Customer Reviews for

LDS Scriptures

Average Rating 4
( 583 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(396)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

great combo of books.

The ebook is nice. As a reply to an earlier comment, this ebook is "LDS Scriptures". Why would you comment on a religous text you most likely have NEVER read and most certainly did not purchase? Your religous views are not what B&N wanted posted here.

posted by 4772871 on December 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Good enough

Good:
o has all the standard works
o has additional books and materials
o links allow you to drill down by volume, book, chapter, and (if wanted) verse. [Note to reviewer who complained you had to scroll 138 verses: You don't]

Could be better:
o links are standar...
Good:
o has all the standard works
o has additional books and materials
o links allow you to drill down by volume, book, chapter, and (if wanted) verse. [Note to reviewer who complained you had to scroll 138 verses: You don't]

Could be better:
o links are standard HTML hyperlinks, which is fine with Nook for PC, but on the Color Nook, the human finger is just too fat to hit them with any accuracy. I couldn't find any way to zoom in on them.

posted by Jaellon on December 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    Navigation is terrible!

    Indexing and navigation prohibits use as a study tool. Acceptable if engaged in narrative reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Multiple issues.

    What this contains is accurate, no spelling or context errors. But it is extremely slow, just opening it takes around 10 seconds. It glitches up alot and sometimes wonn't let me read it and I have to reset my nook. 50% of the time the highlighting feature in all nook books won't work for these scriptures. Also, it occasionally won't show the page number and will not let me "go to" a page. If your looking to get some good, complete, accurate, and smooth scriptures for your nook then i suggest you buy a triple combination, kj bible, and lds hymnbook seperately. It will be a little cheaper and be MUCH easier to use.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Its alright

    Its very slow but its understandable with four thousand pages. Not very easy to navigate. I wouldnt recomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    it has it's good points

    There are missing pages in this book. It is hard to move from one book to another for study. I would not recommend this set of scriptures to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good, but am sad

    I loved having this book on my Nook; but due to the software update it is now unloadable on the e-reader. If you have the 1.5, you will be fine; not the newer version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    Difficult to manuever

    There are no cross references or footnotes. Nor are there any chapter headings. Makes it hard to compare verses etc...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    This edition has severely limited value

    In my optimism, I downloaded this (even having read the negative reviews). They were correct in terms of the difficulty in getting from book to book and / or chapter to chapter (verse to verse, etc.). By increasing the font on my NookColor enough to tap a book title or chapter / verse number, then the reading text is HUGE. Otherwise, however, the numbers / titles are too small to tap with a finger and a pen / stylus doesn't work for that purpose. So several "processes" are required to get to particular chapters / verses with any precision.
    A significant problem with the version (among other things!)is that the top line on the screen only says "LDS Scriptures" and then compounds the confusion by including (very unhelpfully) "3625 of 11916", for example. Well, I "forgot" which book / verses that includes... With only a couple of extra taps, I can pinpoint that these verses are in the Book of Mormon---But Where? The NookColor slider bar doesn't work well for moving from page to page in this version. So, moving it only slightly takes me from the B of M to the NT, not to the next page in the B of M.
    So, Lots of Bothersome things. For now, it will have to suffice when I perch "somewhere" and want to read "something" from the scriptures. (Thus, 2 stars...) Otherwise, I would ask Barnes and Noble for a refund. However, the Publisher of the program OWES all purchasers an immediate upgrade at no additional charge!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2