Customer Reviews for

Labyrinth

Average Rating 3.5
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Could not put down...

I am so glad I bought this book! I am so not disappointed with my purchase. This story takes place in modern-day and 1200s Southern France (Languedoc). There is mystery, love, betrayal, murder, conspiracy...everything that makes for a great story. It's also about so...
I am so glad I bought this book! I am so not disappointed with my purchase. This story takes place in modern-day and 1200s Southern France (Languedoc). There is mystery, love, betrayal, murder, conspiracy...everything that makes for a great story. It's also about something that has intrigued people throughout history...The Holy Grail. Of course, there is the whole labyrinth mystery and what it has to do with the holy grail which makes this story different and exciting from other grail stories. There are some questions left unanswered in the story, but keep in mind that the grail is something we may never completely know or understand. I enjoyed how this story went back and forth in time and I particularly liked how there was a parallel between the characters in the present and the characters 800 years prior. Kate Mosse did an excellent job in her descriptions of the people and places. The writing is also excellent. If you like history, mystery, grail, and interesting places, read this book. You won't be able to put it down, and when you're done reading you will want the story to continue. I hope Ms. Mosse writes more stories like this in the future. She has a new fan in me!

posted by Anonymous on May 4, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Interesting story, but I won't recommend to my friends

Labyrinth was an interesting story with a lot of details that frankly should have been trimmed. I did enjoy the multiple timelines and there were a few interesting twists.

posted by Anonymous on March 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2006

    Could not put down...

    I am so glad I bought this book! I am so not disappointed with my purchase. This story takes place in modern-day and 1200s Southern France (Languedoc). There is mystery, love, betrayal, murder, conspiracy...everything that makes for a great story. It's also about something that has intrigued people throughout history...The Holy Grail. Of course, there is the whole labyrinth mystery and what it has to do with the holy grail which makes this story different and exciting from other grail stories. There are some questions left unanswered in the story, but keep in mind that the grail is something we may never completely know or understand. I enjoyed how this story went back and forth in time and I particularly liked how there was a parallel between the characters in the present and the characters 800 years prior. Kate Mosse did an excellent job in her descriptions of the people and places. The writing is also excellent. If you like history, mystery, grail, and interesting places, read this book. You won't be able to put it down, and when you're done reading you will want the story to continue. I hope Ms. Mosse writes more stories like this in the future. She has a new fan in me!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2008

    A great mystery in Southern France...

    I was immediately drawn into this story which takes place in Southern France, in the Languedoc region. Sometimes, I thought, gosh this book is long, but then, we all read J.K. Rowling! If you hang in there, it does begin to fall into place, with lots of twists and turns. As a student of French language, I loved the references to the langue d'oc. And, as a believer in reincarnation, I loved the characters and story. When I love a good book, I will reread it and this is definitely the case!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2007

    Different than I expected

    I agree with everyone who's said that 'Labyrinth' had a slow start and a exciting finish. The beginning section 'basically the first 180 pages of the book' seemed somewhat boring to me, and I couldn't really get into the novel. Once the second portion started it got better, and toward the last 200 pages I couldn't put it down. One thing I think was both a blessing and a curse was the fact that the book took place in both the 1200s and 2005. It was interesting to get the two stories and see all the parallel events between them, but it was annoying because you would just be getting into one time period's story and then it would switch again. I really did like the characters, however. Alais 'the woman from the 1200s' especially you really grow to love her character. One thing I want to clarify, though, is that the back cover says 'of high literary quality than the Da Vinci Code.' I think the author's writing style is probably better, but the story itself I think was a tad weaker. 'Da Vinci Code' grabs you from page one and gets more in-depth with the story of the Grail, whereas 'Labyrinth' touches little on the Grail and goes into a lot of details you didn't necessarily need to know. However I would still recommend this book to anyone who likes a good story. If you can make it past the first chapters, the ending is most certainly worth it. Overall I'd say 4 and 1/2 stars.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mystical Historical France

    Amazing book. I think I liked Sepulchre better, but this one was still fantastic! Half of the story takes place in the 13th century, as the Cathars are attacked by the precursers to the Inquisition. Amidst that, there is a secret that must be protected. The other half takes place at a modern archaeological dig. A volunteer is suddenly the victim of attacks after she found an underground labyrinth. Mosse does an incredible job of interweaving the past and present while maintaining suspense in both.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    UNREAL

    This author shows us that there are some people out there that can come up with their own great ideas.I'm not usually such a fan of these types of books, but it's A MUST READ !

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2008

    Interesting story, but I won't recommend to my friends

    Labyrinth was an interesting story with a lot of details that frankly should have been trimmed. I did enjoy the multiple timelines and there were a few interesting twists.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2009

    Can't finish and I refuse to torture myself

    If an author is writing 'stories' just to try and prove how smart she is, I don't want any part of it. It's okay if people speak other languages, I have no problem with that. My problem is when these same people, who are supposed to be story-tellers first and foremost, are interrupting my reading time to go look in the glossary (and yes, there is one in the back) to find out what all the French words mean. That's not why I read novels. Mosse, write stories in plain English and you might have a bigger following.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Would make a good movie.

    This book took me a while to read, but only because I had to stop and translate the conversations that were in French. Most of the book is in English, but if you don't speak French this one might take some time. The story line was great, it was a little had to follow starting out because of the changes in lifetimes, but once you get into the book and start to meet new characters it is hard to not want to know what happens next. I am reading the second book now, I'll let you know what I think when I'm done.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    one-trick-pony?

    There is not doubt that Ms Mosse is an outstanding writer, able to weave a well written plot with beleivable characters. I first read Sepulcher, Ms Mosses 2nd book, then backtracked and read Labyrinth. Basically the same plot line. The heroine has a link to the past, which she does not understand, but little by little through flashbacks and intertwining an ancient story with present time happenings, the connection slowly unfolds... Because I had already read and enjoyed Sepulcher, Labyrinth left me a little cold because of it's familiarity. A good read non the less. Just wish it had held surprises that I had not already read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2007

    Slow Start - Great Finish

    I agree with the other reader who said it had a slow start/setup but finished as a page turner. The writer truly loves the topic and spends a lot of time setting up the scenes but it pays off in the end. I read this one past my bedtime and got up early the next morning to fit in a few more pages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    I promised to stick with it for 100 pages but ended up doing twice that and still don't like the slow pace or the fact that it is very difficult to keep track of both stories. Not enough action....what is the point!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2007

    Good read, but slow begining

    I really enjoyed reading Labyrinth and would definately reccommend it, but not without first warning readers that the begining is quite slow and a lot less intriguing then the latter part of the story. If you can get through the first 100 to 200 pages (I know that sounds like a lot) the story then begins to unravel. As you continue on it only gets better as more and more is revealed. I stayed up way past my bedtime to finish the book, as I just could not put it down. If you enjoy a bit of history wrapped up in a tale of courage and heart, than read Labyrinth.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    I had to finish this book, because I wanted to find out what hap

    I had to finish this book, because I wanted to find out what happened.  I was very disappointed.  I thought the story was confusing, and, although well-written somwhat preposterous.  People living for 800 years?  OK, call it a fantasy rather than fiction.  But I also found several holes in the story and couldn'[t keep the many characters straight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Great start to the Labyrinth Trilogy

    I loved this book. Even though I was lost about half the time, I couldn't put the book down and I believe it is one of the best books I have read. If you like historical fiction, mystery and action, this book is for you. I highly recommend this book. I can't wait to read the next two.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Well-thought out

    (actually 3.5 rounded down)

    To be honest, there was a lot more in this book that I liked than I disliked, but I think it's mostly the writing and organization that gives this novel a low rating.

    Pacing was not consistent throughout the novel and it put me off. It starts off at a very slow, deliberate pace. Then three quarters the way through it picks up lighting-fast and becomes this great page-turner only to have it drop and describe the rest of the plot in a narrative between two characters. The first half goes into detail about the politics and relationships and the development of characters I assumed were vital to the story only to have the last third mention what happened to them and (in some cases) their deaths in passing.

    Don't get me wrong, there was much I liked about this book, the way it combined past and present one of them. I had thought from the beginning that the past-present connection would be cheesy and was dreading the moment the connection happened, but it was actually pretty heartfelt and meaningful. I really enjoyed that part.

    Some characters were not as fleshed out as others (even though they were the main characters) but others were gloriously three-dimensional and won my heart. Guilhem in particular is in my opinion the strongest character and what kept the book going near the end for me.

    All in all, this book had great depth in politics and atmosphere and setting but lacked in development and organization. Still a good and interesting read, though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2007

    Couldn't put it down

    This was a well-written story about two women connected by fate, circumstance, and blood. Mosse cleverly tells parallel stories about Alice and Alais--two women who lived hundreds of years apart, yet they share a connection in the present. The characters are well-thought out and very intriguing. I could not put this book down as I always wanted to find out what happened next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    Kept me awake!

    As a busy mother of three I look forward to some down time with a good book at night before bed. Too often, though, I end up falling asleep before reading too much. Kate Moss' Labyrinth succeeded in keeping me interested and awake. Through Bzzagent I learned of this book and it's similarity to The DaVinci Code in that it involves a search for the Holy Grail. As I started reading it I learned that aside from that fact it is a very different story. In fact, Labyrinth is actually two stories that are wondefullly woven together. The book jumps back and forth from present day France, where a young woman named Alice stumbles across something that eventually puts her and others in danger, and 13th century France, where another young woman named Alais learns that her father has been the guardian to an ancient secret. With each new chapter I became more engrossed in the two stories. I was always surprised when the story would again move 800 years - and at the same time I was excited to learn more about each story. The closer I got to the end of the book the more curious I was to see how these two stories, these two women, would ultimately come together. I was not disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2007

    Loved it!

    I enjoyed Mosse's writing style. Though separated by time Alice and Alais stories run parallel while told in a linear manner that flows very well. This fictional lesson in Southern France middle age history shows us the cruelties of power and religious fanaticism.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2007

    Good, but not great

    I bought this book on CD to listen in my car as I drive to and from work. The story was slow, and would have lost my attention, if it had not been an audiobook. I didn't care too much for the ending, and found it to be a bit too perdictable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2006

    AMAZING

    An amazing feat of story telling intertwined between the centurys. An adventure old as time, is brought into a fresh light. Mosse actually brings you into the past to the point where you feel you could be 'Alais.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6