Customer Reviews for

L. A. Dead (Stone Barrington Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Stuart Woods -- another hit!!!

Stuart Woods was a new author to me and again I am hooked. The character of Stone Barrington is terrific. Stone begins his career as a policeman but becomes a New York State lawyer. Clients draw him into one breathless mystery after another. The twists and turns kee...
Stuart Woods was a new author to me and again I am hooked. The character of Stone Barrington is terrific. Stone begins his career as a policeman but becomes a New York State lawyer. Clients draw him into one breathless mystery after another. The twists and turns keeps the reader turning page after page. His partner on the force, Dino, appears as his constant sidekick and reminder to stay inside the law when solving cases. Some clients appear in a second book but don't let that stop you from reading. Each book is a completed case filled with murder, intrigue, sex and excitement. The following is the list of how the Stone Barrington books were released: New York Dead: Dirt, Dead In The Water, Swimming On Catalina, Worst Fears Realized, LA Dead, Cold Paradise, The Short Forever and Dirty Work. Be sure and search out the other books written by Stuart Wood and his other stars of fiction.

posted by Anonymous on September 11, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A lame Stone Barrington outing

Stone Barrington used to be a great character, but no more. He has been turned into some kind of cartoon character ... super sleuth, super stud, superman. It's silly.

posted by Anonymous on January 2, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2003

    Stuart Woods -- another hit!!!

    Stuart Woods was a new author to me and again I am hooked. The character of Stone Barrington is terrific. Stone begins his career as a policeman but becomes a New York State lawyer. Clients draw him into one breathless mystery after another. The twists and turns keeps the reader turning page after page. His partner on the force, Dino, appears as his constant sidekick and reminder to stay inside the law when solving cases. Some clients appear in a second book but don't let that stop you from reading. Each book is a completed case filled with murder, intrigue, sex and excitement. The following is the list of how the Stone Barrington books were released: New York Dead: Dirt, Dead In The Water, Swimming On Catalina, Worst Fears Realized, LA Dead, Cold Paradise, The Short Forever and Dirty Work. Be sure and search out the other books written by Stuart Wood and his other stars of fiction.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2001

    Poor Story Line

    I have read many of Mr. Woods' books and this has to be the worst. He lacks any type of closure of the story. His sex scenes and partners are not only highly improbable but extremely in poor taste. I like sex like any other guy, but let's get real.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2001

    A lame Stone Barrington outing

    Stone Barrington used to be a great character, but no more. He has been turned into some kind of cartoon character ... super sleuth, super stud, superman. It's silly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable Barirngton tale

    Former NYPD homicide detective turned attorney Stone Barrington travels to Italy to marry his fiancée Dolce Bianci. Her father happens to be a rich and powerful capo with ties to both sides of the law as well as to the Vatican. In Italy, for Roman Catholics to be considered married they must have civil and church weddings. <P>The civil ceremony occurs, but before they tie the knot in church, Stone receives a phone call concerning Arrington, the woman he loves, who is married to famous movie star Vince Calder. In their home an unknown intruder killed Vince while Arrington was taking a bath. Arrington is placed in a psychiatric hospital demanding that Stone come to help her. Stone immediately leaves Italy to be at Arrington's side. He also agrees to represent her with the police and the probate court. Arrington cooperates with the police, but they arrest her on a charge of second-degree murder. Stone goes out of his way to protect the woman he still loves. <P>The sixth Barrington mystery is the best novel in the series. Stone is an honest, intelligent, but beleaguered individual, who goes the extra mile and a half for those he cherishes. As Stone muddles through his relationships with females, the climax to L.A. Dead remains outstanding even as many questions about the hero's personal life remain unanswered. With an exclamation point, Stuart Woods makes it evident that he is a force in the mystery genre. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Poisonivy bio

    Name: Poisonivy<p>Gender: &female<p>Age: 28 moons<p>Appearance: Green long-haired she-cat with patches of black and yellow eyes.<p>History: see res 7<p>Style of Attack: As<_>sassination and tooth-and-claw.<p>Other: prettiest cat of the Deadly Six.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Damien

    Walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Amber

    Srry no wifi at home.... :( but im here now! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Highly recommend

    As usual, Stone Barrington is something to behold. He manages to take control of situations that are involved and always come up with the answer. My husband and I read his books and we enjoy them. He holds your attention to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    I love stone

    Not my favorite Stone Barrington novel ... but I am a die hard stone fan and love all the books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Would recommend - typical Stuart Woods

    I've read many Woods books with the character Stone Barrington. This one does not disappoint. It starts with a touch of Mafia & ends in Hollyweird with a compelling murder mystery. The humor between Barrington & his friend Dino is always my favorite part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Recommend

    Great book, recommend, love this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Fun read

    Stuart Woods continues to write his Stone Barrington novels with humorous,fast-moving plots. Always interesting secondary characters. I like that many of the secondary characters show up in different books in this series.

    These books are fast reads. The characters are well-defined, the storylines flow well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    Great Books

    I like to read and this is a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2006

    I was able to put it down, and did so.

    I am perplexed by the popularity of the 'Stone Barrington' series. These books aren't mysteries. They are so ridiculously unbelievable as to be labeled romantic fantasies. The characters, including Stone Barrington, are superficial, narcissistic, and morally bankrupt (I mean, he wears the hand-me-down Armani clothes of a man who was murdered? This is sick!). Stone Barrington solves these crimes simply by making phone calls to excessively wealthy people, who the author, Mr. Woods, would have us believe are the most cooperative, amiable, and generous people who ever existed. If he needs transportation, he is provided a private jet. Needs a place to stay? Stays on a luxurious yacht. Wants lunch? A four star chef is provided. This is luxury taken to decadence and sold as hospitality. Women offer themselves sexually to Barrington with enough lust to make James Bond blush. These excesses just can't pass the 'Oh, brother!' rule. I first made it through 'Santa Fe Rules', one of two Stuart Woods books that were given to me. As I started 'L.A. Dead', I was having difficulty reading because I couldn't stop rolling my eyes. I finally thought, 'Enough!' and put it away. Stone Barrington doesn't investigate crime as much as the solutions are catered for him. I began to believe that the guilty person would send in the confession wrapped in a Tiffany's gift box. I like escapism as much as anyone, but these books are ridiculous. This isn't escapism. It's hallucination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2004

    who did it

    loved this book. I just wanted to know who killed the main character and who killed the woman? I have my own ideas, but it would be nice if all of this came together.I have a need to tie all of the loose ends. I don't think I would read any of his other books as I have to know who did all of the murders. I want closure on my stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2003

    Stuart Woods is Absolutely Amazing

    I am a recent fan of Stuart Woods and so far I am addicted. I am a particular fan of the Stone Barrington novels. They are full of suspense and keep you on the edge of your seat. He also adds estranged love mixed in with the suspense and murder. It is a great combination for keeping your attention. I have read the whole serious of Stone Barrington and I am anxious for the next book. Keep them Coming Stuart. Your writing is unbelievable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2002

    keeps you on the tip of your toes

    Being a newcomer to Stuart Woods books, I've definitely found a writer I like. His characters are true to life, or what I think they probably are like in the movie industry. This book is a definite must read and I will be reading the rest of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2001

    one of the best books ever written

    this book has everything you need in a book, from suspense to the glamorous high life of the movie industry. Extremely hard to put down, you will find yourself up all night trying to finish this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2001

    PAGE TURNER

    This was another great hit in the life of Stone Barrington. Hard to put down and easy to finish in a couple of sittings. Would definately recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2000

    Between a Rock and a Hard Place

    Between a rock and a hard place is where cop-turned lawyer Barrington Stone finds himself as he flees Italy--and his volatile Mafia princess girlfriend--for Los Angeles in the latest thriller from Stuart Woods. Stone winds up dealing with a targeted murder case that implicates the long-lost love of his wife. Not Woods best, but a good, quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3