Customer Reviews for

Labor Day (Movie Tie- In Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 135 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

A fascinating story of damaged people seeking love and acceptance

Labor Day weekend, for most, is a time for celebration, a last fling before the seriousness of school and fall set in.

In Joyce Maynard's new novel, "Labor Day," the holiday weekend is not quite a party for one family in a small New Hampshire town. It will be a time ...
Labor Day weekend, for most, is a time for celebration, a last fling before the seriousness of school and fall set in.

In Joyce Maynard's new novel, "Labor Day," the holiday weekend is not quite a party for one family in a small New Hampshire town. It will be a time of life-altering occurrences that would shape their futures forever.

Thirteen year old Henry and his mother, Adele, are shopping for school items when they are approached by a bleeding man asking for their help. So they take him home, to find out later that the man, Frank, is an escaped convict on the run. He somehow cajoles Adele into letting him stay while the police search for him, and she agrees. This would be the beginning of a six-day odyssey for Henry and his mother that neither of them could ever have imagined.

As the story unfolds, through Henry's voice, the reader is taken through Henry's family history of a bitter divorce, miscarried babies, remarriage and new siblings and his mother's gradual loss of her grip on reality. It seems as if Frank is somewhat of a savior come to turn their lives around. He gives Henry the attention that he craves from a father-figure, and to Adele he gives companionship and adoration that she has been without for so long.

In a mesmerizing way, Frank weaves his way into their lives, making beautiful promises that he could never keep. When Henry begins to realize that this idyllic situation is doomed, it's up to him, as man of the house, to save his mother from certain heartbreak, if not incarceration.

Maynard spins a fascinating story of damaged people seeking the one thing they long for - love. It's intriguing to watch these characters go through their paces, all the time wanting to yell at them "don't you know what's going on here?" and "how could you be so stupid?" But wrapping her tale up with a satisfying ending, the reader can take away a sense of completion for Henry's family and that is a gift in itself.

- Sharon Galligar Chance (http://sharonsgardenofbookreviews.blogspot.com)

posted by SharonChance on August 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Harriet klausner

And here comes harriet klausner with her cliff note book report ruining another book. Please bn, ban this poster and delete all her plot spoiling posts. They totally ruin every book she touches.

posted by 8888649 on January 22, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A fascinating story of damaged people seeking love and acceptance

    Labor Day weekend, for most, is a time for celebration, a last fling before the seriousness of school and fall set in.

    In Joyce Maynard's new novel, "Labor Day," the holiday weekend is not quite a party for one family in a small New Hampshire town. It will be a time of life-altering occurrences that would shape their futures forever.

    Thirteen year old Henry and his mother, Adele, are shopping for school items when they are approached by a bleeding man asking for their help. So they take him home, to find out later that the man, Frank, is an escaped convict on the run. He somehow cajoles Adele into letting him stay while the police search for him, and she agrees. This would be the beginning of a six-day odyssey for Henry and his mother that neither of them could ever have imagined.

    As the story unfolds, through Henry's voice, the reader is taken through Henry's family history of a bitter divorce, miscarried babies, remarriage and new siblings and his mother's gradual loss of her grip on reality. It seems as if Frank is somewhat of a savior come to turn their lives around. He gives Henry the attention that he craves from a father-figure, and to Adele he gives companionship and adoration that she has been without for so long.

    In a mesmerizing way, Frank weaves his way into their lives, making beautiful promises that he could never keep. When Henry begins to realize that this idyllic situation is doomed, it's up to him, as man of the house, to save his mother from certain heartbreak, if not incarceration.

    Maynard spins a fascinating story of damaged people seeking the one thing they long for - love. It's intriguing to watch these characters go through their paces, all the time wanting to yell at them "don't you know what's going on here?" and "how could you be so stupid?" But wrapping her tale up with a satisfying ending, the reader can take away a sense of completion for Henry's family and that is a gift in itself.

    - Sharon Galligar Chance (http://sharonsgardenofbookreviews.blogspot.com)

    22 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I Loved This Book!

    I couldn't put this book down! The depth of the characters are great! The story is so sad, yet very touching....I couldn't stop the tears! I really liked the ending! This author is a great writer! Don't miss this one!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a super character study

    On the Labor day weekend in 1987, thirteen year old Henry persuades his single mother Adele to leave their dump for a trip to the nearby PriceMart. He is ecstatic when she agrees as she never leaves their home except if she absolutely has to since his dad left her and remarried.

    They meet Frank, who bullies them into picking him up. An escaped convict, Frank needs a place to hide from the law so he coerces the mother and son to take him into their home or else. However, as he holds them prisoner in their home, the trio forges a relationship with him in charge. He tenderly ties Adele to a chair using her silk scarves as gentle ropes; while feeding her. He teaches Henry, who hates sports as he stinks at them, to throw a baseball. He soon finds he wants more from the mom as they fall in love and consider fleeing together, and with her son who fears desertion from his mom and his surrogate father.

    This is a super character study that focuses on the changing relations between three protagonists over the Labor Day weekend. A Stockholm syndrome effect occurs as each grows closer to one another. Henry is the glue that keeps the story line focused as he admires Frank's courage and mentoring skills while also fears he will take his mom with him leaving her son behind when he goes on the lam. Fans will relish three seemingly losers finding something special during the long weekend together even as each anticipates no happy ending (the Sword of Damocles always lurking during the holiday) ;instead they expect to pay a steep price for six days and five nights of a fairy tale.

    Harriet Klausner

    10 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    I LOVED THIS BOOK

    STORY WAS VERY TOUCHING AND KEPT ME WANTING MORE. THE STORY STAYED WITH ME A FEW DAYS AFTER I FINISHED THE BOOK.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    LABOR DAY

    GREAT BOOK HARD TO PUT DOWN SOLID CHARACTERS, LOVE IT.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    One of my favorites

    I loved this book. It was great read and held my attention from start to finish. Could barely put it down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Labor day

    Ithink i will love it i will read it in 7 days the day my mom and stepdad comes back

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Must Read Before You See!

    Probably one of the best books I have ever read, I really connected to this story. At first the lack of quotation marks bothered me (yes, I am that weird), but the style was effortless and completely engaging. I almost don't want to see the movie for fear of falling out of love with this story...!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Fabulous!

    I simply could not put this book down! I found this story to be engaging and touching from the first to the last page. The ending is so well constructed as this now 31 year old man looks back on his 13 year old self. You're right there with him as he makes sense of it all.....definitely a tear jerker at the end! Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2014

    Highly recommended

    I plan on reading it a 2nd. time- Its a great book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Great story

    I wanted to read the book before seeing the movie, and I'm so glad I did! What a beautiful yet strange love story told from the point of view of the woman's 13 year old son. I read Maynard's book The Good Daughters a few years ago, and I must say Labor Day was much better. I can't wait to see the movie now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Awesome read!!

    Absolutely enjoyed this book. Starts a bit depressing but half way thru becomes positive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2014

    Loved this book!

    I saw the movie, loved it! Had to read the book, loved it more!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Ty

    He walks in.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    A black hawk helicoptor

    Circles above

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Willow

    Tosses her hair back, looking up in surprise.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Great read

    I loved this book. I had a hard time putting it down. I hope the move is as good as the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    This book is a super easy and interesting read! I am a slow reader and read this in two days. It definitely will hold your attention and keep you wondering how it will all turn out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Enjoyable story

    I knew I wanted to see the movie as I'd seen the preview starring Josh Brolin. He never fails to get my attention. Then I'd heard the movie was based on a book. I always like to read the book prior to watching the movie. Now I absolutely HAVE to see the movie.

    What an unusual' yet interesting, relationship between the mother & son anyway, but then to throw in a an escaped cvonvict? I read this book in record time, couldn't put it down & was sad to have it end, although very happy with the ending.

    Looking forward to seeing how closely the movie follows the book & would hate if the movie doesn't include every single person & situation.

    I definitely recommend reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    eronisacowgirl@myway.com

    Add me plz

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3