Customer Reviews for

Kushiel's Scion (Kushiel's Legacy Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Loving Imri's Story

This is the first book in the second Kushiel's trilogy. It's a great continuation from a different character's perspective and I reccomend it to everyone who enjoyed the first trilogy. Do not read if you have not read the books that come before this one- the informati...
This is the first book in the second Kushiel's trilogy. It's a great continuation from a different character's perspective and I reccomend it to everyone who enjoyed the first trilogy. Do not read if you have not read the books that come before this one- the information is completely necassary to enjoy this book.

posted by Danibelle on May 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The end of reading the series

Phedre was the main draw for the other books. All of which were beautifully written and captivating. This one with a lack of the character who we have grown to adore is hard to get into. Throught the whole thing you just keep hoping for more of phedre. This is the end o...
Phedre was the main draw for the other books. All of which were beautifully written and captivating. This one with a lack of the character who we have grown to adore is hard to get into. Throught the whole thing you just keep hoping for more of phedre. This is the end of this series for me. It's sad because I loved the first book so much I read it till it fell apart.

posted by Anonymous on December 31, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2008

    This book won me over.

    I was skeptical at first once I realized that the book wasn't written from Phedre's point of view, but the more I read the more I loved. Imriel is a fantastic character who is easy to love. I can't wait for the next book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    Amazing.

    Amazing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    Beautifully written

    In this novel Carey finally divates from Phedre's story and takes up the impressions and experiences of another, namely Imriel. The story is beautifully wrought and the reader can experience this world anew.

    I still enjoy the ways in which this story has hints and measures religions I am familiar with while still endeavoring to create a world that is facinating to explore and experience through the characters that are introduced.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Wow

    Carey does it again. Amazing story line. There were times i couldn't put Imriels story down. Im on the 7th book now. Worth every minute. I love who the main character becomes and watching him grow. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Fantastic

    Just as great as the first three books. Easy to visualize, the elegant writing easy to read. Anyone who thinks these books have lagging spots, doesn't understand them. This is a place you go, not just books you read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Captivating

    Everytime I read a Jacqueline Carey book, I become amazed. especially at her writting style and characters. The world that she created is engrossing. I care and feel for each individual. The emotions I feel when reading are real and enthralling. Very rarely does a book/books captivate me as such. I highly recommend this book and entire story. ENJOY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2007

    One of my Favorite Books!

    I can't get enough of this series! Among all the books, this was my least favorite, but still at the top of my favorite's list. I wanted more of Phedre. Other than that, the book was amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    If I could give it 6 stars I would!

    I had enjoyed the first three books quite a bit but was a little wary about reading a story from Imriel's point of view. I'm glad I did, I'm half way through the book and I think that this one's my favorite so far! The new characters are fascinating and I love it how Imriel aspires to 'goodness' and is trying to figure out exactly what that means. There are a lot of philisophical issues which make me pause and think about my life and life in general.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2006

    A reviewer

    This is an amazing series. The author is not only talented at what she does, i feel like i know all the characters and am sooo thrilled that she has contiuned the story of their adventures....I don't ever want it to end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!a must read...Read this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2006

    Give me more...

    I didn't want Phedre's story to end and indeed it did not. A stunning series and I keep wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2006

    Lose yourself in this story!

    I was swept away, back to Terr Dange, from page 1. This book gave me something to hope for, which is more story, more suffering, and the greatest hope that Melisande will eventually get what is due her! The writing takes you to places you can't legally go to in reality. A MUST READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2006

    LOVED IT!!!!

    I was kind of surprised at how much I loved this book!!! Usually a series gets worse with more books, the writers don't know when to put a story to rest but this author breathed new life into an ongoing saga and I was so pleased!!! I loved that she included old characters and developed new characters with fresh personalities. Great job!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2006

    Excellent fantasy

    When prince of the blood Imriel no Montreve de la Courcel was a child in Terre d'Ange, his parents abandoned him. Pirates abduct him they sexually abuse the lad in ways that are unmentionable. Life is bleak for the boy until the anguisette Phedre no Delauney and her lover warrior-priest Joscelin adopt Imriel. --- Imriel begins to learn to enjoy life, but still suffers nightmares from parental abandonment and the sexual actions of the pirates. However, his mother, demonic Melisande, though confined to a temple or die, has plans for her offspring. She will use him to seize the throne, something she has failed to achieve in the past. When she vanishes those at court assume that her son helped her escape with a plot to take control. Only the letters his mother wrote him that he has not read might offer a clue to where Melisande hides and what she plans to do next. Though he assumes he has no allies except perhaps Phedre and Joscelin and everyone he sees is an enemy, Imriel resolves to protect Queen Ysandre's daughter Sidonie, who he desires. --- The first tale in a new trilogy will excite fans as the adventures move to the next generation. The action-packed story line is fast-paced from the moment Melisande escapes as Imriel has to watch his back at all times. He takes over the prime role from Phedre so smoothly long time Kushiel readers will appreciate Jacqueline Carey¿s conversion while newcomers will not need the previous trilogy to follow Imriel¿s escapades though they will want to read about Phedre¿s adventures. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5