BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

L Is for Lawless (Kinsey Millhone Series #12)

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Diehard-Sue Grafton Fan

Loved it, but was mad at the end about how Kinsey was wronged!!! thats all I'm going to say, I don't want to give anything away.

posted by Ve on August 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not bad

This wasn't too bad. It was kind of slow in the beginning, but it got better. I still wish the endings were a little more detailed.

Kinsey's skills are about to be sorely tested. She is about to meet her duplicitous match in a couple of world-class prevaricators wh...
This wasn't too bad. It was kind of slow in the beginning, but it got better. I still wish the endings were a little more detailed.

Kinsey's skills are about to be sorely tested. She is about to meet her duplicitous match in a couple of world-class prevaricators who quite literally take her for the ride of her life.

"L" Is for Lawless: Call it Kinsey Millhone in bad company. Call it a mystery without a murder, a treasure hunt without a map, a quest novel with truly mixed-up motives. Call it the return of Kinsey as bad girl-- quick-witted and quicksilvery, smart-mouthed and smart-alecky-- poking her nose into everyone's dirty laundry as she joins up with a modern-day Bonnie and Clyde in an Our Gang comedy that will take her halfway across the country and leave her with a major headache and an empty bank balance.

America's favorite borderline delinquent is back with her one-liners on tap and her energy level on high, romping through her fastest and funniest adventure in this, her twelfth foray into the alphabet of crime.

"A" Is for Alibi
"B" Is for Burglar
"C" Is for Corpse
"D" Is for Deadbeat
"E" Is for Evidence
"F" Is for Fugitive
"G" Is for Gumshoe
"H" Is for Homicide
"I" Is for Innocent
"J" Is for Judgment
"K" Is for Killer
"L" is for Lawless
"M" Is for Malice
"N" Is for Noose
"O" Is for Outlaw

Kinsey Millhone's latest is her most spellbinding mystery yet--and her biggest book to date! When Kinsey agrees to do a favor for her elderly landlord, she finds herself on the trail of a decades-old crime.

posted by Slim20 on April 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not bad

    This wasn't too bad. It was kind of slow in the beginning, but it got better. I still wish the endings were a little more detailed.

    Kinsey's skills are about to be sorely tested. She is about to meet her duplicitous match in a couple of world-class prevaricators who quite literally take her for the ride of her life.

    "L" Is for Lawless: Call it Kinsey Millhone in bad company. Call it a mystery without a murder, a treasure hunt without a map, a quest novel with truly mixed-up motives. Call it the return of Kinsey as bad girl-- quick-witted and quicksilvery, smart-mouthed and smart-alecky-- poking her nose into everyone's dirty laundry as she joins up with a modern-day Bonnie and Clyde in an Our Gang comedy that will take her halfway across the country and leave her with a major headache and an empty bank balance.

    America's favorite borderline delinquent is back with her one-liners on tap and her energy level on high, romping through her fastest and funniest adventure in this, her twelfth foray into the alphabet of crime.

    "A" Is for Alibi
    "B" Is for Burglar
    "C" Is for Corpse
    "D" Is for Deadbeat
    "E" Is for Evidence
    "F" Is for Fugitive
    "G" Is for Gumshoe
    "H" Is for Homicide
    "I" Is for Innocent
    "J" Is for Judgment
    "K" Is for Killer
    "L" is for Lawless
    "M" Is for Malice
    "N" Is for Noose
    "O" Is for Outlaw

    Kinsey Millhone's latest is her most spellbinding mystery yet--and her biggest book to date! When Kinsey agrees to do a favor for her elderly landlord, she finds herself on the trail of a decades-old crime.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Diehard-Sue Grafton Fan

    Loved it, but was mad at the end about how Kinsey was wronged!!! thats all I'm going to say, I don't want to give anything away.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    L is for Lawless

    This was yet another great read from Sue Grafton. Kinsey was exploring being apart of a family for some of the book. Short on money and short on help from her employer she trys to find out the mystery of her employers father's past. The only problem is he is not even sure what they are looking for. She is in for a surprise when she makes friends with an ex con and his daughter. Surprises are throughout and you never know where she is going next... and honestly neither does she.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    Like tthe book

    Always like Sue Grafton books and this one did not disappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    enjoy the series

    just another good read by Sue Grafton. I enjoy the Kinsey Miilhone series. Do not have to read them in alphabetical order

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Boring - an absolute waste of time.

    This one is a real page turner. I kept turning the page to avoid falling asleep. I have enjoyed this series up until now. L to me means Last One!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2006

    Enjoyable

    The plot and characters were interesting. There were some dull parts but for the most part enjoyable reading. I've read some of the other books in this series and this was one of the best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2002

    Wonderful Story, Her Best

    I have read several from her series, I started with L and none have been able to match it. The story is a bit different than the rest and definately a page turner. If you only read one of Ms. Grafton's books make it this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    uiouoj ,

    wyuowk,
    mu
    o,l mll
    ,
    opinion jqvb.Main number .,
    o

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Hdbebc

    Nlcnqbfiwn

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Hi

    I s it true?<_>

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    As good as the first

    Staying power still a good read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Not bad....not good

    Most of her books are better. This one is about a 5 out of 10..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    disapointed

    I WAS DISAPPOINTED IN THE ENDING.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2006

    Good mystery about career criminals

    It can be a great mistake to do a favor for a friend of a friend, as Kinsey Millhone learns the hard way. As a favor to her landlord, the good-hearted Henry Pitts, Kinsey agrees to help the family of John Lee get a proper veteran's funeral. Lee, after all, served his country heroically as a Flying Tiger, fighting the Japanese in Burma on the eve of World War II. Yet, strangely, the Air Force cannot verify his service. Kinsey agrees to help find out what the problem is, and discovers that she has taken on much more than she bargained for... 'L' is for Lawless is full of good writing, interesting observations about life, and interesting descriptions of real facets of our existence (locks and safes in this case). It contains a really excellent portrayal of what it is like to become involved with career criminals, habitual liars, and habitually violent men. It contains good portrayals of family bickering, of mutual disdain in families, and of thoroughly aggravating stupidity. It also contains some ingenious ideas on the art of hiding money, even over decades, and some interesting pointers on the art of being cheap. In my opinion, the main flaw of the novel lies in the dialog. Kinsey slips into easy conversation about personal matters with people whom she dislikes and distrusts and who return her feelings--something that people seldom really do. In the same vein, dialog about ordinary matters occurs at moments of great stress, such as the aftermath of a shooting, where it seems inconsistent with the characters' likely moods and preoccupations. At the end, a hardened criminal explains his misdeeds to people that he is about to kill. All of this comes across as clumsy attempts to feed the reader information. All in all, however, 'L' is for Lawless is a captivating yarn, always interesting, never tedious. I recommend it highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2001

    'L' is for Lucky Kinsey!!!

    Kinsey is lucky to get out alive in this one, but if she did not, don't guess there would be an 'M'. I have read all the series through 'L'. Each one sems to get a little better if that is possible. The characters are good in this one and Grafton describes them so well you can see them in you mind. No need for me to describe the story as you can read that above. I liked the part when Kinsey pretended to be a hotel maid. I was afraid she would get caught. Did she???? I also liked the granny with the shotgun and ball bat. A real good read, not a heavy, scary mystery but one you can relate to and easy to read. I would really recommend 'L'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2001

    She's doing it again

    Year by year Sue Graftoin gives us an exciting, mystery thriller in the life of PI Kinsey Milhone. Almost half way through the alphabet one wonders what Ms Grafton has in store for us in 2012. This is a novel of mix-ups though the assignment seems straightforward. Kinsey agrees to check out why a family friend, now deceased, has no military record when he claimed to be a fighter pilot during WWII. Despite trecking around the country with only the clothes she stand up in Kinsey still retains her sharp sense of humour.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3