Customer Reviews for

Losing It (Losing It Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 878 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(440)

4 Star

(270)

3 Star

(95)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

The cover says it all....

They say you should never judge a book by its cover...

In this case you should!

This was a quick read. It grabs you immediately and keeps a steady pace all the way through.i am usually upset when books are this short but for this one it worked. I felt like we got...
They say you should never judge a book by its cover...

In this case you should!

This was a quick read. It grabs you immediately and keeps a steady pace all the way through.i am usually upset when books are this short but for this one it worked. I felt like we got enough of Bliss and Garrick with there being plenty of room for the supporting characters (oh Cade!). I loved seeing Bliss grow over the course of the book. And how her relationship with Garrick developed. And there is enough steam between the two without it being overdone (not that I don't LOVE my hot steamy books but sometimes it is nice just to have the hint of it, ya know?!).

This is a great debut novel for Ms. Carmack and I look forward to reading her future work

posted by BeckyN on October 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Loved this book!

This was a very sweet and romantic story. I really enjoyed the dynamics between all of the charachters.
Who could resist a gorgeous British guy with a sexy accent who is honest and actually says what he means and who has such strong and passionate feelings fo...
This was a very sweet and romantic story. I really enjoyed the dynamics between all of the charachters.
Who could resist a gorgeous British guy with a sexy accent who is honest and actually says what he means and who has such strong and passionate feelings for the awkward, funny quirky girl that captivated him from the day they first met.
Very well written. I can't wait to read more from this new and talented author!

posted by 3514793 on October 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 270 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Cute, sexy, and funny

    Besides a minor grammatical error here and there, I enjoyed this book. Lots of laugh out loud moments and steamy but tasteful love scenes :)

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    The story line was sweet. It was not the best book I have ever r

    The story line was sweet. It was not the best book I have ever read but I did enjoy the characters. It was not the kind of book that kept you wanting more though. It would be a good quick read for somebody who is wanting to just relax.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Sweet romance

    Book is so much better than the summary.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Great read - sweet story!

    I just loved this book! I bought it on a whim and could not put it down. The story is great - funny, sweet, smart - and the characters are really engaging. This book was really well written and I would definitely recommend this read if you are looking for something lighter, but it still packs a lot of good emotion.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Entertaining!

    Worth your time and money! Cute and sweet story. Not long (150 pages) but doesn't leave you hanging at the end either.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Very good

    Great book to escape with. You love the characters and everyone can relate!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    My favorite things about this book were the cover, Hamlet the ca

    My favorite things about this book were the cover, Hamlet the cat, Cade and Kelsey (the secondary characters), and that the book was really funny! My only complaint was that there wasn't more to read! Highly recommend if you're looking for a quick, funny romance. 

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    Really Liked it.

    One word.... accent! There, now read the book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    4 instead if 5 byt only because teacher-student boundary

    I truly enjoyed this book. would have rated five stars but teacher-student relationships are never a good idea to me. Potential for taking advantage is too great. That said, the author wrote their story with humor and passion. angst was a given, considering their age. i will look for more books by this author.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Light and lovely

    I think this is the kind of book that I will read over and over when I am in a bad mood to lift my spirits. Very fun and cute.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Good book

    I enjoyed this book. It was a quick read and at times had me laughing out loud. I liked both the characters and their story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Intelligent characters

    Loved the character exchanges. They were witty and endearing. Interesting interplay of friendship and love relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Great Read!

    This was an easy, light book. A cute story, a little questionable since he was her teacher, but that didn't bother me she is an adult. Would recommend reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2014

    Such a fascinating and humorous book. You can't stop turning the

    Such a fascinating and humorous book. You can't stop turning the pages to see where Bliss will go next with her funny and heartwarming journey. Cora Carmack is one of my new favourite authors.




    There where so many things I loved about this book. I loved the completely relatable protagonist, Bliss Edwards. She is so very awkward and I think that's what I loved about her. She was very relevant to today's society, although I don't think I've ever met someone over 21 who is not a virgin. I thought it was cute that she was a virgin and it was nice that her first would be her last. I loved Kelsey as how she was a party girl, the complete opposite of Bliss, and was all to pleased to discover she gets a book, Finding It.




    On to Garrick. I loved him. He is now officially part of my list of book boyfriends. I love him because of his accent, and kindness, and romantic side... there where just so many amazing things about him that I would love to just name off on a list. He was smart, funny, romantic, sweet, patient. One of the best parts of him is when Bliss would try to have sex with him, he would always make sure this was exactly what she wanted. He was just so sweet.




    This book made me laugh from page to page and it is one of the few books that I laughed out loud while reading. It made me squrim in my seat when awkward things happened to Bliss. It was entertaining seeing how unfortunate Bliss was. She went outside in her bra and panties, she got mono, came up with horrible excuses that caused her many more problems then she needed. Oh yeah, and she tried to have sex with a guy that turned out to be her teacher.




    I like this cover lots, but I prefer the old one, where you can see his face because with his face I can kind of imagine what he would look like. With this, I don't like how I can see her face, but not his. But I do love the format of the cover, the font and the sizing of the words.




    If you love romance, humor, and the fast growing genre, New Adult, then you'll love this.
    Rating: 7.7/10
    Parental Rating: 16+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Good

    Moved smoothly...only gripe : the culmination at the end and then BAM! 6 months later. Otherwise, good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    Confession: I had no intention of reading Losing It, and it just

    Confession: I had no intention of reading Losing It, and it just so happened that fate stepped in. And by fate, I mean I was gifted a copy from HCC at their Fall Preview Event for bloggers, when they surprised us with a guest appearance from Cora Carmack to sign copies of Losing It for all of us! And after meeting Cora (I should also add here that I've talked to her before through blogging!) I decided I'd give my first New Adult book a whirl.




    And you know what? I liked it.




    Losing It is my favourite of the series, because I love the sense of humour that Cora writes so well. I can absolutely relate to Bliss and her many awkward moments, and her confusion and fear associated with growing up and taking on more responsibility. This is the kind of NA book I'm happy to read - yes, there's romance and a strong emphasis on it. But the romance isn't overpowering nor does it detract from the rest of the story. There are messy, crazy moments that Bliss has to learn to navigate and it doesn't always work out ideally.




    Review copy received from HarperCollins Canada; no other compensation was received. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Worth the read

    I could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2013

    I really liked this book, in fact I read it in one sitting. I l

    I really liked this book, in fact I read it in one sitting. I loved the characters and the friendships. This is a young adult book so some of the story took me straight back to my younger days. Very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    So good.

    If you are addicted to the new adult genre like I am, then this bookis for you. I could not put it down. Read it less than a day. Cant wait to read the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2013

    Bliss Edwards is entering her final semester of college a virgin

    Bliss Edwards is entering her final semester of college a virgin and that is not okay with her. She confides in her best friend, Kelsey Summers, and the two make plans to go out that night to rid Bliss of her virginity. At a bar Bliss meets Garrick Taylor, a young English transplant, reading Shakespeare. The two have an instant connection that leads to Bliss taking him back to her apartment. Unbeknownst to both at the time, Garrick is one of Bliss's new college professors.




    Losing It had me hooked from the first word to the last word. Carmack brings much sought after realism to the New Adult genre. There is realistic banter and just fun to the way she has her characters interact with each other. Bliss and her friends remind me of my own. Her affair with Garrick, while stressful, also has that added realism. I've not read one author in this genre who has made me feel like I could actually live in their world like Carmack has. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 270 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14