Customer Reviews for

L.D. 50

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing album by mudvayne!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    mudvayne rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    alot better than trivium

    this band is just amazing one very amazing band this band is super sweet and super awesome blows trivium out of the water

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    mudvayne rocks!!!

    this cd is exceptional it led the way for mudvaynes latest album lost and found which is great i highly reccomend both

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    rocks

    You wanna rock to an album, buy this. Has some slow rock, then has the hard good stuff. awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Most mind blowing metal out there

    This is the best metal album and the absolute best artist out there. The album starts out with Monolith, featuring samples taken from anywhere and everywhere with a creepy repeat of "open your mind" and a speech about evolution taken from 2001: a space odysee. it transforms into dig, an extreme industrial masterpiece. when you think it cant get any better the next song, internal primates forever, keeps you listening and headbanging. -1 is the most beautiful song on here, and it is soft for a change until kud announces that youweretheone. deathblooms, the 5th track, is one of the less harsher songs yet is still incredible. Golden ratio is kind of an intermission, and trust me you need it. it hurts listening to these guys for so long. cradle introduces very artistic bass and lyrics about birth (? breath,... push) i guess. nothing to gein is the only clean song and is very strange with the best lyrics ever. "if i wash my hands in others blood am i sick?". mutatis mutandis is another intermission. everything and nothing is like, world is hell but there is hope... i guess. severed is another masterpiece with wonderful guitars and bass and recombinant resurgence (try looking up the meanings to the titles their cool) is soft and odd.... prod is very rhythmitic and hypnotizing. pharmaecopia has the most mind blowing lyrics if you can understand him. Under my skin is the second heaviest song next to dig and is one of my faves. It is rather empowering. (K)now F(orever) is the last real song, but dont stop now. very hypnotizing music, these guys have real talent. Lethal dosage is scary. i feel like im dieing when i listen to that. MORAL TO THE STORY:: get this cd. beautiful and artistic metal here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LD 50 isn't understood.

    I gave this cd 5 stars becasue I know that MuDvAyNe is only trying to be different from what is expected. Some say the lyrics in LD50 are pointless, or too "messy". Well, if you took the time to LISTEN to the lyrics, and understand what they mean, I think you'll find that they are heartfelt, and yet, crushing. Sometimes I don't know how the lead singer, KuD or Chud, writes the lyrics. I also understand that some people dont enjoy, high energy, to the point music. If you cant handle what MuDvAyNe is dishing out, DONT TRY TO!!! It takes a certain understanding to FEEL Mudvaynes true talent. I believe that anyone who gives this album a bad review is only doing so becasue they were afraid of music that is so different, and couldn't handle the intensity. Plus, I think the album flows all together, and seems to take on a life force after a while. I am DiRtVaYne...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    L.D. 50

    Travis Timmerman, no offense you don't know much about music. Why you put down that you're a 15yr old bewilders me but it does explain your ridiculous inaccurate review. For those reading this, travis's review is towards the end and he hasn't put down his email address(makes sense as there would be alot of angry emails from angry fans coming your way. If u don't like this album u really shouldn't be listening to heavy music, because any heavy fan knows how talented this band is. You're only 15 boy so god knows what you're listening to. In 5 years when you've grown up give it another listen, u might change your mind, or see them live:it will blow you away

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    L.D. 50

    Wow, what a band, what an album! For a 4 piece these guys are bloody loud and after listening to the album their talent is easily seen. With all these bands and singers nowadays sounding pretty much the same and ruining metal, ie static X, adema (or was it Korn hmmm),it's awesome to see a ground breaking band with it's own sound. The standout in the band is easily bassist Rhino who can basically do anything with a five string. That's not taking away from other members who are also quite fancy musos. Live, i don't know how these guys keep up with each other as they're all so fast.But they do it well. 'Dig', 'Death Blooms' 'Everything and Nothing are standouts in a mammoth album. Can't wait for new album that's if it ever gets here. I'm from Australia and they keep putting it back week after week like they did with the DVD. Don't know whether they believe the stuff they're preaching or if it's a clever gimmick. Who cares, they rock anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the future...

    This album and band is a firestorm that couldn't come at a better time. While other bands just try to hit with shock value and noise, these guys do that better, hit with furious chops, tight musical arrangements, killer lyrics, stunning vocals, moody melodies, and pure GUT wrenching power. These guys are the future, this album is incredible, I haven't heard anything like it so mindblowing... Ryknow is god.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awesome

    this cd is awesome i like it beter then the first slipknot and way better then any cd i own. if u like slipknot u will like mudvayne so bye this cd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great music, but don't read the lyrics.

    I'm listening to this CD right now. I've heard precise, angry, no, right pissed-off music before but nothing this aggressive. The musicianship is nothing less than extraordinary. Some music goes straight to the head (i.e. RUSH), some goes for the gut (i.e. My Life with the ThrillKillKult) but this is music that grabs you by the inside of the sphincter and pulls you inside out. But don't read the lyrics while you're listening to it. If you concentrate on what they're saying it really kills the intestine-ripping intensity. Just listen and let it touch you in all the wrong places. For lack of a better metaphor, it's accoustic prison-lovin'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Mudvayne just pure good music

    I like bands like slipknot PM5K static x and alot of other heavy bands. When i first herd this cd I said nothing special. Then when i bought the cd It was like a whole different cd. mudvayne has put meaning into every song and thats why the songs are so good. mudvayne is just good. that's it just good music all around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Mudvayne is cheap rip off of Slipknot

    I recently bought the Mudvayne cd after listening to their song Dig. I expected them to be a little like Slipknot because one of their executive producers is Shawn Crahan no.6 from Slipknot. Althought that one track was pretty good, the others got worse and worse as I listened. They were just screeching and something like the sound of the guy from Wheatus. If you don't know him he sounds like a girl. The songs do not have a beat either, they are more noise than music!! There are seventeen tracks, 13 bad songs, 2 ok songs, and one good song. The only people who would actually buy this cd after listening to it would be the actual members of Mudvayne themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    MINDBLOWING!!!

    mix the zen and eastern philosphical nature and melodic sound of modern tool with the brutal sound of slipknot and morbid angel and you get Mudvayne - in the most broad sense want a better sample check out napster

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    how kool can a cd be???

    With the likes of metal bands like Slipknot and Static-X running the metal front, it's kind of hard to get the attention you deserve. Not Mudvayne, with their full-on metal riffs accompanied by the all out growl of lead singer Kud, it's kind of hard not to imagine them not being the next big thing. With songs like Dig and Internal Primates Forever, the record just keeps you hooked. I would definitely recommend this to any metal-head out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best band of 2000...bar none

    There is no better band than this one, listen to ''Dig'' and ''Nothing to Gein'' or possibly ''Cradle''....any of them, and I guarentee you will agree. After listening to this album, there is no doubt that Mudvayne is in fact god.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Next big thing

    I was fortunate enogh to get my hands on an advanced copy of this cd and..... WOW!!!! These guys are gonna be the next big thing. on of the best new bands I've heard in a while. Every one who likes Heavy Metal go out and buy this and be the first on your block to experience this great cd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Mudvayne is god

    With bands like Slipknot, Deftones, Relative Ash, and Hatebreed representing the whole of Metaldome, it is only necessary for an heir to the thron to take their seats at their rightful place. Mudvayne is this heir, annihilating everything in it's path. This is the best music I have ever heard, and to be quite frank, it puts to shame all in its path, including Slipknot and Deftones. Listen to Dig, Nothing To Gein, Under My Skin, and my favorite, Cradle, to get the best muddy and bloody experience out of their music. The leads vocals are like Maynard James Keenan meets Corey Taylor, Max Cavalara, Chino Moreno, times ten. This is the most impressive album of the new millenia and expect only good things from this band.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2