s mesmerizing world, courtiers, royalty, traitors, and villains set Phèdre on a path to save the home she loves. As she undergoes her quest, she experiences treachery, betrayal, love, loss, sacrifice, war, conspiracy and desire at its most dangerous. Kushiel’s Dart is a truly epic adventure, Filled with mystery, fantasy, romance, erotica, and adventure that transports readers into the unknown and leaves them hanging on to every word.
    Kushiel’s Dart deserves the highest praise. A must read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    I've loved this book for quite some time now, I think its quiet

    I've loved this book for quite some time now, I think its quiet interesting in the style that it was written in as well as the concept of an Intelligent, rather than outright sword-swinging men. What does drive me crazy about the eBook format is that its RIDDLED with horrible typos, some so horrible that I'm amazed in how it was accepted as finalized. As much as I love this author I have no interest in buying the rest until I'm certain that the change-over to eBook respects the authors work enough to pay attention to what they're supposed to be doing when rewriting her material for this program.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    Hard to follow

    I had heard of the author and wanted to try her books. However, I found the story difficult to get into -- confusing -- too many different 'families'. I ended up putting it down about 3/4 of the way through

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is Epic

    An amazing story of epic proportion. This is not a one or two-day book read. You can not rush through reading Phedre's story. At times your eyes will tear and you will find yourself actually holding your breath. I was happy the author thought to include a map and glossary as I found myself referring to them many times. I look forward continuing reading this fantasy adventure with Kushiel's Chosen.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A good read for a long day. . .

    This book started out interesting enough, but there was nothing amazing about it. Once the reader understood the society all that was left were the slowly revealing consperices. Not my kind of book.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    WOW - Great Read!

    This was an outstanding read. It was a bit slow, to start, but to be fair, there is a great deal of ground to cover - numerous characters, plots, sub-plots, etc. Once she gave you the foundation, however, she took off, and the book was a page turner from then on. Thoroughly enjoying in every sense. Not a book for teens, and not for the sex-shy type - parts require a definite respect for others choices in sexual interests. Beautifully descriptive, including the battle scenes. One of the few books that truly evokes every emotion possible - over and over again. If you like descriptive sagas, and multiple levels in a story line - and sex doesn't offend you when spoken of descriptively - buy this book. I guarantee you'll end up buying the rest in the series. I just did!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2008

    My all-time favorite book.

    This was one of the first books I read once I was old enough to leave the young adult section. I was afraid that years later it might not be as good as I remembered, it was better than my memory. Fantastic novel, the characters are rich and real. The heroes are beautifully flawed, I will probably read everything this author writes due to this one book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2001

    A Wild Ride!

    I had the opportunity to read an advance copy of Kushiel's Dart. This book blew my mind. It's really epic in scope with intrigue, betrayal, war, sex, love and honor. There are a lot of layers here-in addition to writing a wonderful story, Carey has distorted (and created) history and religon enough for it to be fun to figure out where she detoured from what we know as real. The main character, Phedre, is a courtesan and spy with an unlikely 'gift' (I don't want to spoil it). The book is told from her point of view. Let's just say that, as peculiar as she is, you have no trouble putting yourself in her shoes. You're 'there' all the way during this wild and fascinating ride. I recommend this for fantasy and non-fantasy readers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Absolutely stunning series!

    This entire series builds so intricately that I imediately became hooked! The beggining of Kushiels Dart goes deep into the setting and characer plot. Read past that and you'll find yourself more than excited that you found this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Best book series ever!!!!

    This is a must read. Great story lines and characters you cant help but fall in love with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 287 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15