Customer Reviews for

L.A. Requiem (Elvis Cole and Joe Pike Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Best novel in the Elvis Cole series

    I was starting to get a little disappointed in the Elvis Cole series, something which I always enjoyed, until this book came out. As noted from a review by another person, this book finally gives some insight into the much liked character Joe Pike. I think its success is what prompted Crais to put out his newer novels in which Elvis takes the background and Pike takes the forefront. Either way, if you like the Elvis Cole novels, which I have always found humorous as well as easy page-turners, this one will not disappoint.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    Awesome book! Highly recommended

    I have read several of the Elvis Cole series and enjoyed them all. But, this one was definitely a cut above the rest. After getting only little glimpses into the Joe Pike character, it was especially nice to learn about his background so you can read about what drives him to be the person he is now. You also find out much more about Elvis Cole and his friendship with Joe. This was a book that, when I was not reading it, I could hardly wait to get back to it and see where it would take me next! That is the yardstick that all books should be measured by and this one met and exceeded that mark. It was a great read and I recommend it to any and all who want an interesting, engaging, hate-to-put-it-down kind of book. I will be rereading it one day soon ...... after I finish the rest of the series, that is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2005

    THE EXISTENTIAL DETECTIVE

    Robert Crais, with his 'L.A. REQUIEM' has broken through the designation of 'genre writer'. With his serial detective Elvis Cole, and even more, with PI Joe Pike, he has created the true existential detective. We crave to learn more about these two men and what has made them what and who they are. Crais, along with Michael Connolly, has gleaned some real insights into this City of the Angels, which is all the more amazing since neither of these men came from Los Angeles. They nevertheless, paint an unforgettable (and accurate) portrait of the heart and soul of the City of Angels and what makes it and its people unique. 'LA REQUIEM' is Crais' master work and is a great mystery to boot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2001

    Great Tale of Friendship

    Elvis Cole is among the coolest and wisest of all fiction private detectives. In LA Requiem, however, we learn the story of his partner, Joe Pike, who is falsely accused of murder. This is an excellent detective story, but I was captured by the spirit of friendship between the two men. This is perhaps my favorite mystery book of all time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2014

    Excellent

    I love the Elvis Cole/Joe Pike books. This one was so good. When is Elvis going to stop pining over Lucy. I get aggravated every time she is written about. She is a snob and not worthy of Cole. I was so hoping Elvis and Samantha were going to get together. Maybe one of these years Crais will write Lucy out and bring in someone fresh for Elvis to be enamored with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    good book...

    I recommend this fast paced page turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    PART TWO

    There was a knock on the door. I hid under the pillow and peeked out. Jack came in and took my cloths, putting them in the closet. He then lifted the pillow-and me. I dangled there, kicking the air. He wraped his hand around my waist and pulled my off the pillow and held me up to his face. I h<_>it his hand as hard as i could. "Does the dress fit well reba? I figured your clothes wouldnt shrink along with you, so i made that 4 inch dress." <p>I was 4 inches tall. (Not three as i thought.)<p> "Let me go jack!" I struggled and kicked, but he had a strong grip. Jack smiled and half closed his dark gray eyes. "No. Im going to hang onto you for a couple of days. Untill you grow 6 inches. Then i do the rest of my plans." I looked at him. "How tall will i grow untill i stop growing?" He smirked. "6 inches. Mabey 5. You'll never know untill it happens." He pulled out a toy cage from his backback and put me inside, putting a small lock on it and putting the key in his pocket. I yanked on the plastic bars as he put a small but heavy book on top. He closed and locked the door. Leaveing me alone in his room.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Burke and Cassidy

    Burke- A tall, tan guy with blonde hair and blue eyes. He wants to be the bartender and is very friendly. He is willing to "have a good time" and his sister is Cassidy.<p>
    Cassidy- A petite girl with red hair and green eyes. She wants to be a str<c>ipper and is very confident. She is willing to "have a good time" and her brother is Burke.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Story contest

    Hvgb

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    GREENSTAR

    Im GREENSTAR im 9 and im a boy with blackish gray hair i have black skin and im african-american

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Best yet

    I am new to Robert Crais & Elvis Cole, but now I can't stop reading this great series. Crais writes with humor and empathy, and with each ending leaves me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Good Book

    I like the humor.Great story, but I hope they loose the stupid girl friend, Lucy, in future books. Doland is a much more interesting character for a love interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Blackstar to Watchers

    You don't know everything. Not until it's too late.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    To watchers

    Can i help name is Eamon

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    The Watchers

    We see everything, even though you may think no one is there with you. We know all the secrets, and we will release them if we feel it serves our purpose. We are The Watchers, and we see everything ther is to be seen; we never miss a second of the roleplay, and we will never forget it. Beware, because we may report you, and there will be no mercy. Have yourselves a good day, but know that you will always be watched. This is The Watchers Inc. saying hi, and farewell.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Amber

    Hey srry i had to go school was over and no wifi at home :( but i can cha now! :)

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Lkaylee

    No...kaylee

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Amber

    She leaned back, arms crossed across her chest.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Diana

    U on?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Caramel

    Hey

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4