Customer Reviews for

LURE

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

My new BFF!

I LOVED THIS BOOK! I have to say that Stephanie Jenkins is a VERY entertaining writer. There are so many good things I can say about this book. Suspenseful, comical, romantic, PARANORMAL! I love YA Paranormal/UF Romance and this book gave me butterflies several times. T...
I LOVED THIS BOOK! I have to say that Stephanie Jenkins is a VERY entertaining writer. There are so many good things I can say about this book. Suspenseful, comical, romantic, PARANORMAL! I love YA Paranormal/UF Romance and this book gave me butterflies several times. The story is amazing, her writing style is extremely compelling and the characters are fantastic!

While reading, I couldn't take my eyes off of my laptop (I don't have an eBook reader)! The only time I pried my eyes from my computer was when I would become consciously aware that I had a big grin on my face and I wanted to make sure my husband didn't notice. After reading about 2/3, I had to go to bed so I went crazy at work the next day because I wanted to go home and read! Let me tell you, obsessing about a book is not very productive. But I did take some time out of my day to say this about the book. click here to read my Currently Reading review of Lure.

The main character Charlotte (or as Wyatt would say "Charrrr-liiiit"), cracks me up! She and I should be BFF's! About a week ago, Author Tiffany posted on her blog, "If you could spend a day with any fictional character from a book, who would it be?" Originally I picked Fred and George Weasley, (I was debating Rose from Vampire Academy or Jace from Mortal Instruments), but hands down I would pick Charlotte from Lure any day! Throughout the whole book Charlotte kept up this smart-ass attitude; when she was happy, sad, irritated, angry, even when I would least expect it. I absolutely loved it! The majority of the time she would keep her smart remarks to herself, but not always! Charlotte, alone, was a lot of fun to read!

Not only is Charlotte my new BFF, but all the characters have these fun little quirks about them. A lot of the characters call each other by their last names and it's not just the guys. The hottie, Robbins (Matt), calls Charlotte "Goose" because she puked Grey Goose on his shoes. Charlotte's boss is a maniac. Gotta love Lorelei! And,... Golden Boy!!! What can I say?

Anyways, this is for sure a must read!

posted by bookluvrmindy on April 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I wanted so very-much to love this book... The story started ou

I wanted so very-much to love this book...

The story started out a bit slow but quickly picked up pace around page 30 or so. I ended up finishing Lure fairly quickly, however I was left with a lot of mixed emotions that were weighed down by the negative.

When it comes...
I wanted so very-much to love this book...

The story started out a bit slow but quickly picked up pace around page 30 or so. I ended up finishing Lure fairly quickly, however I was left with a lot of mixed emotions that were weighed down by the negative.

When it comes to supernatural YA books it feels like the characters interchange between Vampires, Werewolves, Zombies, or Witches, therefore I found it very refreshing to read about Sirens. I found that Lure did a pretty good job of taking well-known Greek Mythological stories and creatures and giving them its own twist, but I don’t think the story lines were fully fleshed out. I was confused quite a bit due to gaps in the plot and it was hard at times to connect different threads in order to get the story to make sense. On the other hand, even though the story line began to annoy me, there was enough allure to keep me interested in reaching the end. When it comes down to it though, I don’t think I’d eagerly recommend this book to a friend. Although Charlotte’s story is original and refreshing the other elements such as a strong characters, were missing.

A big aspect of what I consider a “good” book is deep and well-developed characters, unfortunately I felt like Lure lacked this completely. The main character, Charlotte, to be honest, annoyed me. In the beginning she was this angry girl who had shields up around everyone, including her supposed best friends, Andy and Sophie. By the end of the book she was exactly the same except she was a siren. Basically there was no character development whatsoever. To be a siren meant you were soul-less, having lost the ability to feel true emotions. However, Charlotte already had trouble feeling emotions when she was human. Throughout the book she kept having these epiphanies where she wondered and reveled in the fact that her friends actually “cared” about her especially whenever she’d have an accident (which happened quite a lot) or disappeared into her rooms for days. Also, for a girl who had trouble feeling emotions, she was awfully moody which I feel would invalidate her Siren-esque aspects… Very confusing.

The supporting characters were pretty lifeless, especially Andy and Sophie. The two would pretty much disappear (figuratively speaking) for days and when they showed up all we’d really get is more references to Andy’s afro-hairstyle and the big drug/pill-popping addiction Sophie couldn’t kick. I wish they had been fleshed out some more because it seemed like they had a lot of potential; they were pretty much useless.

Overall I’d rate this book 2.5 stars. I’m curious to see how the story continues (book 2 has already been released) especially since my only real, favorite character, Matt seems to play a bigger role. Out of all the characters he seems to have the biggest potential. However It’ll most likely be a while before I grab the second book.

posted by Some_Reading_Required on March 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    My new BFF!

    I LOVED THIS BOOK! I have to say that Stephanie Jenkins is a VERY entertaining writer. There are so many good things I can say about this book. Suspenseful, comical, romantic, PARANORMAL! I love YA Paranormal/UF Romance and this book gave me butterflies several times. The story is amazing, her writing style is extremely compelling and the characters are fantastic!

    While reading, I couldn't take my eyes off of my laptop (I don't have an eBook reader)! The only time I pried my eyes from my computer was when I would become consciously aware that I had a big grin on my face and I wanted to make sure my husband didn't notice. After reading about 2/3, I had to go to bed so I went crazy at work the next day because I wanted to go home and read! Let me tell you, obsessing about a book is not very productive. But I did take some time out of my day to say this about the book. click here to read my Currently Reading review of Lure.

    The main character Charlotte (or as Wyatt would say "Charrrr-liiiit"), cracks me up! She and I should be BFF's! About a week ago, Author Tiffany posted on her blog, "If you could spend a day with any fictional character from a book, who would it be?" Originally I picked Fred and George Weasley, (I was debating Rose from Vampire Academy or Jace from Mortal Instruments), but hands down I would pick Charlotte from Lure any day! Throughout the whole book Charlotte kept up this smart-ass attitude; when she was happy, sad, irritated, angry, even when I would least expect it. I absolutely loved it! The majority of the time she would keep her smart remarks to herself, but not always! Charlotte, alone, was a lot of fun to read!

    Not only is Charlotte my new BFF, but all the characters have these fun little quirks about them. A lot of the characters call each other by their last names and it's not just the guys. The hottie, Robbins (Matt), calls Charlotte "Goose" because she puked Grey Goose on his shoes. Charlotte's boss is a maniac. Gotta love Lorelei! And,... Golden Boy!!! What can I say?

    Anyways, this is for sure a must read!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Really Really good!

    It was amazing and not what you expect! Buy it! It will be the best money you have ever spend!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Amazzzziingg

    This book waas absolutly amazing. I loved it. Its completly worth it to buy it..

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Delicious Romance That Can't Be Missed!

    I've read a ton of books, and I have to say Lure surpasses a lot of the books I've read lately. Charlotte makes you root for her. Her story is so addictive. I literally couldn't put it down. The voice in the first paragraph hooked me right away and told me this was a girl I could totally be friends with. She isn't afraid to call someone out on their crap, which in my eyes makes for an awesome female lead character. She will keep you on your toes.

    I was captivated by the first chapter. I just had to find out what/who was singing and putting Charlotte in a trace where time would literally be sucked away from her. The Siren's song that calls to her hypnotizes her and causes her to do some crazy things.

    The other characters in the novel were also well written. It's so hard to make secondary characters lovable, but Jenkins has done an awesome job of making me care for them and interested in their stories as well.

    If you want romance in a YA novel, this one is for you. Wyatt sizzles and I can see why Charlotte is attracted to him. Hooray for hot boys in YA!! LOL This really kept the read going too. I wanted to know more about him and I rooted for him and Charlotte to hook up.

    There is plenty of mystery and suspense in this novel, so if your looking for a YA fantasy novel to read that rocks and still doesn't break the bank, give LURE a shot!! I loved it and would totally recommend!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    Great Book!

    I bought this because of the price and WOW! I'm hooked.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    I wanted so very-much to love this book... The story started ou

    I wanted so very-much to love this book...

    The story started out a bit slow but quickly picked up pace around page 30 or so. I ended up finishing Lure fairly quickly, however I was left with a lot of mixed emotions that were weighed down by the negative.

    When it comes to supernatural YA books it feels like the characters interchange between Vampires, Werewolves, Zombies, or Witches, therefore I found it very refreshing to read about Sirens. I found that Lure did a pretty good job of taking well-known Greek Mythological stories and creatures and giving them its own twist, but I don’t think the story lines were fully fleshed out. I was confused quite a bit due to gaps in the plot and it was hard at times to connect different threads in order to get the story to make sense. On the other hand, even though the story line began to annoy me, there was enough allure to keep me interested in reaching the end. When it comes down to it though, I don’t think I’d eagerly recommend this book to a friend. Although Charlotte’s story is original and refreshing the other elements such as a strong characters, were missing.

    A big aspect of what I consider a “good” book is deep and well-developed characters, unfortunately I felt like Lure lacked this completely. The main character, Charlotte, to be honest, annoyed me. In the beginning she was this angry girl who had shields up around everyone, including her supposed best friends, Andy and Sophie. By the end of the book she was exactly the same except she was a siren. Basically there was no character development whatsoever. To be a siren meant you were soul-less, having lost the ability to feel true emotions. However, Charlotte already had trouble feeling emotions when she was human. Throughout the book she kept having these epiphanies where she wondered and reveled in the fact that her friends actually “cared” about her especially whenever she’d have an accident (which happened quite a lot) or disappeared into her rooms for days. Also, for a girl who had trouble feeling emotions, she was awfully moody which I feel would invalidate her Siren-esque aspects… Very confusing.

    The supporting characters were pretty lifeless, especially Andy and Sophie. The two would pretty much disappear (figuratively speaking) for days and when they showed up all we’d really get is more references to Andy’s afro-hairstyle and the big drug/pill-popping addiction Sophie couldn’t kick. I wish they had been fleshed out some more because it seemed like they had a lot of potential; they were pretty much useless.

    Overall I’d rate this book 2.5 stars. I’m curious to see how the story continues (book 2 has already been released) especially since my only real, favorite character, Matt seems to play a bigger role. Out of all the characters he seems to have the biggest potential. However It’ll most likely be a while before I grab the second book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    Page turner for sure!

    This is book was awesome! I couldnt put it down! Its one of my new faves and i hope there a second!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Just ok

    I bought this book based on the reviews and I regret to say that it is just an ok book. The main character Charlotte really irked my nerves, so pessimistic and emo she made the book a downer for me. She was so bossy with everyone but never sat Loralai down to get the full 411 on what was happening to her and the people she should avoid, it was always half assed. And Wyatt so immature with those tantrums. I understand the author was trying to capture the lives of teens but I dont remember being this depressed and rude to everyone. Needless to say, I finished the book and was left with unanswered questions. The author is not coming out with a sequel so this to me was a waste of my time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Help

    The beginning was great but i am too young to by books by myself so please if anyone can be nice enough to writw a summary and explain some details like what else happenned at the end of the party well then thank u. Im only 11 so my mom wouldnt want me reading this "crap"! I know right someone should tell her its a perfect book for me to read especially for a girl who loves syfy and stuff like that. So please anyone reply but use help you as your headline. Big thanks to all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Surprisingly Delightful

    the author takes her time giving you details, I thought that'd be annoying but it worked out and I ended up liking it more than expected.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Fbn

    There is another book exaxtly like this cover well slightly different but by the same author and same name. Is it the same book or is one the first and one the secondd? I wasnt sure cause the covers are a little offerent like the color of baxkground and the birds and on one of them the moon is shining. So are they the same thing!?!?!?!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Bookworm101

    If you liked this book then i would deffidently recomend HERE even though it has nothing to do with mythology it has to do withan alternate universe. Both r great reads!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Really enjoyable

    This is a book to read when you have nothing else pressing. It's very hard to put down. Worth the time to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Loved it!!!

    Read it in less than a day!! Disappointed that the 2nd book is not available as nook book though. Shame shame B&N...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Really good,couldnt put it down.

    Really good,couldnt put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    It was so easy to get into this book. It can be light fun readi

    It was so easy to get into this book. It can be light fun reading as well as lose-yourself escapism. I love the world she paints. There is also just the right amount of danger and romance, comedy and drama! So Glad I stumbled on this and I cannot wait for more! I was def a Mat fan from the his first mention and I want to know more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Entertaining!!!!!

    This book is the next Twilight without the annoying sparkle! A definate must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Fun & Intriguing Read

    This was an amazing book, differing nicely from the hordes of vampire books clogging the shelves. Well written plot twists & turns keep you glued to your Nook! Give it a go and be happily surprised. I hope a second book comes out soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Good

    but why is the second one not on nook

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Intresting...

    this book can put you in suspense! i love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4