Customer Reviews for

LDS Scriptures

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great resourse

This app has it all and is a great tool. I especially love that you can listen to the scriptures. I would highly recommend.

posted by 2256935 on September 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not as much as they claim...

I have the other LDS Scriptures app on my phone and am really happy with it. I got this one for my nook color because it claimed to have ALL the magazines and art work. The web page they make you go to is not very user friendly and getting the magazines on the nook is a...
I have the other LDS Scriptures app on my phone and am really happy with it. I got this one for my nook color because it claimed to have ALL the magazines and art work. The web page they make you go to is not very user friendly and getting the magazines on the nook is a bit difficult. It does not even have the art work I was hoping for! Their version for the iPad has it, but not for the nook. They need to change their description because it's missleading. Thinking about RETURNING it. I do like that is has the YW PP and the Faith in God, but no way of keeping track of what you've already done.

posted by Just_Learning on October 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Great Study App

    Love that this app has pinch to zoom so I can make the fonts as large as I want to read. Love that as I study a subject I can have bookmarks organized into folders, helps me keep my thoughts organized and know exactly where I found a scripture or quote. The advanced marking is wonderful being able to highlight or underline a single word is a great study aid as well. I also love having a mark by a verse that I have written a note in although occassionally my note won't save.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Great resourse

    This app has it all and is a great tool. I especially love that you can listen to the scriptures. I would highly recommend.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Incredibly helpful

    It's amazing that I can now have access to the entire gospel with my nook. You can have different tabs open to different parts within the app and easily jump back and forth between them. Really cool! I didn't even need to carry my paper scriptures with me to church yesterday.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    Thank you!

    I have this on my ipad and love it and I've been waiting on you to make a version for my Nook color.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Not as much as they claim...

    I have the other LDS Scriptures app on my phone and am really happy with it. I got this one for my nook color because it claimed to have ALL the magazines and art work. The web page they make you go to is not very user friendly and getting the magazines on the nook is a bit difficult. It does not even have the art work I was hoping for! Their version for the iPad has it, but not for the nook. They need to change their description because it's missleading. Thinking about RETURNING it. I do like that is has the YW PP and the Faith in God, but no way of keeping track of what you've already done.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    I think there is confusion

    I think some people are confusing the app vs the ebook. The app allows you to look up any scripture you want and go right to the very verse. No paging through. You have to page through on the ebook though. The app also includes all the manuals, conference talks from last 2 years, resource information, footnotes in link form, hymns, childrens song book, etc. This is a great app and well worth the money I paid for it (twice even so i could have it on my phone and Nook tablet). Make sure youknow what you are reviewingwhen you write a review. My only issue has been that it sometimes wont save my notes and it doesnt always take me back where I was after writing a note. Otherwise great app.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    LDS Scriptures is Great

    I love it. My daughter told me about this app. It is truly the best app I've been introduced to. The tabs work wonderfully.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Anonymous Feb 8, 2014

    At one time this app was state of the art Now it is nearly useless. Definitely a waste of money.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    Spectacular!

    By far the best scripture app ... I would pay double.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Do NOT buy

    I used to love this app, but once you purchase it, the program will no longer update. Recently, when I opened the program, everything except the scriptures and the hyms have disappeared. No more general conference talks, magazines, manuals, or the additional resources such as For the Standard of Youth or the Family A Proclamation to the World. Even my notes and highlights have disappeared. I am genuinely upset by this, especialky after paying $15 for an app that now provides less than many of the free apps out there. Unless this company takes responsibility and fixes their problems, I HIGHLY ADVISE YOU NOT TO PURCHASE THIS PROGRAM.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    A few kinks

    I love that i have the scriptures readily available on my nook. But im not really impressed. It lags and i dont seem to have the option bar anymore. So its very difficult to get around. Also wish it would play the videos instead of error pop ups and had notes for music.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Incredibly Slow!

    I have this same app on my iPad and it's great. But on the Nook Tablet it is slow to the point of being unusable. For example going from one chapter to the next in the B of M takes almost 30 seconds!

    I uninstalled and reinstalled which made no difference.

    I sideloaded Gospel Library and it goes from chapter to chapter instantly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    I love it!

    ... but how do you get Ensign on it? I cant find away to get it!... help!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Blessing

    This is one of the best Apps I have every seen or purchased. The cost made me wait, but after buying it, I am so happy. I have started reading the Book Of Mormon again, and have downloaded study guides to help me. I thank the makers of this app, and I recommend it to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    Best LDS App

    I like reading an actual book better, but I can't always carry my quad with me. Great job.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    Great

    Solid app.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    Great app! All my friends have it!

    I like this scriptures app. The ability to have book marks in folders for my studies is what really stood out to me. Overall great scriptures app.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Love it, love it

    I highly recommend this lds app. The tabs make it a dream to use!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    Good for scriptures...but other features suck

    I bought this mainly for all the added features it is supoosed to have for my nook color. Its great for scriptures....but that's it! The app won't let me create an account for my library citing that I need to be connected to a wi-fi or cellular connection when I'm already connected to wi-fi. Ive even gine so far as to getting on another app that requires wi-fi to make sure it wasnt my wi-fi. I've tried multiple times to create an account to use the other added features and can't.
    For the money spent on this app and to only be able to use the scripture portion is crap. I could have gotten an app for those for free.
    Don't waste your time or money buying this app

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    BOM won't show up on my nook

    The book titles are there but when I click the chapter, the screen goes dark and nothing happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3