Customer Reviews for

La Luna

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 37 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Luna

    Simply put, you need more stars. Five is not enough. This is a very good CD and an extraordinary concert.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Another beautiful album

    What a lovely album. My favourites are La Califfa, This love, La luna, Solo con te, First of May. I have five of her albums and hope to buy all the others she has released. Sarah Brightman is one of the most beautiful singers I've ever heard, in fact she's my favourite artist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Superb! Quite possibly the most beautiful CD of the year!

    Sarah Brightman's previous two CDs, ''Time to Say Goodbye'' & ''Eden'' were CDs that I still love and play quite frequently. So when this CD came out, there was no doubt I would be getting a copy. I knew, based on her past two CDs that this one was sure to be a good one, with a talent like Sarah's. What I discovered after listening to this disc went way beyond my wildest expectations! This CD, and I mean this quite literally, contains so much beauty that it's hard to imagine it is all captured on one disc! When I first opened up a copy of ''La Luna'', I was first captured by the album art. The disc itself is a big moon, and the designs in the lyric booklet contained photographs by photographer Simon Fowler that took my breath away! When I put the disc in my CD player, the next hour was complete euphoria. The CD opens with ''La Lune'', a collection of strange, eerie sounds including Neil Armstrong putting his ''one small step for man, one giant leap for mankind'' infamous message. And Sarah's vocals are hauntingly beautiful in the opening track, serving as almost a background to the sounds. The track flows perfectly to ''Winter in July''. I knew at this point that this was not going to be just any old ordinary CD. Another of my favorites is a rendition of Beethoven's ''Figlio Perduto''. Sarah's voice again is the epitomy of what beautiful music should be on this track, displaying many of her vocal talents throughout. If I had to pick a favorite track on this CD, it must be ''La Califfa''. This is performed so beautifully, it brings tears every time I hear it. There truly is not one bad song on the album. Recordings of previous hits by Simon and Garfunkel (Scarborough Fair) and Procul Harum (A Whiter Shade of Pale) also add treasures to this album. The whole CD is a masterpiece. It is brilliantly performed, filled with such longing and desire. Sarah Brightman has once again demonstrated that she is a talent that is for real. ''La Luna'' will not disappoint! Don't miss this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A sixteen year old classical fan?

    Well...not exactly. In fact, I used to detest classical music, until I came across Sarah Brightman's diverse musical style. She blends both classical and pop together. It's something new and exciting, and I hope to see more artists doing what she's doing soon. Critics and fans both say that she has the voice of an angel, and, for once, I agree. Her voice is sweet and thick with passion, and you can tell that she's truly feeling the power of what she's singing. It's truly intense! I loved her album 'Eden', but I must admit, I think that I like La Luna slightly more. Its got more edge to it, and I absolutely can't get enough of track 2, 'Winter in July'. I love that song. I equally enjoy 'La Luna', her self-title, and 'Figlio Perduto'. My parents look at me strangly whenever I listen to that song, for my usual listening style is rock, but I love it all the more. I also like how she re-did Dido's version of 'Here With Me'. That song just screams remix. Though I must conclude, if you're a die hard classical fan, this isn't the album for you. But if you like various ranges in vocals and sounds, then this cd is a must have in your collection. This album is excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Terrific

    Another fine addition to Sarah Brightman's CD collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sings like an angel

    I saw Sara Brightman in concert at Madison Square garden on Friday. She took my breath away. She will leave you speechless. Her voice is so beautiful and refreshing. She will take you away from all troubles when you hear this wonderful glorious voice. Anyone with a voice like hers has to be touched by an ANGEL>>>>> gloria mac...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    sarah brightman is.....

    such an incredibly talented musician. She picks songs to sing that are excellent classics and re-does them to fit her style. She has a gorgeous voice and this CD is my favorite yet. Besides the wonderful musicianship she also has great taste in setting themes for the CDs she puts out- with beautiful photography and everything. La Luna is one of the best CDs I've ever heard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SHE IS THE BEST

    SHE IS THE BEST

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    5 stars and 10 moons!!

    This is another wonderfully complete CD by Sarah Brightman. It follows on the tails of her other ''themed'' CD's, this time focusing on the moon. What a treat! ''Winter In July'', while it doesn't really have anything to do with the moon directly, has a great dance beat and optimistic lyric. ''A Whiter Shade of Pale'' is a brilliant remake, as is her version of Dido's ''Here With Me''. The best covers don't just copy the original but add something different to the song, and Sarah does just that. You'll hit the ''repeat'' button for sure. Other songs to note are ''This Love'', ''He Doesn't See Me'', and her lush and luxurient version of ''Scarborough Fair''. Buy this CD and love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Jason

    ''Eden'' is the best recording I have ever heard. If ever I was given a choice to keep only one CD in my huge collection, this would be the one. ''La Luna'' is also a wonderful recording, but it lacks a little something ''Eden'' had. No one should be without these two recordings in their collection. Her concerts are magnificent in a way that she can take you into her ''world'' and her music that other artists just can't seem to do in their concerts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    beautiful melodies, amazing

    This is the first album I have listened to of sarah's. After listening to the first song I am hooked. She has a voice and melodies that other artists could never touch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best!

    This is Sarah's best album to date! I wish it had a few more upbeat songs but oh well. All the songs are wonderfully written and even more beautifully sung.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sarah: the ultimate star!

    Sarah Brightman is the ultimate star in my heart. She started out with classical and has changed to a bit more poppish type of music which really says a lot about how versatile she is. She has a wonderful voice and a wonderful personality. I met her last year during her Eden tour and got to talk to her a bit about what music meant to her. She will continue to reign supreme in my heart. I am a music education major and I will always suggest Sarah as a choice to listen to to my students!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Can't Believe It!

    When I first heard ''Time To Say Goodbye'' a few years ago, I thought, ''there's no way any song could be better than this!'' Then, when I heard ''Nella Fantasia'' from the Eden soundtrack, I thought, ''this is truly Sarah's greatest recording!'' Now, when I hear ''La Califfa'', my heart melts. This is definitely at the top of my list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 37 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2