BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

La isla bajo el mar

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    Entertaining

    Anything written by Isabel Allende is entertaining and catchy because once you start reading the book you don't want to put it down.

    I have read all her books and I have yet to be disappointed.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Exelente!!!

    Como toda su obra, de principio a fin, Zarite es un personaje exquisito,lleno de matices, con sentimientos escondidos, disfrasados, pero al mismo tiempo autenticos,y verdaderos.
    El amor todo lo puede.!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    Nice book

    I loved to read this book, same way I love every single book of Ms. Allende.

    Unfortunately I have to returned it to the library I couldn't buy it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    What A Book!!!

    Excellent! Impossible to put down. Hopefully there is sequel soon. A must-have-must-read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2009

    "La 'Selva Imposible'; -Puntualizaciones criticas a Isabel Allende"

    Saludos amigos del mundo:
    Con el titulo que encabeza este comentario publicamos un analisis en el que diferimos del enfoque que se hace de la Isla Hispaniola en aspectos de geografia y flora y fauna; todo ello sin menoscabar el alto valor literario, argumental y estetico de la novela.
    Recomiendo su lectura a fin de que puedan conocer algunas facetas sobre las naciones que comparten la isla (Haiti y Rep. Dominicana).
    Con aprecio,

    Sergio Reyes II. sergioreyII@hotmail.com

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Muy muy buena

    Una de las mejores e impactantes novelas que he leido.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2012

    Higly recommended!

    I had a pleasant surprise with this book by Isabel Allende. It's a historic novel about slavery and life in the french-spanish caribbean colonies in the new world. It has different stories of bravery women surrounded by love and life in the XIX century. What a great book! I higlhy recommended it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    Excellent Book! Libro excelente!

    Disfrute mucho la lectura de este libro. Isabel Allende como siempre tiene el poder de atraparnos como lectores con sus historias. Este libro no solo cuenta la vida de una esclava, tambien como sus anteriores personajes femeninos, Zarite muestra una fortaleza increible!. Otro aspecto positivo de este libro es como atraves de la historia de una esclava tambien muestra al lector ese periodo historico de esclavitud. Lo recomiendo 100% por 100%.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Una Isabelita mas realista...

    Si bien es cierto; En cada pagina escrita por el escritor , se ensartan trocitos de su alma. En esta nueva entrega de Isabel Allende, Narrada con una realidad -isabell (contrario a las entregas anteriores). Nos presenta nuevamente una mujer , una esclava , en los años 1700-1800.A diferencia de las mujeres de sus obras anteriores ,Zarité aunque anida en su alma el deseo punzante de alcanzar esa libertad , que tantas guerras a desembocado en la historia. Se muestra fiel al amor a sus hijos, que no le pertenecen y la fidelidad a un amo que para el,esta no es mas que varias monedas. Esta historia esta plasmada en Saint-Domingue actualmente Haití. Al adentraenos entre los relieves de la misma, nos demuestra que esclavo no solo se define por el color de la piel. Hasta los blancs, affranchis, sang-milee o cualquier tono mas claro que el negro. Eran mas esclavos que los mismos negros de las plantaciones , arrastrados y arrancados de sus tierras en un aire lejano. Aunque aveces nos invade un sentimiento de indigancion y repulsuion al culpar a Zarité (Isabell) de no sublevarse, de someterce , de no ser esa mujer desafiante de lo que escriba su z`etoile. Resplandece la inteligencia de la mujer sabia y sumisa que mantiene su mirada en el piso , pero su alma en los deseos inmaculados de su corazon. Los blancos con sus plantaciones, sus sociedades cerradas. Escalvos de sus propias costumbres y juzgados por su mimsa raza. No amaban con la sangre , no bailaban con el espiritu , ni disfrutaban de sus riquezas. Mientras los esclavos aunque trabajacen bajo el latigo del verdugo o el colmillo de los perro carniceros. En los pocos momentos de tranquilidad que creian poseer y aunque en la realidad mundana no poseian NADA. Eran los unicos libres , al amarse , los unicos libres al ayudarce y los unicos libres al bailar. "Por que esclavo que baila es libre , mientras baila" .

    Nos invade la tristeza cuando narra Zarité el destino final de Rosette. Es casi imposible perderce la nube oscura en el papel , los dedos escritores y dolidos de Isabell. Me atrevo a pensar que talvez llegó tan adentro esta parte de ella misma, que ya no pudo continuar la historia y los destinos de sus personajes se vieron cortados de un salto.

    Me hubiese gustado saber que pasaria con Hortense , esposa del Señor Valmoraine o con el mismo. Con Jean-Martin y demas. TENGO MUCHAS COSAS MAS QEU DECIR, PERO SERá EN MI POCO UPDATED BLOG. www.gilbarrientos.wordpress.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    Muy interesante

    Muy interesante. Aprendi mucho sobre la historia de Haiti y Luisiana, y la esclavitud en los dos lugares.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Excelente historia y fantasia

    Este libro te cautiva desde el inicio. Puedes oir las voces de los personajes, sentir sus emociones. Te da un buen entendimiento de la vida colonial en aquella epoca y el contraste con la esclavitud y la lucha por la libertad fisica y espiritual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Story

    My story will not be posted here!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Interesante historia pero....

    Sorprendentemente, a pesar de una autora hispana, este libro tine una gran cantidad de faltas de ortografia.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Vale la pena a pesar de las erratas tipograficas

    Esta novela vuelve a estar a la altura de las primeras de Allende, como la casa de los espiritus. Entreteje personajes de ficcion con los hechos reales y la injusticia fe la esclavitud y la segregacion por cantidad de sangre blanca: negros, mulatos, cuarterones, etc. Lo unico lamentable de la version electronica es que tiene muchos errores de tipografia, como si hubiera fallas en el software de reconocimiento de caracteres. Pero vale la pena por la historia, muy bien documentada y entretenida.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Me entretuvo...

    En general me gusto la historia. Es ficcion basada en hechos reales. Se nota que la autora se documento muy bien antes de escribir.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Too many typos

    Interestig story. The only "major" problem I found to be very annoying for me is that the electronic version has lots and lots of typos. Does anybody proofread before publication?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Great book!

    A fascinating story. Very intense, as all of Isabel Allende’s books. The only complaint I have, is that the electronic version has too many mistakes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Super hermoso me dejo fascinsada no te puedes despegar del drama

    Buena literatura y amena me encanto


    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    interestining

    I like Isabel Allende themes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Mi mama adora a Isabel Allende...

    le encanto este nuevo libro.!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2