Customer Reviews for

L.A. Confidential (L.A. Quartet #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2001

    Gritty and Complex

    The characters are three-dimensional and the engaging plot is gritty and complex. Ellroy's masterpiece of crime and corruption in 1950s L.A. is a must for crime fiction fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2000

    One of the BEST books I've read!

    I breezed through this book in a blur of a weekend, simply unable to put it down. Ellroy's words fly off the page and come at you like bullets. His noir, hard-as-nails style is hynotic. The plot is intricate, the characters well drawn, and the ending is satisfying. He does not insult the reader by assuming he or she cannot follow along labyrinth-like plotting. If you want light reading, forget it. But if you like twisting, turning mysteries and pulse-pounding suspense, BUY THIS BOOK!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    One of the best

    One of the best books in this genre that I have read in years. Plot twists up until the end. Main and bit players in the book are unforgettable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    The Nook version has some editing problems. e.g., "Calendar

    The Nook version has some editing problems. e.g., "Calendar 1957" has sections that repeat four or more times. I HOPE that there's no missing text.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    Intense - Great Read!

    I have to admit, this is the first James Ellroy book I've read - and don't know why I haven't read his books prior to this one. It took me a while to get used to his style of writing, but written in any other style just wouldn't have worked to get the feel of what's going through the detectives' heads (I mean, you could actually feel the adreneline going through Bud's head)...how they are playing out the crime scenes individually then coming together with their own theories.....the book moves so fast there were parts I had to re-read. Ellroy does not sugarcoat anything he puts before the reader...gritty, raw and intense and what we had before us were very flawed men and in the end, it all comes together. I will be reading more of Ellway, that's for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    Shadowed - Like the L.A. Night

    Who's right and who's wrong? That's the question Ellroy begs readers to ask in LA Confidential. Is it Johnathan 'Jack' Vincenness, a vice cop who sells his soul one Hush-Hush punchline at a time? Wendell 'Bud' White with his moral crusade against women beaters? Or is it Edmund 'Ed' Exley, a rich kid trying to surpass his father in command and ambition? But justice is like the L.A. night Ellroy finely portrays - a dull gray with an occasional street light throwing light and shadow on both plot and its characters, who might be ugly, but not matter how hard you try, you can't stop yourself from riding along. (Blunt, hard prose takes a bit getting used to but fits the story well)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2001

    Incredible!!!!!

    This book was incredible. It doesn't seem as long as it is, because it moves at a phenomenal pace. It is more layered than any book I know. The three main characters are completely different policemen, and never boring. I suggest reading it more than once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2000

    Stylish '50's Crime Saga

    Ellroy's gritty and hard-hitting novel set in 1950's Los Angeles grips the reader in a vortex of violence and corruption. Reads like a whirlwind! Much better than the movie version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2000

    reading is believing

    l.a.confindential does not feel like a 400+ page book. james ellroy style of writng puts you in the 50s with is descriptive characters and well drawn scenery. worth the buy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1