Customer Reviews for

Labor Day (Movie Tie- In Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

A fascinating story of damaged people seeking love and acceptance

Labor Day weekend, for most, is a time for celebration, a last fling before the seriousness of school and fall set in.

In Joyce Maynard's new novel, "Labor Day," the holiday weekend is not quite a party for one family in a small New Hampshire town. It will be a time ...
Labor Day weekend, for most, is a time for celebration, a last fling before the seriousness of school and fall set in.

In Joyce Maynard's new novel, "Labor Day," the holiday weekend is not quite a party for one family in a small New Hampshire town. It will be a time of life-altering occurrences that would shape their futures forever.

Thirteen year old Henry and his mother, Adele, are shopping for school items when they are approached by a bleeding man asking for their help. So they take him home, to find out later that the man, Frank, is an escaped convict on the run. He somehow cajoles Adele into letting him stay while the police search for him, and she agrees. This would be the beginning of a six-day odyssey for Henry and his mother that neither of them could ever have imagined.

As the story unfolds, through Henry's voice, the reader is taken through Henry's family history of a bitter divorce, miscarried babies, remarriage and new siblings and his mother's gradual loss of her grip on reality. It seems as if Frank is somewhat of a savior come to turn their lives around. He gives Henry the attention that he craves from a father-figure, and to Adele he gives companionship and adoration that she has been without for so long.

In a mesmerizing way, Frank weaves his way into their lives, making beautiful promises that he could never keep. When Henry begins to realize that this idyllic situation is doomed, it's up to him, as man of the house, to save his mother from certain heartbreak, if not incarceration.

Maynard spins a fascinating story of damaged people seeking the one thing they long for - love. It's intriguing to watch these characters go through their paces, all the time wanting to yell at them "don't you know what's going on here?" and "how could you be so stupid?" But wrapping her tale up with a satisfying ending, the reader can take away a sense of completion for Henry's family and that is a gift in itself.

- Sharon Galligar Chance (http://sharonsgardenofbookreviews.blogspot.com)

posted by SharonChance on August 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Harriet klausner

And here comes harriet klausner with her cliff note book report ruining another book. Please bn, ban this poster and delete all her plot spoiling posts. They totally ruin every book she touches.

posted by 8888649 on January 22, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a story about love, loss and the struggle to find yourself. It's proof that in this great big world, it is possible to find happiness and a place to call home.

    Henry is thirteen-years-old and a bit of a recluse. As the other boys in the neighborhood spend their time outside, Henry spends his time indoors, watching TV and taking care of his divorced mother, Adele. Their meals consist of canned soup and quiet conversation. This is a typical day for them. However, during one, long, hot Labor Day weekend, they head to the local Pricemart to pick up a few items. This, in itself, is rare as Adele does not enjoy being outside anymore. She'd rather stay in the comfort of her home but on this particular morning, she decides to enter the store with Henry.

    While she is shopping, Henry is confronted by a man named Frank. The man, obviously injured, is in pain and simply asks if Henry and his mom can help him. Although Adele has her issues, she has been known to help those in need in the past, so Henry takes Frank to his mom, and their lives change forever.

    Frank has a story of course. A sketchy past involving a mistake he made when he was younger, but through Frank's actions, Adele sees a man who is solid and true. A man who cares deeply for those close to him, and when he manages to bring happiness into their home, happiness that hasn't existed for years, Henry becomes fond of him too.

    Labor Day is a wonderful read. The characters are forced to look within themselves and the interactions between them are so beautifully orchestrated. I say orchestrated because their interactions are seamless and subtle but speak volumes as far as what's going on within these people. It takes an author's delicate hand to push that envelope. Pushing it too much creates a "staged" feel and not pushing it enough creates hollow characters without substance.

    Labor Day is my favorite type of book. It's the kind of book that you read, experience and then once done, think about for days on end. I highly recommend it.

    10 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Maynard's characters were so real, i could picture them with eas

    Maynard's characters were so real, i could picture them with ease.  Labor day is funny, warm, awakening emotions through the vivid characters.  The author's passions are, indeed, most evident in this wonderful story. 

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    Labor Day weekend

    This book is about a mother and her son who let an escaped fugitive into their home for the Labor Day weekend. The mother and son have very few friends. The book centers on how the characters interact with each other while trying to stay as low key as possible. This is a good book about love and forgiveness and well worth reading.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Anonymous

    I really liked this story. For those who reviewed the book and said it was unbelieveable, isn't that why you read and go to movies? It nice to let go and just enjoy the story. Things don't always have to be authentic to be enjoyable. I would highly recom.end this book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Loved it

    Bought it after I saw a screening of the film. I liked it better. All written in the first person voice of the young boy at the heart of the story, it's an exposition on how love can come even to those that are broken and damaged.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Okay

    Somewhat slow. 3.5 stars.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    A Sweet Romance

    This story is about a woman, with her young son, who meets a man in a store and because he needs help, takes him to their home she shares with her son. This is the only unrealistic issue with this book. Her doing this is a contradiction to her carefully raising her son to protect him from some of society's evils. If you can get past this point, it's a lovely story. The mom, boy and man all basically fall in love. As the story twists and turns, you begin to see that this may not work out for any of them, but hang in there and the ending will surprise and delight you. The story is well written and quickly creates empathy for the characters involved. It moves at just the right pace, and I plan on reading other novels by this author. Hope you enjoy it!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    not quite what I expected

    I really enjoyed the first half of this book, including the youthful perspective, but then it bogged down in adolescent confusion and then rushed to a happy ever after ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    thoroughly enjoyed

    I really liked this book. Liked the story told from the child's perspective. Will definitely read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    Unexpected

    Well written. Not what I expected after seeing the movie preview. Enjoyed the experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Good Read

    I read this for my book club. We are planning to see the movie. I had no real expectations and was pleased. The book was well written and moved along well. Worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    Good fast read.

    I wanted to read the book before the movie. I really enjoyed the book even though it was written from the point of view of a 13 year old boy. I wasn't expecting that but it was still good. I think Josh Brolin and Kate Winslet will do the characters justice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Very good!

    I enjoyed this book. I saw the movie after reading, and am glad I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Very good book!

    Enjoyed this book immensely! Very good character development!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Page turner

    I found this book last summer in a used book store and bychancestarted reading it. It was a wonderful story and a great read for my morning commute. Light, but intriging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Taking a stranger home I received a copy of this book from Will

    Taking a stranger home

    I received a copy of this book from William Morrow and Goodreads First Reads for the purpose of providing an honest review.

    This coming of age story was a solid 4 star read for me. It was a relatively short book that could easily be read in a single evening. There is really of lot of story packed into those few pages. This book has recently been made into a movie and I always like to read the book first before seeing the movie, although I rarely follow through with actually watching the movie.

    The story is told from the perspective of 13 year old Henry. Henry lives with his divorced mother, Adele. They lead a rather lonely life. Adele does not really like to leave the house and often sends Henry inside to complete errands while she waits in the car. On a rare shopping trip to buy needed school clothes for Henry, they meet a man who asks them to take him home with them. Adele agrees and the bleeding stranger comes home with them. They soon learn that the stranger, Frank, is an escaped convict. Frank is kind to the pair and a bond is developed. As the book moves forward, we learn the background stories of both Adele and Frank which make their character both more likeable and relate able.

    I found the writing of this book to be superb. The characters were very real for me and the voice that it was told in was authentic. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a slightly different coming of age story. I will be looking for more works from this author. I do think that this story could make an excellent film so I am more interested in seeing the movie after reading the book than I was before. Now I need to see if I can get a chance to see this movie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Great storytelling

    So uniquely written as a love story. Interested to see the screen adaptation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Love the writing style

    I enjoyed this book- mostly because of the writing style amd not the storyline. It had a cute theme and everything, but the plot was kind of slow. That said, Maynard's writing was amazing! Her use of comparative language was honestly the best I have ever read. The characters were well developed also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Really enjoyed this one

    Original storyline and characters with depth. Not the most believable plot, but well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    interesting story

    interesting story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3