BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

La Reina del Sur

Average Rating 4.5
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Threshpaw

    Im bored!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Stormpaw

    Greyfeather is going to make me one too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    ShimmerMagmafur

    "Butterpaw?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Yellowpaw

    Yellowpaw bounded in, his fur dripping wet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Rueflower to Flashtalon

    Yes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    Super recomended, very excited story

    It is a very good written story with a lot of excitment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    Recommended

    My husband and I read this book it was hard to put it down. It open our eyes to a different world!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    Excelente

    Un poco complicada por tantos nombres pero definitivamente muy buena.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    NO lo recomiendo

    realmente no me gusto esperaba otra cosa de esta historia, muchas paginas.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I did not enjoy the book as much as The Dumas Club. Too much violence and a cruel and vivid representation of the drug cartels does not make for light reading.

    La Reina del Sur by Arturo Pérez-Reverete

    This is Teresa Mendoza Chávez (La Mejicana)'s history.

    A woman in the middle of the narcotraffic world of the Mexican cartels. After the death of her lover, Raimundo ( Güero) Dávila Parra she knows she is a dead woman. In the underworld of the cartels, every woman related to a trafficker HAS to be executed.

    Perhaps this is the uniqueness of this book. It involves the female point of view of this world filled with violence, intrigue, deals, and treason. Saved by her lover's Godfather, Enrique Vargas, she escapes to Melilla (a part of Spanish Morocco) where she finds work with a friend of Don Enrique, Dris Larbi, owner of nightclub in Algeciras and Gibraltar that deal with illegal immigration and hashish.

    There, she gets involved with Santiago López Fistera, another drug lord. Violence, intrigue, great amounts of money in a ma's world of deals, treason, loneliness and fear that always come with the power of drugs.

    A well written novel in which Teresa's life is told mostly by an anonymous narrator, sometimes by testimonials: by people who knew her or knew of her. Few dialogues, and plenty of reflections, from the different Teresa's that make part of this complicated woman: lover, friend, businesswoman, but mainly the drug lord that competes with all the other facets of her life.

    I did not enjoy the book as much as The Dumas Club. Too much violence and a cruel and vivid representation of the drug cartels does not make for light reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2009

    LIBRO ESPECTACULAR

    ESTE ES UN LIBRO QUE NO VAS A PODER DEJAR DE LEER HASTA QUE LO TERMINES. TIENE DE TODO Y MUCHO MAS DE LO QUE UN LECTOR ESPERA...TE MANTIENE SIEMPRE A LA EXPECTATIVA DE LO PROXIMO QUE VA A SUCEDER, TERMINAS UN CAPITULO Y QUIERES COMENZAR EL OTRO AL INSTANTE. REALMENTE UN LIBRO DIFICIL DE DEJAR DE LEER Y UNA SATISFACCION DE RELEER...LOS PERSONAJES SON TAN REALES COMO LAS HOJAS DEL LIBRO Y TAN INTRIGANTES COMO EL TRATAR DE DESCIFRAR UN SECRETO, SOBRE TODO LA PROTAGONISTA-UNA MUJER QUE TIENE LOS OVARIOS BIEN PUESTOS-DEFINITIVAMENTE UN DELEITE DE LIBRO...NO SE VAN ARREPENTIR EL HABERLO LEIDO. EL ESCRITOR DESCRIBE LAS SITUACIONES, PAISAJES, LUAGRES DE UNA FORMA Y MANERA GRANDIOSA. CON CADA PALABRA QUE UNO LEE SE SIENTE PARTE DE LA HISTORIA, POR LO MENOS ASI ME SENTI YO...EN FIN; ESTE LIBRO ES UNA DELICIOSA LECTURA....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    pretty good

    more than just a simple history, is a incredible an periodistic history, you will find names, places, adventure, suspense, romance, etc...I really loved this book, and The south queen , is a real queen, she is an heroe. LA REINA DEL SUR ME RESULTO MAS QUE UNA SIMPLE ANECDOTA, ES UNA HISTORIA LLENA DE PERIODISMO, DONDE ENCONTRARAS NOMBRES REALES, LUGARES, AVENTURAS QUE TE LLEVARAN A VIVIR DIRECTO AL MOMENTO Y AL LUGAR DONDE SUCEDIERON, ME GUSTO MUCHO LA FORMA DE ESCRIBIR DEL AUTOR Y COMO RELATA ESTA FASCINANTE LEYENDA. LA REINA DEL SUR SE CONVIERTE EN UNA HEROINA PARA EL LECTOR. ADMIRABLE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2005

    GREAT!

    Absolutely incredible book. I could not stop reading. There were parts of the book that I had to shut it because I was too excited to go on. Definitely top 5 most exciting books i have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2002

    Don't cross on this girl!

    This great book depicts the life of a woman you would love to meet... but at the same time hate to fall for her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5